We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”
Review of Shakespeare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shakespeare House
Ranked #4 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Ray was a fantastic host. Both welcoming us to Shakespeare House, cooking our breakfasts and chasing up trip arrangements. A star! The bedrooms were very comfortable, with all the necessary items included. All in all a fabulous place to stay. The fact that there was no vacancies while we were there speaks volumes too. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

Recommended for each aspect, rooms comfortable and clean, kindness, helpfulness in every need, outstanding kiwi breakfast, you feel at home, even better. Do you want more? Also original the shakespeare spirit of the house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietro F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Ray was warm and helpful. He gave us really good recommendations about the town and the National park. The omelette he made was GREAT! We had to catch an early tour at 7am. He even got up earlier than usual to make us breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heatherbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2012

Ray was very warm and helpful with getting us information about the town. We stayed in room 'Much ado about nothing' which was cozy, very clean and had everything necessary. The breakfast was just as reviewed by others on Tripadvisor - delicious! We would definitely recommend Shakespeare House to others, its a great stay at great value!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Ray's heart is in this business and it shows. We arrived later than anticipated and he had arranged everything for us to check in, right down to leaving a post-it note with the wifi password on the mirror. In the morning, we awoke to a fantastic breakfast spread and enjoyed the delicious cooked-to-order Kiwi Breakfast. We found the value at Shakespeare House to be among the very best.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B for one night in October 2012 and the host, Ray, was very helpful and accomodating. The room was a good size, clean, and offered everything that we needed for a comfortable night's stay. It took us a little while to figure out how to turn on the heat and once we also found that there were electric mattresses on the bed, we were very toasty and warm. My husband and I were both a little nervous about the drive to Milford Sound the following morning, since we didn't have chains (Ray would've lent us his, but he had already given them to another lady), and due to that, Ray said that he would prepare us breakfast early, so we wouldn't have to feel rushed on the road. I thought that was very nice. The following morning, Ray made us omelettes and I had even seen him picking flowers from the garden (in the dark), to have on the table for us. We truly appreciated the hot breakfast and I would definitely recommend a stay here, as the hospitality was wonderful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMO-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Our two night stay was not enough: Rooms, Facilities,Breakfasts all excellent. See you in two years time!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magussevrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 22 in Te Anau
386 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare House

Address: 10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £86 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shakespeare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing