We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great price but very run down” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fiordland National Park Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location, great price but very run down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed in the backpackers section of this lodge before and after walking the Milford Track. The price was very reasonable and it was set close to the ferry for the track and views were wonderful. It also had everything that we needed and the room we stayed in had it's own toilet and shower. The staff were also really friendly. However, it really did look run down and the rooms needed a really good clean, repaint and refurbishment. The toilet in our room leaked on the floor, and the unidentified white stringy stuff left on the windowsill wasn't pleasant. Before arriving, it had been unclear whether food could be bought on site. While there was a restaurant kitchen, they only provided a basic breakfast (cereal, fruit, coffee). They sold basic food, but as shops are a long way off in Te Anau, you should take your own.

A friend stayed in the motel unit and this also needed a really good clean. The flaking, textured ceiling coating make me feel uneasy.

The brochures we leafed through showed the Lodge location as a future terminal for the monorail proposal to Milford....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    21
    14
    5
    13
See reviews for
10
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April and unfortunately prebooked online otherwise we probably wouldn't have stayed here. The room was old and dated everything about this place is tired there was nothing extra supplied and the bed was uncomfortable. The pots and pans are aged and alumium pots are cancer and need to be thrown out. We were both really annoyed when at 9:50am we were getting a knock on the door from Tania when we were getting ready to say you should have left by now I have people arriving at 12pm, hello checkout is at 10am and most other places give you a 30 minute grace. I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone it's crap and Tania needs to go on a Customer Service Course we are in 2012 not the dark ages where she is living.

Room Tip: Stay in Te Anau and not at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights in one of the motel units and used it as a base to go to Milford Sound. the location is quite remote which we liked. (About 20 minutes drive out of Te Anua so you need to bring supplies with you) The units are a good size, maybe past their best, but are comfortable. They have the bonus of a full size bath!

Fantastic mountain views and large grounds going down to the lake. Far enough inland to avoid the Milford Sound rain.

Room Tip: For the motel rooms choose the ones on the lakeside of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at a Unit Motel and we were a bit anxious after we saw the reviews posted here, however, it was a great surprise for us the place. Great location, Tania, the manager, very friendly and helpful, it was all great. The location is definitly a great advantage, especially for us that went to do the Milford Track, it was 5 minutes away from the Departure point, and we're able to leave the car and luggage in the lodge for 4 days, which is great! the room we stayed, ok, is a bit old style, but i was there for the views (right in front of lakes) and for the walk, not for a fashion or decorative purpose. In general is really worth to stay there!

Room Tip: Ask for the 309. great rooms and isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carvalhorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2011

Tania the manager was excellent, we had a family celebration which included all type of ages and stages. Tania managed to give us all the type of accomodation we were after and gave us the space to hold our celebration. This included use of the caterers kitchen, dining room and lounge. Also the backpackers kitchen was well utilised by the family.
We held a potluck tea in the dining room and it held 65 of us all comfortably . Tania kept the place warmed for us and ensured we didn't need anything.

This lodge has been taken off the bus tours for some reason but it is a beautiful serene spot right at the door step to the launch for Glade House (the beginning of the Milford Track).
If you are arriving in Queenstown and heading to Milford or Te Anau then consider this to be a spot to stay so you can then enjoy your time and relax in the Fiordland National Park.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakiroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beenleigh, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2011

I had a group of ten stay at the lodges backpacker rooms before and after walking the Milford Track, and if you wish to have a quiet, tranquil place for reflection, I believe the Lodge is ideal. OK, it is out of Te Anau, yes it is dated BUT it was clean, tidy, comfortable and very amenable host in Tania, right on the lakes edge with uninterupted views up the lake (full moon on our last night was to die for) and the quiet............
People, if you are not requiring hot and cold running waiters and maids, can cook and look after yourself and out to enjoy the world, do not hesitate to have a look at the lodge, I am glad I perservered after reading the previous reviews (is it the squeaky wheel syndrome ?) and will be back to re visit a great part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malandlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2011

We stayed here two nights while visiting Te Anau and Milford Sound. Unfortunately we booked in advance so we had to stay here. The place was hard to find to begin with. When we arrived it didn't look as good as on their website pictures, the room was small and the bathroom was very dirty. We booked for 3 persons yet still there were only 2 towels. It all was a little out dated and worn. The only nice thing was the shared kitchen where we met other travelers with whom we shared food and travel tips.
At the reception basic things were sold like bread and eggs (as basic as bread & eggs can be) biscuits and shampoo, as there is no store nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.0 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#24 of 24 in Te Anau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.0 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland National Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland National Park Lodge

Property: Fiordland National Park Lodge
Address: Milford Sound Highway | PO Box 19, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SH 94, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fiordland National Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Fiordland National Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland National Park Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing