We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid Spring Nights Dream”
Review of Shakespeare House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shakespeare House
Ranked #4 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mid Spring Nights Dream”
Reviewed 30 November 2010

Stayed two nights at Shakespeare House and the moment we arrived we were welcomed like we had arrived home. Our room was very clean and very comfortable. Ray the host was very helpful and with his local knowledge we walked in some of the most beautiful scenery we have seen. The breakfast is extensive and is the best breakfast we had on our trip. We look forward to visiting the Napier family again one day.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotters29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    58
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
22
143
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2010

If you looking for a good, clean, budget accommodation in Te Anau then Shakespeare House B&B is a perfect choice for you. Added with the excellent breakfast it provides along with travel tips from the owner made it perfect. Initially I was surprised with the size of the room but it all worked well for us in the end.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sshah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Shakespeare House is a bit quirky. Most of the rooms open onto an internal glass fronted area, a bit like a conservatory or garden room containing lounging areas of chairs and table with local information in abundance. Beyond this is the parking area. Ray is a great host, always willing to oblige and cooking superb New Zealand breakfasts to your specification. It is very convenient for the town and trips to Milford & Doubtful Sounds plus the gloworm caves. The room we had was spacious and clean, although the bathroom was a bit on the small side. There's a payphone and internet access. It was great value and would recommend it to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bear-Maker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
E.Sussex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2010

A very welcoming, friendly host who cooks up wonderful breakfasts to order and these really are the highlight of a stay here. Rooms are pretty basic although very clean and rooms and en-suites are fairly small. In addition, walls both internal and external seem to be very thin so noise from neighbouring rooms might be a problem but we didn't experience it personally. That said, there's no problem for staying a night (or maybe two) here - we booked late and could only get one night but would have stayed on for the other if they'd had a vacancy. They didn't have, which I guess goes to confirm the popularity of the place. Another plus is that the house is a road back from the main lakeside road and so is extremely quiet at night. Parking is off-road to the side of the rooms - it's a bit tight when all rooms are taken, but ok with a bit of care. Overall, it's not the most elegant B&B you'll find but what it doesn't deliver on room facilities it more than makes up for at breakfast time.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank le-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay - clean, comfy room, great breakfast, use of a fridge etc to keep drinks in. Tea/coffee making facility in room which also had ensuite. Garden was lovely with lots of flowering dahlias which creates a good impression. About 100 yards from the Lake -

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fijilass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2010

We love the sumptous and hot breakfast prepared by Ray, the host. The portions are generous and lots of variety to choose from (as seen from my photos). The preserved fruits were really interesting and tasted nice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2009

This is the best hotel we had during our trip. The host is very welcoming, you feel directly at home. The rooms are very nice decorated and clean. It's also a quiet place to stay and you're very close to the city centre and the lake. The breakfast is also excellent! Try the Kiwi Breackie, you won't regret it! And all this for a very good price!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.6 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
1.2 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.4 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shakespeare House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shakespeare House

Property: Shakespeare House
Address: 10 Dusky St | Fiordland, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9680, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Shakespeare House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Shakespeare House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing