We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Never Wanted to Leave”
Review of The Croft

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft
Ranked #6 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We Never Wanted to Leave”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in Te Anu. This is probably the best traditional B&B we have stayed in. The cottages were tasteful and cozy with a beautiful view overlooking a garden. The bed was very comfortable and everything was spotless. The hosts, Jane and Ross, were very friendly and made us both feel extremely comfortable. Jane helpfully gave us our breakfast tray the evening before, so we could eat early before we had to leave on our Doubtful Sound cruise. There is a lovely walk through the fields and we loved eating dinner on our patio, pretending we did not have to go back to our real lives. It is a place that you dream about when you are stuck back at the office, well after the vacation is over.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EH10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
175
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

It’s a pity that we only stayed in The Croft for one night . I have to say, Green Cottage is my dream house, much much better than those 5 stars. The croft locates near the lake, very quiet with beautiful garden. The cottage is well furnished, extremely clean and high quality, with private bathroom. The privacy is much better than other B&Bs.

Jane and Ross are nice host, just like old friends. We chatted a lot while having tea together. Jane gave me some breads to feed her favorite sheep – Percy.

If you drive, it will be very convenient to stay in the Croft. Easy to find and park, and close to the town. There many good restaurants in town. I strongly recommend the Fat Duck. And don’t miss the glowworm tour at Te Anau. It was an amazing experience for us.

The Croft is like a sweet hut in fairy tale. Not only perfect house, but home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivien Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2014

The Croft is an absolutely gorgeous B&B in The Anau. You can stay in one of two lovely cottages both overlooking an idyllic garden. The cottages themselves are very cosy and beautifully furnished. You can tell that Ross, who built the cottages has put al lot of thought and effort into them.
The hosts Jane and Ross are certainly one of the nicest people we've ever met. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make our stay simply perfect. This is clearly the best B&B we've ever stayed in and we had a wonderful time here. We recommend the Croft to everyone who wants to stay in Te Anau.
Thank you so much again for our wonderful stay Jane and Ross! We really had a great time!
Love Sarah & Andreas

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Just off the SH94 but so peaceful and quiet. We stayed here two nights with a visit to Milford Sound (don't miss!) and it was just perfect. We stayed in Green Cottage which had everything we needed including a fabulous view across to the lake. Jane was very helpful and provided lovely breakfast both mornings. Hard to see how this lovely B&B could be improved upon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Annes-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in the Green Cottage for 5 nights in January 2014. Our hosts Jane and Ross could not have made us more welcome. The cottage is very comfortable with everything thought of. The breakfasts were delicious as were the "treats" that Jane left every day.
Te Anau was a very good centre for exploring the 2 sounds. It was a much better location than Queenstown. Te Anau is a lovely little town with several good shops and restaurants.
We enjoyed our chats with Jane and Ross. We have no hesitation in recommending The Croft as a great B&B.
Carole and David Harrison

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Two charming cottages (away from each other so good privacy) tucked away in an immaculate private garden. Sitting on the porch looking at the lake and mountains beyond the garden and their fields (the owners still keep sheep) with a glass of wine, we felt miles away from the much more commercial motels of central Te Anau. In fact, we had the same view sitting up in bed in the morning.

Although the cottage is well furnished - lovely bathroom, etc. - it is the welcome and hospitality provided by Jane and Ross that really shines. Some of the loveliest people you'll ever meet, they typify all that is good about NZ. As we were leaving very early on the first morning to go kayaking in Milford, Jane brought a huge selection of cereals, fruit and bread around the night before so we could have breakfast before we left.

If there are any caveats, they'd be two:
1) The Croft is out of town by a few kilometres so be prepared to walk, cycle or drive if you want to go into town
2) Cooking inside the cottage is limited (no hotplate or stove). A gas BBQ is available outside however and there is a microwave and fridge inside so this isn't a big deal.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed here during a fishing vacation, but wish we had a few extra days just to sit and relax on the property. The easiest way to describe staying here is that it felt like we were at home. Jane was a great host and my wife and I enjoyed our conversations with her. Te Anau is a great town with many excellent restaurants. Our plan is to be back at the Croft and Te Anau again in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDSLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.7 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#3 of 29 in Te Anau
349 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Croft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft

Property: The Croft
Address: Te Anau Milford Sound Highway | Rapid 153, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing