We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded All Expectations & Departed As Friends!”
Review of Dock Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dock Bay Lodge
Ranked #5 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ashburton, New Zealand
1 review
“Exceeded All Expectations & Departed As Friends!”
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Where to start?! We held our wedding at Dock Bay Lodge in February this year and could not have picked a more perfect venue! Our host Dawn really was such a trooper! She went above and beyond to make our wedding week run as smoothly and as stress free as she could. She went out of her way to make our bridal party (who were staying at the lodge with us) and wedding guests feel welcome and at home. The rooms are beautiful, clean, spacious and quiet. The breakfasts were scumptious and such a treat to wake up to. The stunning lodge overlooks the beautiful Lake Te Anau and is encompassed by a beautifully cared for garden. Our guests commented on what a perfect wedding location we had chosen and we could tell how much they enjoyed the luxurious surroundings. Dawn, Mark & Colin, we are still racking our brains wondering how on earth we can truely thank you for everything you did for us! Just know we are so grateful for everything and we absolutely cannot wait to come back to the lodge someday!

Room Tip: Having stayed in the Luxmore Suite, this was our obvious favourite, but having spent time in all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn D, Owner at Dock Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
It was an absolute pleasure to host you and your wedding party. You had done such an amazing job of organizing everything which is why your wedding day was so perfect. We wish you both all the best for your future together, we know you will be very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
118
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sedlescombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2013

From the minute we walked in the door and met our host Dawn, we felt at home. The accommodation superb, balcony with lovely views over the golf course and the bay beyond. Sadly only there one night, but a good excuse to return and enjoy both the Lodge again and maybe a round of golf! Dawn and Mark have built themselves an enviable place to entertain their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 112PeterJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Dock Bay Lodge is everything their website promotes. It is located in an excellent spot just out of Te Anau, but close enough to town for dinning out etc. The lodge is built to ensure guests enjoy both the views, and privacy from other guests. The minute you walk in the place you are welcomed by Dawn (our host) and made to feel like you are at home. Colin (the Jack Russell) is is also quite happy to play - if you can get his toy off him....haha!! We had a lovely stay and would certainly recommend the lodge to anyone. Dawn can also recommend some excellent restaurants in town! In a word this place is...'Fantastic!'

Room Tip: We stayed in the Milford Suite, which has stunning views, but I have no doubt the other rooms are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn D, Owner at Dock Bay Lodge, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write on Trip Advisor. We really enjoyed your company and of course everyone has been so lucky with the fantastic weather, I cant remember such a long hot summer in Te Anau. We have had some rain now and the lawns are quickly greening up again and do look a lot better. Take care and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A bit of a schlep out of town, the rather unprepossessing frontage as you approach what was the most expensive property we stayed in made our hearts sink. But any misgivings we felt were soon dispelled once we were through the front door and found this luxurious accommodation built and furnished to the highest possible standard with magnificent views accross an immaculate garden, golf course to the distant lake .... and Colin the manic Jack Russell.

The rooms are spacious and comfortable.and any misgivings we might have had dissipated once we found the complementary minibar, bottle of wine and canapes!

Dawn and Mark acheive exactly the right balance between friendliness and professionalism making us feel welcome without intruding on our space. Dawn essentially offerred a low key concierge service confirming and making restaurant and tour reservations for us. Breakfast - simple fare cooked on demand - was good.

Nothing was too much trouble at this truly wonderful lodge which is well worth its premium price.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This is the friendliest "House Stay" in NZ. Dawn makes the tastiest and healthiest breakfast and their Jack Russell, Colin, provides plenty of entertainment, However the highlight for me was being able to walk out of their French doors and onto the 11th fairway of a classic Southern Hemisphere golf course at 7 am. I had the course to myself with just the birds and local wild life for company. Dawn's two bedrooms are massive and immaculate and she and Mark could not have been more helpful to us. We stayed two nights and Dawn's two recommended local restaurants were excellent given the local options.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms and both are massive and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TobyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

When I stay in these boutique bed and breakfast locations, which are almost unique to New Zealand, I judge them on three criteria.

The layout out of the property and the rooms sense of specialness.

That the property is hosted and offers a full concierge service and our hosts are passionate about offering hospitality.

The quality of the breakfasts.

In all three regards Dock Bay Lodge delivered I felt at home, welcomed but crucially not in someones home. The house has been built and furnished to the highest possible standard and the rooms, which are on the first floor have magnificent views towards and across the lake. We stayed in the Luxmore Suite which is even better than the site photos describe. On entering WOW! The ground floor is in the main set aside offering two reception rooms for guests and a wonderful dining room with a double aspect.

Dawn was the perfect host knowledgeable, friendly and approachable and has the knack of being there when you need her but leaves you to enjoy yourselves.

The breakfasts, cooked by Marilyn, were generous you simply need to say what you want and it will be forthcoming.

I talk a good deal about how Trip Advisor has its fair share of passive/aggressive reviewers incapable of asking their hosts to deal with an issue but quite ready to tell the global audience how something minor went wrong which could easily be addressed. If something needed addressing Dawn would do it for you.

Room Tip: Each room has its unique advantage but if you want the best view then the Luxmore is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We have stayed in several lodge style accommodations during our 2 trips to NZ and DBL is the one which does it perfectly. We stayed for the first time in Jan '11 and had to include it in our recent trip in Jan '13 as we had enjoyed it so much. It is the perfect mix of friendliness and professionalism, luxury and comfort and has beautiful views in a beautiful setting. Dawn and Mark are the perfect hosts; friendly, relaxed and helpful. It's expensive but it is worth every penny; it's simple perfect ...... e.g. wifi connects with no password, fridge contents are free, bedding inc duvet covers are changed every day, breakfast is whatever you want it to be, shower is to die for, toiletries are plentiful and varied; they just do everything right, love it!

Room Tip: Luxmore is centrally positioned on the top floor so great views across the lake and mountains with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NottsGirlsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
2.3 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
3.4 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Fiordland Lodge
Fiordland Lodge
#2 of 27 in Te Anau
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dock Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dock Bay Lodge

Property: Dock Bay Lodge
Address: 192 William Stephen Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9679, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Dock Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dock Bay Lodge was purpose built for the discerning traveller. There are five superking guest rooms with ensuites, two rooms have seperate lounges, all the rooms have a television and DVD player, refrigerator and tea and coffee making facilities. We are situated on the edge of the Te Anau Golf Course, the Fiordland National Park and have spectacular views of Lake Te Anau and the mountains towards Milford Sound. A full breakfast is offered plus drinks and nibbles in the afternoon. Complimentary golf clubs and mountain bikes are available. We enjoy helping you plan your time while you are in Fiordland and can made dinner reservations for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dock Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing