We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick, Tasty Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
Ranked #8 of 34 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
265 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Quick, Tasty Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We popped in here on the way from Millford Sound back to Queenstown. We got there a few minutes before opening and they still let us in. We were impressed by the large and interesting selections of pizzas. This place is small and has its own charm, although it was a bit cold. Still, the pizza was good and really hit the spot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    149
    52
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bello bello!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after a long day at Milford Sound and it was just the perfect end. Nice and cozy restaurant, with a cool selection of Italian music and a great service. Portions are more than generous and delicious! Pasta piccante is a must try. Same with the pizza marinara. Definitely will come here again :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanielaBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Take advantage of the special early sitting 5.30-6.30pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Very happy to recommend this restaurant, fast service with speedy delivery (great when children are hungry). Special from 5.30-6.30pm, $45 for two (2 garlic breads, 2 medium pizzas & 2 desserts), excellent offer that we added drinks and additional garlic bread too and was just spot on for 2 adults & 2 children. Great value in a central Te Anau location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zak1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Adequate meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Went for the early bird special $45 for two with main and a dessert.
Served by very young enthusiastic staff. Had two pasta dishes - spaghetti and short pasta - good portions but very average in flavour.
Pleasant tiramasu served in a cup for dessert. Wine $36 for very average Pinot Gris left on table with two glasses and not sufficiently chilled. Could have purchased by glass for $9. Wooden tables in booth style a bit worse for wear.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TraveltripperUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Italian food at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We booked at the last minute for a table of six,this was no problem. Arrived just on 6.30pm to be given the early bird menu which finished at 6.30pm so asked if we could order from it and we're told that was fine.Garlic bread to start and then a carnivore pizza,containing plenty of meat and BBQ sauce.It was delicious.Beer menu with tasting notes also available which is great if like me you can't make your mind up.Staff all appear to enjoy their jobs and that transmits to the customer. Excellent restaurant

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SouthportLaudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing