We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$45 early bird deal cant be beaten”
Review of La Toscana

La Toscana
Ranked #10 of 35 Restaurants in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“$45 early bird deal cant be beaten”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We were in Te Anau on business and needed a cheerful place for dinner on a rainy Monday night and La Toscana certainly delivered. $45 if you eat between 5:30 and 6:30 and you get garlic bread, a pasta or pizza main and a dessert for 2! My pasta was very good and my husband also enjoyed the Pizza. The garlic bread was large and filling and the desserts creamy and just teh ticket to round off a full-on dayI would definitely return there!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDKS6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    152
    56
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious comfort food on a rainy, winter night”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Delicious comfort food on a cold and rainy, winter's night. Great portions. And great selection of pasta and pizzas. It was more than enough.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank dcbolden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 360 helpful votes
“Pizza and pasta done right”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Friendly, unpretentious neighborhood Italian type place. A lot of pizza choices, a few solid pasta dishes, and a limited selection of wines and desserts. Nothing fancy here, but it's good honest fare at very reasonable prices. Recommended.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank sundogg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Feels like your neighborhood place”
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Three years ago, my spouse and I were pleased enough with La Toscana to go there twice during our brief stay in Te Anau. We're back in the area to introduce our son to NZ's wonders, and we were so happy to find La Toscana open for dinner tonight. This is simple, comforting Italian food with a kiwi spin on things. Meals are reasonably priced by NZ standards, but the early bird deal (which we think was the same price in 2011!) is very cheap. Garlic bread, two medium mains, and two desserts for $45. And with La Toscana's large portions, that's easily enough food for three people. Don't miss the rich, delicious pasta ai fungi. A little bit of beef stock and a touch of cream makes this a very satisfying dish on a cold evening. If life brings us back to Te Anau someday, we will look for La Toscana again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank peppah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winton
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“La Tos never disappoints!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Amazing food and great value. Totally our favourite restaurant in all of Southland. Keep up the great work.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annairwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Toscana also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to La Toscana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing