We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most charming place in Te Anau!”

Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Anau
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #15 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Most charming place in Te Anau!”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We spend 3 night for Christmas day and had the most wonderful time with Keiko & Kevin, who are so charming hosts. Every day after having visited wonderful places, like the 2 great Sounds, we had a chat with Kevin about our day, upon a glass of wine and home made snacks made by Keiko (we loved the smoked fish Keiko & Kevin fished themselves). Kevin knows a lot of things about New Zealand and we could speak about plenty of subjects. It was great! The weather was fine and sunny, so we had our chats with Kevin in the garden. Keiko has a magnificent garden in Japanese style, and since we love plants, we really enjoyed.
The cottage we had was very cosy and we liked a lot the decoration. We slept very well, and in for morning we had delicious Japanese breakfasts! If you do not mind eating cooked food in the morning, then you definitely have to try Keikos breakfasts! We had every day something else, and it was just great. Breakfasts where so big that we did not really eat for noon, only evening :).
Last but not least, Keiko and Kevin are very helpful about organizing your stay in Te Anau. They booked for us the trip in the Doubtful Sound and also the helicopter trip. We had a great stay at Keiko’s cottages, and we clearly recommend to you all this charming place with charming hosts!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    17
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
63
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and had the most wonderful experience. Keiko and Kevin are the most welcoming hosts. Kevin is a fountain of knowledge. He knows everything about the regions of Queenstown/Tea Anau-Manapouri/Fijordland Nat'l Park and all the activities there are to do, and it definitely helps to have a great fun experience and to save money if you take his insider's advice on planning activities and also restaurants. We went hiking twice and Kevin lent us their walking sticks. He also booked us for our Milford Sound and Doubtful Sound tours, it was great not to have to handle anything ourselves, but just enjoy.

The grounds are beautiful with a floral garden and fish ponds. Our cottage as very cozy and comfortable. Bed was good and we had great nights' sleep. You can tell that Keiko put much thoughts into details of the room decor. Kitchenette was well equipped, although I would suggest adding a French press for guests who want to make their own coffee. There are heaters and electric blankets to keep you warm at night. We look at the spa but never had time to use it. It a great treat if you go for a long day hike. We loved Keiko's Japanese breakfasts. I'm a vegetarian and she made proper accommodations. The charge a bit extra for that but for the amount of work that goes into preparing them so early in the morning, there should be no complaint. It's absolutely amazing that one can have a cultural dining experience like this in the tiny town of Te Anau.

An earlier review complaint that there is no place to buy food between Te Anau and Milford. This is most definitely NOT true. The Milford experience depends on tourism and the service providers here are first rate. First off, I can't see how anyone can starve with all the food that Kevin and Keiko serve up for breakfast. But even if one gets hungry again 2 hrs later after driving to Milford Sound, the Visitor's Center at Milford Sound can feed a troop of hungry Hobbits if needed. They sell a full breakfast with eggs, bacon, muffins, scones, fruits, you name it, they got it. They also have variety of sandwiches to go, plus all sorts of chips, bars, candy bars, cookies, and coffee/tea choices that would make Starbucks proud. If you tour with Real Journey, they sell snacks on the boat with complimentary coffee and tea. When we returned from our tour, the Visitor's Center was selling lunches with pasta, meat, corn, salads, bread, everything. The Visitor's Center and the launch center, as well as the boats, also have good bathroom facilities. This is a very well-run operation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank probativev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed at Keiko's for four nights in December 2011. It was very enjoyable, and we'll certainly return if we're ever in Te Anau again. Prior to our arrival, Kevin gave us some very helpful advice about local attractions, and helped us with bookings. The room was comfortable, and very clean, and the surrounding gardens and fishponds are beautiful. Keiko's Japanese breakfasts are a bit of an adventure, since the menu depends heavily on what fish they happen to have caught. Delicious, and creative, but maybe a bit of a challenge at 7 AM if you're not used to Japanese food. My wife and daughter ate them happily, but I stuck with the cereals, breads, and home-made jams (which were also delicious). In our experience, the restaurants in Te Anau were all pretty poor, so Keiko's breakfast will probably be the best meal of your day. During our stay, we changed our plans, and needed to book some activities at very short notice. Because of his local connections, Kevin was able to arrange some things for us, which we would never have been able to do ourselves. He even took us fishing, and allowed us to use his equipment. Generally, Kevin and Keiko treated us more like friends/family than customers. We spent a very pleasant evening chatting with them about all kinds of things, and drank a lot of their beer. Cheers, Kevin; kampai, Keiko. Hope to see you again, sometime.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George-Xinli-Kyoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We spent 3 nights in small studio cottage at the back. It was quiet and private, with a comfortable bed, nice bathroom with good shower and a small kitchen with fridge, microwave, and cooktop. Breakfast basics were provided in our room. For a fee and advance notice Keiko will prepare her Japanese breakfast for a minimum of two people. We elected not to do this--just too much food for us.

The studio was very clean and was cleaned and/or freshened for us whenever we were gone for more than a few hours, so we always came back to a tidy room with fresh towels.

One Keiko and Kevin provided us with fresh flounder they had just caught off the beach nearby, which was certainly beyond expectations. We poached it simply for a delicious dinner.

Kevin is very knowledgeable about the area, but can get a bit prickly if you question his recommendations. Once he realized we would go our own way, we got on fine.

Room Tip: The studio cottage is located at the back of the property away from the road, and is therefore the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at Keiko's cottage for one night in January on our way to Milford Sound. We chose to stay here based on the positive reviews on tripadvisor.

We were running late as we had a long drive into Te Anau from Franz Joseph and called in to advise the owners of that to ensure that we can still check in. We spoke with Kevin who seemed very disgruntled that we were arriving so late. It wasn't until we asked him if he would like us to cancel our reservation that he stopped complaining. We asked if they could just leave the door open for us and he agreed to. We arrived as we had advised him at 10:30pm and Kevin was there to greet us after all and point us to the cottage. We appreciate that it may be outside of check in hours, but given that Te Anau is a tourist destination I am surprised that he showed this much displeasure at us arriving at 10:30 pm.

The cottage itself was a lovely one bedroom with a nice garden. Unfortunately we were leaving the next day early and could not enjoy it. Although the cottage itself was large, the bathroom was tiny. The bedroom was also really cold.

Kevin also asked us upon our arrival what time we would require breakfast. We told him that we had a 10am cruise booked in Milford Sound and asked how long it would take to get there. He told us that it will take us at least 2.5 hours, which surprised us since the DOC website said it was a 1 hour and 40 minute drive. When we mentioned that, he insisted that he was right and that we should get breakfast for 7am which we did. Having read so many nice reviews about the japanese breakfast we were expecting a nice breakfast before setting off for our trip, however we were very disappointed. The breakfast consisted of cereal, a piece of toast and some jams. Given that there was nowhere to stop before our milford sound cruise or after, we ended up starving by the time we arrived back. Neither Kevin nor Keiko told us that there was no place to stop between Te Anau and Milford Sound and that there was no town in Milford Sound where one could buy something to eat. We were further surprised that inspite of Kevin's insistance that by leaving at 7:45 we were going to miss our cruise we made it in traffic in 1.5 hours and so ended up spending almost an hour hanging out at the docks hungry and with not much to do.

Overall, the cottage was nice, but we got the distinct impression from the hosts that they were trying to rush us out and save money on us as much as possible. Or maybe they were upset that we didn't by the cruise from them or were only staying for one night. Having stayed at a number of B&Bs on our trip in new zealand this one was not high on our enjoyment list. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MayaPoliak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
japankiwi, Owner at Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Franz-Te Anau is a 10.5 hour drive (AA NZ) Ms. P called from the halfway town of Wanaka at 7.00pm to inform us that they would be arriving late. I expressed my concern that their arrival here sometime after midnight would disturb our other guests, she snapped back that they would seek accommodation elsewhere, It was Jan 4 and Te Anau was busy and accommodation elsewhere would be hard to find at that late hour so we decided to wait up for them (silly us!)
Their cottage has 6.5kws of heating plus electric blankets on the bed, they are the 1st people we have had stay that were incapable of turning on/up the heat.
The Japanese breakfast has to be preordered and is an additional charge, P and P did not order Japanese breakfasts so were served our standard continental, homemade toasted bread, fresh rolls, homemade yohgurt, fruit, cereal, juice, tea, coffee etc.
The 2008 Labour government made it illegal to force feed tourists, that they had 'a piece of toast' for breakfast is not our problem.
The DOC website that P mentions clearly states that the drive to Milford takes 2 hours no stopping, Destination Fiordlands site 2-2.5 hours, add to that the time it takes to walk from the carpark area and the check in time, the information I passed to them was correct, we didn't try to get rid of them to save money we just didn't want them to miss their boat.
Do the maths, depart Te Anau 7.45, arrive Milford 9.45-10.15, walk(run) to the vistors centre 10 minutes, hey you've just missed the 9.55 departure.
The Blue Duck cafe is clearly signed as you enter Milford, P & P could have 'ducked' in there instead of 'hanging aroud the docks, hungry and with nothing to do'
Simple research on the Net clearly shows that there are no towns between Te Anau and Milford, they should have organised lunch the previous day, why blame us for the hunger pangs!
We don't care where people purchase their excursions from but the small commission all agents receive from the cruise companies helps offset the costs of accepting credit cards and the free WiFi we provide, we offer a free/same price booking service and you don't have to pay for your excursions until you check out from here, now that's a pretty good deal.
Looking back over this reply to P's review, I really wonder why she blames us for her experience, very late and unapologetic arrival, had a cold night ( it was very warm then) didn't eat the provided food, ignored my good advice about the Milford road and drove on one of the most scenic roads at breakneck speeds to 'hang around the docks'!!!!
Bye sweetheart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This place is great. Small, tiny, warm, just like home, especially the beautiful garden.
We would like to especially thank to Kelvin. You are the best advisor during our trip. We were so right that we followed your advice to go to Tekapo and saw the amazing lakes you recommended to us. You are so right. Thanks for your advice. Just like you said, you should write a new guide on how to explore in NZ. Next time, we will definitely come back and go fishing and hunting with you. And we must say the Japanese breakfast & dinner we had at your place was so great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Kevin and Keiko greated us outdoors as we drove up, showed us our fabulous cottage, gave us a few minutes to get settled, then thoroughly welcomed us with terrific snacks and suggestions for our five night stay including things to see on our drive to Milford Sound, beautiful day hikes, Doubtful Sound, and interesting things to see on our way to the Glaciers when we had to leave. Fine hosts, meticulously built and maintained cottages and gardens, all the comforts of home (plus a lot we didn't know we were missing), thoroughly knowledgable about New Zealand and willing to share. This was a wonderful stay. Couldn't have been better.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
1.1 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Te Anau Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast

Property: Keiko's Cottages & Bed & Breakfast
Address: 228 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing