We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Early dinner was ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Settlers Steakhouse - CLOSED

Settlers Steakhouse
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Early dinner was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had early dinner here before glow worm trip. Dinner was ok, and they were very accommodating regarding our choice of dinner ie vegetables instead of chips etc .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
135 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“nice reloading after 4 days of walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

nice Schnitzel and wine ! friendly atmosphere.. good to reload the batteries after 4 days on the kepler track

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank hpheleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Make sure to have a table reserved otherwise you may have to wait for a table...

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank YvonneBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Nice place and the food was pretty good. Service was a bit slow the night we were there but we enjoyed ourselves.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TraveleroutofNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
2 reviews
“Refreshingly friendly service and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

After spending two weeks traveling throughout New Zealand on vacation and encountering mostly stuffy, arrogant, and downright rude behavior from the majority of Kiwis we interacted with, it was truly refreshing to happen upon this restaurant. The staff made us immediately feel welcome and seemed eager and happy to make our dining experience pleasurable. Shockingly (not really) they weren't Kiwis. The food was quite good and attractively presented. The portions could have been a little bigger, but they certainly weren't small. Price was quite reasonable.
Overall, this meal is one of the highlights of our trip.
Just to be clear, we did encounter some genuinely warm and friendly Kiwis as well, but quite frankly, they were the exception rather than the rule. I've traveled all over the globe for years and never encountered such a uniformly poor example of hospitality. New Zealand is a lovely country and well worth visiting, but the locals really need to take a long hard look in the mirror I think.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Settlers Steakhouse also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing