We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated motel, nice lake view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fiordland National Park Lodge
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are going to fiordland national park, this is probably one of few choices you have, but even then i wouldn't recommend the motel unit. If you are going the the sounds or te anau then it is definitely the wrong location (25km from te anau and 90km from Milford sound). The motel was slightly musty with dated furniture and a small CRT TV with no remote control. Internet was $10 per 2 hours. The rate including wifi costed more than a much nicer motel we stayed in Te Anau the next night. The receptionist, who reminded me of boarding school dormitory, is obviously used to dealing with backpackers (there is backpackers dome onsite as well) and not accustomed to providing warm friendly hospitality that you normally expect from NZ$130+ motel. There is no restaurant or bar nearby. Receptionist will sell you pasta and can sauce. The only draw was the view of the lake from our room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheers_A_Lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

Many people stay here before and/or after walking the Milford Track.
This time we didn't stay but rather wish we had. The lodge is under new management since we were last here 6 years ago and the atmosphere is first class - welcoming, friendly and professional. Tanya is a gem. We called by on two occasions for coffee and freshly made scones with cream and jam - both were really excellent. If you are travelling between Te Anau and Milford you really ought to drop by. We received advice on the Hollyford track and Tanya gave us her phone to contact Air Fiordland to finalise our pick-up from the end.
The lodge is a wonderfully quiet and tranquil place only twenty minutes from Te Anau and is well worth considering.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Loved it! Yes it was really '50's but Tania was so helpful and the view and atmosphere just great. I loved the value too. Would recommend to anyone who is looking forward to a down to earth place to stay.

Room Tip: You will get telecom cell phone coverage if you ask for a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The hotel description mentions views of the lake, we couldn't see any motel units that would have a view. Possible there are some views from the lodge "Hotel rooms". The motel unit was very old and tired looking and not particularly clean, although it wasn't filthy dirty either. It was just the sort of place where you felt you wanted to brush the chairs before you sat down and you weren't too sure about using the bath. However, it was very inexpensive, so perhaps we should accept that it was fairly good value and the kitchen facilities were better than some. Overall it was an adequate stay, but we were disappointed to find we had no views. There are lots of motels in Te Anau with fantastic views, but unfortunately all full the day we arrived. As other reviewerts have stated, it is well outside Te Anau, that can be good or bad. It is located in a quiet spot and so is nice and peaceful and if you need to get to Milford Sound early the next morning it gives you a great head start. Driving back to Te Anau to eat is a little tedious but it is not actually that far.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

This property promotes itself as being in Te Anau - it is 28 kilometers out of Te Anau. It is poorly fabricated, poorly refurbished, poor 1980s decorated and considering the potential for views, the views are poor. There was no breakfast or food offered so you need to drive 28km. Of course there is a small kitchen to make you own. At $130 per night (off season) you're better of staying in Te Anau where there lots of eateries and a lovely lake for your ritual daily walk, if you haven't been worn out by walking any of the tracks on offer.
It should be correctly identified as backpackers accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't bother - not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We booked in for one night, needing accommodation in Te Anau Downs. We had a backpacker room with a queen bed and a set of bunks. The manager was very friendly and helpful with a wonderful attitude and made us feel at home. The kitchen had everything we needed, the living / dining area of the lodge was cosy and retro-cute, and to top it all off we had our own bathroom! How often does that happen in a backpackers?? The bed was comfy. Yes, the decor is dated and sometimes shabby, but for the price, what do you expect? We slept well, our expectations were exceeded, and the view was to die for. I would stay again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the backpackers, try and get a room with lake views - it's gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed here for one night en route to Milford sound early the next morning. It is located about 30kms past Te Anau and in a lovely location by the lake. You need to self cater if you stay here so we brought food for dinner and breakfast with us. They do offer limited breakfast menu and coffee/tea/cakes during the day. The rooms here were amongst the worst in terms of decor and value for money in NZ but, saying that it is in the national park hence with lack of rooms comes expensive accommodation. Rooms were clean but, the decor is like sleeping in 1970s Austin powers inspired pale blue and pink rooms! It is such a shame as with some investment this place could be amazing, it is right next to the lake and there is loads to explore nearby and some lovely walks etc. One night was certainly enough for us!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HayesfromHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.0 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
Te Anau Kiwi Holiday Park
#10 of 27 in Te Anau
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aden Motel
Aden Motel
#5 of 22 in Te Anau
263 reviews
0.0 mi away
Te Anau Lakefront Backpackers
0.0 mi away
YHA Te Anau
YHA Te Anau
#5 of 27 in Te Anau
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fiordland National Park Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fiordland National Park Lodge

Address: 2681 Milford Sound Highway | PO Box 19, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park SH 94, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Speciality Lodging in Te Anau
Price Range: £39 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fiordland National Park Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Fiordland National Park Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fiordland National Park Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing