We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely friendly and comfortable”
Review of Birchwood Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Birchwood Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

what a lovely cottage we had, clean, nicely presented we had everything we needed. these people really know how to make their guests feel at home, the bed even had what we have at home - a feather mattress cover. i could have stayed for a week. would highly recommend this place for accommodation in Te Anau, walking distance to the lake and town. very helpful owners with suggestions on things to do in the area and travel times etc. thanks birchwood

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for the nice review and the special mention of our hospitality. Some of the beds have feather covers, and some do not, as not everyone prefers them. Thankyou for the time you spent to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Birchwood cottage is very warm and the beds are very comfortable. Rooms are spacious and my kids have lots of place to play. Only one problem is that for 3 bedroom cottage, there is only one toilet.
Ray is very helpful and warm hearted.
Facilities are comprehensive, so we did lots of laundry for the ski clothes. Worth come back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xuxin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you for the nice review.
It is great to see positive comments for our accommodation and we really appreciate the score you have entered. The single toilet at this accommodation is a separate room, of which most are quite hapy about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Our stay at Birchwood was wonderful. We loved our time in the cottage and I didn't want to leave. Ray and Leonie were fabulous hosts and the accommodation is first class from the fluffy robes to the free landline calls to home. A great benefit when you've been away for a couple of weeks.
Thanks Ray we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for the wonderful review and the time put aside for writing it. To have you say "We loved our time in the cottage and I didn't want to leave." is so nice to here.
There is a solution for you. Come back and stay again. Wonderful people such as yourselves make owning an accommodation a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Travelling in a family group of 5 adults can often pose some problems - horrid little shinbusting, foldaway beds spring to mind!
Not so at Rimu Cottage in the Birchwood Cottages complex.
We spent two nights in Te Anau pre and post our Milford Sound tour.
Plenty of space in the kitchen and the living room, so no tumbling over one another; great fire to take the chill off the evening; plently of plates, cooking utensils etc; separate laundry facilities; lots of hot water for showers and comfy beds.
Add friendly service from Ray, (Leonie was out of town!) a very reasonable price ticket and what is not to like????

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for the nice review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our 3 bedroom place. The fully enclosed log fire certainly continues to be a hit with travellers and we are pleased you have noted that in your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Can't thank our hosts enough for our time at Birchwood cottages, the rooms were well laid out and very spacious! But the nicest touch was walking into the room with a roaring fire already prepared by our hosts! Excellent service and will definitely return.

Room Tip: 3 Bedroom Unit is the pick
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for your apprecaition of the fire going to keep you warm and cosy. It is great to see that the work involved in providing firewood for the 3 bedroom places is rewarded by the nice comments you have made about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights in September. Lovely fireplace, very cosy to sit around on a cold evening. Place had washing machine which was great. Very friendly staff and great location close to town. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhyacaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed staying with us. Once again our enclosed log fires seem to be a big hit with people. We note it was just a taste and you would like to stay here again. There are so many things to do here you should turn a taste in to a week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed here with our two young children, it was just perfect. The fire had been lit prior to our arrival so the cottage was warm and cosy when we got there - a lovely touch. Our toddler enjoyed the garden play equipment - parental supervision was required at all times due to the properties being on a main road without a gate. It had everything we needed, and I loved the living area being separate from the kitchen and dining - a real little home away from home! Pros were the facilities, the cosy feel of it, the log fire (a fire guard was provided so the little ones didn't burn their hands), and the friendly hosts. Only two negatives were the soft mattress and the low pressure shower. I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieMomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiordlandtours, Owner at Birchwood Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for the review and we are pleased that you enjoyed the warmth of the fire and the hosts/reception. Most people comment on the comfortable beds. The mattress on one bed is a bit softer than the other but it is 'hard' to get it right for everybody. The shower comment is a new one for us. The shower is connected to the main town supply and has good pressure.
So far as the playground being close to the road, our playground is 60 meters away from the main road and the 3 bedroom place is 80 meters away from the main road down a private driveway making it especially safe for small children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
514 reviews
0.6 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birchwood Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchwood Cottages

Address: 208 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £93 - £496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Birchwood Cottages 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Birchwood Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birchwood Cottages Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing