We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the prettiest but plenty of character and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the prettiest but plenty of character and great location”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked in for one night, needing accommodation in Te Anau Downs. We had a backpacker room with a queen bed and a set of bunks. The manager was very friendly and helpful with a wonderful attitude and made us feel at home. The kitchen had everything we needed, the living / dining area of the lodge was cosy and retro-cute, and to top it all off we had our own bathroom! How often does that happen in a backpackers?? The bed was comfy. Yes, the decor is dated and sometimes shabby, but for the price, what do you expect? We slept well, our expectations were exceeded, and the view was to die for. I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the backpackers, try and get a room with lake views - it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    14
    5
    13
See reviews for
10
34
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Milford sound early the next morning. It is located about 30kms past Te Anau and in a lovely location by the lake. You need to self cater if you stay here so we brought food for dinner and breakfast with us. They do offer limited breakfast menu and coffee/tea/cakes during the day. The rooms here were amongst the worst in terms of decor and value for money in NZ but, saying that it is in the national park hence with lack of rooms comes expensive accommodation. Rooms were clean but, the decor is like sleeping in 1970s Austin powers inspired pale blue and pink rooms! It is such a shame as with some investment this place could be amazing, it is right next to the lake and there is loads to explore nearby and some lovely walks etc. One night was certainly enough for us!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayesfromHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Te Anau hotels

Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Stayed in the backpacker rooms and judging from their website we thought we were in for a nice, clean tidy place to stay. However after having trouble finding the place and it being a 25 minute drive out of Te Anau, we were sorely disappointed. The bathroom had no soap provided, no bath mat, and the hot water in the shower keeping turning on and off.
There is no cellphone reception, the curtains were broken and coming off railing and the main hallway door directly outside our room had no cushioning so that whenever anyone let the door close by itself it let out a mighty BANG, waking us up everytime.
Very dated decor and furnishings and a real inconvenience being a long way out of town. Would never stay here again and would not recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

We stayed in the backpackers section of this lodge before and after walking the Milford Track. The price was very reasonable and it was set close to the ferry for the track and views were wonderful. It also had everything that we needed and the room we stayed in had it's own toilet and shower. The staff were also really friendly. However, it really did look run down and the rooms needed a really good clean, repaint and refurbishment. The toilet in our room leaked on the floor, and the unidentified white stringy stuff left on the windowsill wasn't pleasant. Before arriving, it had been unclear whether food could be bought on site. While there was a restaurant kitchen, they only provided a basic breakfast (cereal, fruit, coffee). They sold basic food, but as shops are a long way off in Te Anau, you should take your own.

A friend stayed in the motel unit and this also needed a really good clean. The flaking, textured ceiling coating make me feel uneasy.

The brochures we leafed through showed the Lodge location as a future terminal for the monorail proposal to Milford....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwitraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April and unfortunately prebooked online otherwise we probably wouldn't have stayed here. The room was old and dated everything about this place is tired there was nothing extra supplied and the bed was uncomfortable. The pots and pans are aged and alumium pots are cancer and need to be thrown out. We were both really annoyed when at 9:50am we were getting a knock on the door from Tania when we were getting ready to say you should have left by now I have people arriving at 12pm, hello checkout is at 10am and most other places give you a 30 minute grace. I would never stay here again and would not recommend it to anyone it's crap and Tania needs to go on a Customer Service Course we are in 2012 not the dark ages where she is living.

Room Tip: Stay in Te Anau and not at this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shazzy44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We stayed 2 nights in one of the motel units and used it as a base to go to Milford Sound. the location is quite remote which we liked. (About 20 minutes drive out of Te Anua so you need to bring supplies with you) The units are a good size, maybe past their best, but are comfortable. They have the bonus of a full size bath!

Fantastic mountain views and large grounds going down to the lake. Far enough inland to avoid the Milford Sound rain.

Room Tip: For the motel rooms choose the ones on the lakeside of the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed at a Unit Motel and we were a bit anxious after we saw the reviews posted here, however, it was a great surprise for us the place. Great location, Tania, the manager, very friendly and helpful, it was all great. The location is definitly a great advantage, especially for us that went to do the Milford Track, it was 5 minutes away from the Departure point, and we're able to leave the car and luggage in the lodge for 4 days, which is great! the room we stayed, ok, is a bit old style, but i was there for the views (right in front of lakes) and for the walk, not for a fashion or decorative purpose. In general is really worth to stay there!

Room Tip: Ask for the 309. great rooms and isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carvalhorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
Fiordland Hotel/Motel
#23 of 23 in Te Anau
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.0 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland National Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland National Park Lodge

Property: Fiordland National Park Lodge
Address: Milford Sound Highway | PO Box 19, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SH 94, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fiordland National Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Fiordland National Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland National Park Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing