We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good launch for Milford”
Review of Arran Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arran Motel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for one night before driving to Milford Sound. The motel room was clean and comfortable. Bench and utensils provided allowed us to make our breakfast. Parking was at the door, and no problems were encountered with the wifi. Mary was helpful and available. Thanks for an easy stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DreaminAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review .Good to know you had a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

I took Te Anau as the logistic base for my trips through the Fiordland National Park. The hosts of Arran Motel were quite available persons and my apartment was very spacious with a separate and quiet bedroom.
And the kitchenette was really working and well equipped.
Mrs Mary has been very patient and helpful for information and suggestions: Milford Sound’s weather is so unpredictable! No noise from adjacent rooms or from the cars moving in the courtyard. A very peaceful place with very nice people. Probably a couple of pictures on the walls would create a warmer, less anonymous, ambience. But this is not so relevant...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Arran Motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Just had three nights here. A really lovely motel, very quietly and conveniently situated, just a comfortable walk from the lake and the resort centre.

It is spotlessly clean, very well equipped, very comfortable and quiet.

We went for the large spacious option which was perfect for unwinding, self-catering and as a base for sight-seeing.

We received a very warm and helpful welcome form our host, Mary.

Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gehdev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2014

Thank you so much for your positive review.Glad to have guests that appreciate the effort that we go to make sure your stay is a pleasant one with fond memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst exploring the area. Nice clean units, well equipped, comfortable beds and free wi-fi.Mary, the lady in charge, couldn't do enough for us and was happy to make bookings for the things we wanted to do I.e Doubtful Soubd, Glow Worm Caves etc. and even recommended and booked the motel in our next stop (Invercargill).

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Manager at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Was a pleasure having you stay at Arran Motel and happy to be of help to give info about the beautiful Fiordland area and activities that are available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Lovely little motel clean and tidy with everything you need Mary was very acommodating and helpful, below i rated fitness room and there isnt one but i couldnt remove it, although this motel isnt on the lake front it is not far to walk and i can recommend Sandfly cafe for a good breakfast and The Ranch for a great dinner?

Room Tip: Any room here is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Manager at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

Thanks for your review and letting other travellers know what Arran Motel and Te Anau have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in January. Really pleased that we found this motel on the internet. Being able to park right outside the room was a big plus point. The main room is large with a small kitchen area, complete with microwave and all the utensils you would need for a short stay - they even supply washing up liquid! The bedroom was also large and had a very comfortable bed in it. The bathroom was huge and had a large shower cubicle (with a flexible hose, which pleased my wife!).

The motel is also very well positioned, being just off the main road through Te Anau, and within easy walking of both the town centre for shopping and a large selection of eateries, and of the lake which is only 200 metres or so away.

One major downside, which stopped me giving it an excellent rating, was the free wifi. Whilst it is, indeed, free it is not secure and also has an extremely annoying tendency to drop the connection whilst in use which caused all sorts of problems whilst trying to complete emails, accommodation bookings and TA reviews, as well as browse internet sites. This is something the owners are aware of and have promised to try to rectify the problems. It wouldn't stop me staying here again, though. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Your review was pleasing to receive and thank you for taking the time to submit it.
Re the Wi fi we have had it checked and the repeater has been replaced and at this stage we have not had any ongoing problems.Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Nice big unit with separate bedroom, bathroom and living/kitchenette. Nothing too much trouble for Mary .. always available to help. Nice quiet location within easy walking distance of town center. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Good to know your stay at Arran Motel was an enjoyable one.Pleased I could help with your requests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 22 in Te Anau
518 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Motel

Address: 64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Te Anau
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £84 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Arran Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Arran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing