We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not great”
Review of Olive Tree Cafe

Olive Tree Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Te Anau
Price range: US$10 - US$36
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open daily (except Christmas Day) for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner. Great coffee. Cabinet of homemade sweet treats. Central Otago wines.Kids Menu. Gluten Free options available. Browse Local artwork. Relax on the couches or out in our sheltered courtyard & let our friendly staff take care of you. Looking for somebody to take care of your outcatering needs? Give us a call.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I have already done a review and I dont see mine recorded?Yhe bacon was the awful round rubbery pressed stuff and not at all edible.Coffee not great either.I wanted waffles but none to be had so french toast but very average.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grantie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    242
    83
    40
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level Contributor
115 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fabulous, slightly quirky cafe”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Just what the Doctor ordered for a hearty meal before setting off on a tramp (hike)... and another great breakfast the next morning. Evenings sees them offering table service, and mornings you order from the counter. Food was all lovely and fresh, and the staff were down to earth, friendly folk. Excellent value too. We didn't use the outdoor area, but it looks great for those long summer evenings.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JnKnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bad coffee”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

I only stopped in for takeaway coffee, and maybe I was just unlucky, so don't take this review as indicative of dining at the cafe in general. But my coffee was both expensive and bad: better than what you'd get at the average Caltex but worse than the average BP. There is nicer coffee in Te Anau (Sandfly Cafe, say).

Helpful?
Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“small and beautifully priced”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This small eating establishment proved to be a hidden treasure with beautifully prepared and reasonably priced food served by friendly and well informed staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

quaint little place, bit over cluttered with "stuff". Had dessert & coffee, staff were friendly. Good value cafe

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Tree Cafe also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Olive Tree Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing