We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 20:00
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Go Orange tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Go Orange
from US$104.20
More Info
from US$160.70
More Info
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
79
23
5
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
79
23
5
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews doubtful sound cruise across lake manapouri wilmot pass gravel road west arm excellent cruise power station boat captain coach cruise fur seals bus driver same company tasman sea bottlenose dolphins real journeys smaller boat great trip
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We were very lucky to have a beautiful sunny day. The bus picked us up in front of our motel (they have a route through Te Anau). We had a great guide/driver from that moment on. As you start on the land side of the sounds, it is quite a journey to get out to the Tasman Sea. We had a short bus trip to the first boat trip. The first boat went through beautiful scenery, but that wasn't it. We docked and took another short bus trip over a scenic "jungle." Then we got on another boat that took us into Doubtful and out to the Tasman Sea. We were lucky to see penguins and fur seals enjoying the sun. The pre-ordered lunch was tasty and filling (a bit messy). Hot beverages available throughout the journey. Then we reversed the boat-bus-boat-bus to get back to our motel in the late afternoon.

Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Go Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Thank you for the lovely review Margaret.
It's very lucky that the sun was shining on you in the rain forest setting that is Doubtful Sound. Our drivers and the journey from Manapouri to the Doubtful Sound cruise is certainly an experience in itself. Welcome to the jungle of fiordland...it's always a bonus when you have the opportunity to spot the beautiful wildlife that Doubtful has to offer and the picnic lunch definitely sets you up for the full day tour!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017 via mobile

The doubtful sound cruise with Go Orange was amazing! Such a beautiful part of the world. Great price, excellent hot choc machine, and Dan, our nature guide, was brilliant

Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Go Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for the awesome review Joel!
It is a very unique and spectacular place, with essentially three trips in one - from the ferry across Manapouri to the coach along the Wilmot Pass to where you take the 3 hour cruise. Our free hot drinks on board make a real treat for the day, with the beautiful wildlife at Doubtful making the experience like no other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

A few weeks ago I went on the Doubtful Sound Cruise, and I was blown away with the majestic views that the Fjordland has to offer. I did the Coach - Cruise - Coach from Queenstown, which was handy and the guides kept it fun and interesting. The view that you get to see from the boat is absolutely breathtaking. You are amongst mountains, forests, waterfalls and rainbows which ever way you look. Mother nature sure did a good job creating this. And I found myself feeling both happy and thankful for being there. We were also joined by a few dolphins for a while and we got to see a couple of penguins up close!
Go Orange offers a great trip where the guides are friendly, fun and knowledgeable. The boat was beautiful, the scenery amazing and the vegetarian picnic lunch was great and kept me full. What else to tell you guys than; get out there!
Thank you Go Orange for an amazing day!

Thank fjlager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Go Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for the lovely review .
It's an experience in itself on the journey to Doubtful Sound. The views are completely unique around Doubtful, where you can truly immerse yourself in the peaceful nature of the fiord. It's a very refreshing wilderness to enter the untouched, unspoilt area. It's always lucky when you have the opportunity to spot the permanent pod of dolphins and wild penguins that are out there. Our guides have the most amazing 'office' making their enthusiasm come naturally to them. It's a small boat making it a more personal experience, whilst you can stay out on the top deck to make the most of the views. The picnic lunches always offer a wide variety to set you up for the day. We're happy to hear you had such a great time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

Booked our tickets the previous day at the shop in Te Anau for Doubtful Sound. We were promptly collected at 09:00 by coach from our camp site for travel to Manapouri Lake. After a short delay (waiting for others to join us) we boarded a boat and crossed the lake, passing the power station en route. The rainbows we saw (and there were plenty) added to the trip. Next it was onto a coach for the Wilmott Pass (thanks Dan for your commentary and safe driving throughout the day). Plenty of stops for photos. Then the final stage, another boat into the Sound and out towards the sea. Small boat but as someone who doesn't have 'sea legs' it was fine, if a little choppy. The scenery is awesome and they show you lots of things you'd otherwise miss.
There was complimentary tea/coffee on board the boats and we took our own picnic, although one could be provided for an extra fee.
The journey is then done in reverse, getting us back to the camp site by 17:15.
A must-do if you're in the area - we thoroughly enjoyed it. Thanks Go Orange and all the guys who looked after us on the day.

1  Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Go Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for the awesome review Jane.
We always aim to be as organised as possible for a trip of this style, to ensure the day runs smoothly. Lake Manapouri is an experience in itself, followed by a beautiful journey along the Wilmot Pass. Our trusty driver Dan has a great reputation for being familiar with the fiord and our small boat allows for a more personal experience. The rainbows are part of what makes Doubtful Sound so unique, with breath taking scenery from every angle. The free hot drinks are just what you need whilst taking in the refreshing breeze of the fiord. Our complimentary pick ups in Te Anau take away any stress in the day, making you the full priority for the day. We're happy to hear Doubtful and our team lived up to your expecations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We (myself, my husband and one year old) did the coach cruise Milford sound, pick up in te anau. We were picked up promptly by our informative driver (bob), who gave us useful information during the drive. Good stopping points including one toilet break. Very informative once at Milford sound with regard to which gates to use for the cruise. As it was winter, we were on the reserve boat so 'only' had a picnic lunch included (not fish and chips). By far the best pack up I have ever had - sarnies, fruit, cheese and crackers, water, crisps, nuts, chocolate, cookie. You can buy drinks (including beer) on the boat. Friendly staff, informative captain. We were there on a very rainy day and although we couldn't see the tops of the mountains, the waterfalls were brill and we still saw dolphins and seals.

Thank deejay153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoOrangeNZ, Guest Relations Manager at Go Orange, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Glad you had a great trip! Will be sure to pass on your feedback to Bob and the Milford crew :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews