We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,comfortable & quiet.”
Review of Arran Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Arran Motel
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Clean,comfortable & quiet.”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed 4 nights in February and the motel was full every night. the motel is situated away from any traffic noise in quiet side road - 20 minutes walking distance to town for us pensioners - Kiwi's will say 10mins). Studio's are average size, nicely furnished, decent modern shower-room, sitting area outside our unit or in a small shared garden area. Problem in that there was no washing up sink, so we had to use the bathroom sink - which was a pain.
The owners very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you are staying more than a couple of nights - pay the extra for a 1 bedroom unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DELTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    67
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
49
85
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masterton, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We arrived cold and wet into Te Anau at the beginning of this month, having come straight off the trail. Mary was very friendly and let us get warm before checking in. Her husband was kind enough to give us a lift back to the trailhead the next day. The rooms were clean and warm, just what we needed. I would urge people visiting Te Anau to consider a stay at Arran, you will be well looked after.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Picton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We spent 2 nights at this friendly motel so that we had a whole day to explore Milford Sound and the glow worm caves. Located in a quiet street with other motels around. Very comfortable room with all the standard features. Parking on-site and wi-fi available. Motel is about a 5-10 minute easy walk along the lake to shops and restaurants. Plenty of choice for places to eat and a large supermarket in town. If you get the chance - try a pie from the small pie shop. Best ever! I would recommend this motel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Picton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here fir 2 nights in between doing the Milford dound trip. The unit had everything that we needed,very clean. Parking was perfect. Hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Would highly recommend Arran motel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thanks for your positive review.Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staverton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Tucked away behind the main street but within easy walking distance of the lake, shops and places to eat. We had a studio apartment which was very clean and comfortable. Comfortable chairs in the unit and outside seating too.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireLass21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We pride ourselves on our high cleaning standards and it is encouraging to know that it's appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed here for one night before driving to Milford Sound. The motel room was clean and comfortable. Bench and utensils provided allowed us to make our breakfast. Parking was at the door, and no problems were encountered with the wifi. Mary was helpful and available. Thanks for an easy stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreaminAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review .Good to know you had a pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I took Te Anau as the logistic base for my trips through the Fiordland National Park. The hosts of Arran Motel were quite available persons and my apartment was very spacious with a separate and quiet bedroom.
And the kitchenette was really working and well equipped.
Mrs Mary has been very patient and helpful for information and suggestions: Milford Sound’s weather is so unpredictable! No noise from adjacent rooms or from the cars moving in the courtyard. A very peaceful place with very nice people. Probably a couple of pictures on the walls would create a warmer, less anonymous, ambience. But this is not so relevant...

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarItaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MezTeAnau, Owner at Arran Motel, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay with us at Arran Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.3 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.3 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
494 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#4 of 23 in Te Anau
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.5 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.0 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran Motel

Property: Arran Motel
Address: 64 Quintin Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#10 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
#12 Family Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Arran Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arran Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arran Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing