We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Croft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft
Ranked #6 of 28 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The Blue Cottage has a view of the pasture and Lake Te Anau, a cozy living room area and a little kitchen, and a large bathroom with secluded shower area. We had breakfast with the owner, Jane, both mornings and loved our time chatting about current events, the state of the sheep flock, and Jane's recommendations for where to stop along the road to Milford Sound. The Croft is a great place to stay if you're planning a day trip to Milford Sound or want to take the cruise across the lake to see the glowworm caves. It's also a great opportunity to get up close and personal with Jane's sheep -- especially Percy the ram!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
175
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My husband and I travelled in NZ for 3 weeks and stayed at The Croft for 2 nights, in the Blue Cottage. If you have a car, this is a perfect place to stay.

Every other enthusiastic review you have or will read on Trip Advisor is true. This B&B is very special : everything there will make you feel cosy and comfortable, it is all naturally and simply charming, like Jane! Gives you a subtle feeling of luxury in a way.
Like many other travellers, we didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

What an amazing place to stay. The wonderful, private, clean and cozy cottage with wifi would have been enough, but when you add the amazing attention from Jane, and the views, it's just over top great. Jane is so sweet, and arranged our trips to Milford and Doubtful Sounds. Since we had early AM departures, she left us a huge breakfast tray of various cereals, breads, yogurts, fruits, juices, milk, all put away in the kitchenette when we were at dinner. It was such a nice and thoughtful thing to do, and saved us time in the mornings. She gave us maps and marked the various stops that were worth checking out. All stops she suggested were amazing-short hikes to amazing waterfalls etc. Her sheep are so cute, especially Davey the lamb she was bottle feeding. Jane even did a load of laundry for us when we were out one day-so sweet. We would give the Croft 10 stars if available! Don't hesitate to book, you will not regret it.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NickiandJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the green cabin in Nov 2013.It was very comfortable and Jane is a very helpful and considerate host.We had 2 long day trips to Doubtful and Milford Sounds so did not get much chance to explore locally - an extra night would have been a bonus.
Thoroughly recommended

Room Tip: Book early !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed 3 nights with Jane and Ross, in the Blue Cottage, a wonderful base for visiting Fiordland. The cottage itself was lovely, cozy, comfortable and with beautiful views over the back gardens to Lake Te Anau. Jane was so welcoming, took such a personal interest in us that we really felt like we were visiting family. We really enjoyed chatting with she and Ross over breakfast at their dining table - fantastic juice, fruit, cereals, toast, jams and honey. Ross's beautiful construction work is evident throughout their home and the cottages. The location was superb, just 2 km outside Te Anau, in a very quiet rural area - so relaxing, and I could sit in the window seat enjoying the view all day! Jane was so helpful in suggesting restaurants and attractions, the best stops along Milford Road, and even including ideas for our next destination. Jane, thanks for the tip on Nugget Point, where we walked out to the lighthouse and saw both fur seals and sea lions! We can't wait to return to The Croft!
Trish and Rich

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank proberts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

For those of us who grew up and live in cities, this is such an amazing experience. Secluded and welcoming, the cottage was perfect for 2 nights: clean, quiet and peaceful, with a great view of the lake. Feeding Davey (the few-week old orphan lamb), talking with Jane and enjoying the stunning scenery- all great experiences that we will not soon forget.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed with Jane for one night and wish we stayed for longer!

Jane was extremely welcoming and ensured that everything was in place for us. She also took us to feed her pet sheep, Davey!

We stayed in the blue cottage, which was clean and comfortable with a king/queen size bed, sofa, mini-fridge and large bathroom. It was located amongst their beautiful farmland and you can see the lake from a distance. It was extremely private with lovely views.

The bathroom was large and modern (which Jane's husband built!).

We truly enjoyed the breakfast as well, which they hosted at their house.

The place is 5 mins drive from town. We would definitely recommend staying at the Croft and meeting Jane!

Room Tip: We enjoyed the blue cottage, seemed to be more secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HK_WorldTraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
1.8 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 24 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 28 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft

Property: The Croft
Address: Te Anau Milford Sound Highway | Rapid 153, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing