We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty but non-descript”

China City Licensed BYO Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Price range: US$12 - US$18
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Tasty but non-descript”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We picked this restaurant because it opened for dinner at 5:00 (vs. 5:30 at the other Chinese place); we were the only diners there, until a bus pulled up and the dining room was flooded with Chinese tourists (the large tables with "lazy Susans" should have been a tip off). I took this as a good sign, as they were catering to those who knew real Chinese cuisine, but the English menu was puzzlingly limited (we found ourselves ordering two dishes that turned out to have the same sauce and basic flavor). Perhaps all the signs in Chinese were offering completely different dishes. The food was fine and the portions large enough for leftovers the next day (welcome), but there was nothing out of the ordinary.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nlc58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    20
    12
    6
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA
Level 6 Contributor
504 reviews
339 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Sea Food Soup good!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Had an early lunch after the Fiordland Cinema just across the street. The seafood soup with noodles and a few veggies was very nice. We had the huge dining room to ourselves and a window seat. Most pleasant waiter. The blue rice China is lovely too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GailCheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Family run and friendly restaurant that served a nice Chinese meal. Unlike other local restaurants this one was not charging a surcharge for the holiday period.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Terlingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WORST RESTAURANT EVER!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Honestly this was not only the worst Chinese food I've ever had but the worst food PERIOD that I've ever had. Terrible service too. Ordered a set menu, first two courses take 15 min, then a 30min wait till the mains.

The mains were child size portions..
Half a plate of cold fried rice..
"Ice Cream Sundae" = Scoop of vanilla ice cream
"Oh sorry we're sold out of the coffee that comes with your meal."

Ask to not be charged for the coffee which is part of the 56$,
"Okay fine we only charge you $54 instead."

Really terrible owners who bullied us into paying for the worst meal I've ever had in my life.

PLEASE STAY AWAY!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better than Ming Gardens”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

More authentic chinese food than Ming Gardens but nothing out of the ordinary. Good for those missing chinese food.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Agnes Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed China City Licensed BYO Restaurant also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to China City Licensed BYO Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing