We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than Average but shy of Very Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Better than Average but shy of Very Good”
Reviewed 4 April 2011

For Te Anau this is a good place to stay, centrally located yet quiet and with a good view.
I say 'for Te Anau' because the overall level of service at other establishments in town was noticeably below the norm for New Zealand.

New Zealand hotels in general are not good at handling guests who arrive before mid-afternoon - unlike many hotels in North America. But this is a NZ cultural issue not a criticism of the Distinction.

We arrived around noon and although no rooms were ready (!) we were able to use the laundry and have a snack in the bar.

Internet is poor.

This is a 'motel-style' hotel. It is on two levels - no elevator and no help offered with baggage.

It is well-maintained and has a good restaurant and generally attentive staff.

The rooms are comfortable but a bit faded.

Nonetheless for Te Anau this probably is one of the best values.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view - and patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalambaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
distinction_hotel, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 17 April 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here on Trip Advisor. We appreciate this feedback, as it helps us continually improve our service.

I am sorry to hear that the Te Anau township did not meet your expectations, and that you were disappointed with the check-in time. Yes, you're right- in New Zealand check-in times are generally early afternoon, however upon booking you can request an early check-in, in which case we would have the room ready for you as early as possible.

However, it is fantastic to hear that you thought Distinction Te Anau Hotel & Villas was the best value in town. We are pleased that you enjoyed the restaurant, and that our staff were friendly and helpful during your stay. We certainly try to maintain an excellent standard of service to our guests. We are sorry that the internet was slow, and that there was no help with your baggage. We will certainly look into this.

Thank you again for taking the time to give this feedback, and we hope to see you again at Distinction.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    270
    182
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
409
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Totally sufficient for a rest before and after a long track or visit to the Fiordland. Modern, recently refurbished. Well located for access to the main street on foot. Amazing view onto the lake/ mountains even if you do so only from the bar drinking some great wine...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CK_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeAnau1, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 27 March 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Distinction Te Anau, and for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, the facilities and the views. We trust that you had a good time in Fiordland and Milford Sound as well.

We sincerely hope you will consider coming to stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamas, Utah
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

A very ordinary place. Motel like rooms. There is not a big choice in Te Anau and the location is good right on the lake. It used to be a government tourist hotel in grander times.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeAnau1, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you thought the rooms were not of an excellent standard. We strive to provide excellent service for our guests, with rooms to suit all budgets. It is a shame to hear that you felt the rooms were nothing special, but glad that you enjoyed our location.

We do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

beautiful setting by the lake large comfortable room

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jofife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeAnau1, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay here, and we hope to see you stay with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We stayed in several lake view rooms throughout our trip so were happy to stay in a garden villa for a change. Enjoyed the peace and privacy, and the gardens are absolutely beautiful. This establishment is nicely situated across from the lake and close to the town centre, which we enjoyed. Our room was fine in all respects except for the incredibly small bathroom. My partner is quite large and had a problem with the tiny, very restrictive space. We dined in both Distinction venues and were happy with each. A special note of appreciation to Melissa at Baileys for friendly and informative service way above expectations.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welltravelled63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeAnau1, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Thank you for coming to stay with us here in Te Anau. It is a joy to hear such good feedback about our staff, and this has been passed on to the GM, and Melissa. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and your dining experience. However, we are sorry that you found the bathroom too small.

Thank you again for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as they help us to grow, and improve our service to you.

We hope you will consider staying with Distinction again.

Kind regards,

Disrtincrion Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Well located on the lake front, the hotel, along with Te Anau itself, is a stopping off point for visitors overnighting on a trip to/from Milford Sound. With a 1960/70s feel to the design of the hotel, it is lacking in any great warmth or personality and its larger size adds to this. This size seems to make it a preferred option for tour groups making the trip to Milford Sound.

The room was of a decent size, comfortable and clean although, in common with others in hotels on the South Island, lacked its own internet access which could only be obtained in the lobby area.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostfisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeAnau1, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 13 March 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are sorry to hear that you felt there was a lack of personality to the hotel. We believe that the location is an asset, and strive to create a warm and welcoming atmosphere for our guests. It is disappointing that we could not meet your expectations during your stay.

However, it is great that you felt the staff were friendly and helpful. We strive to give our guests excellent customer service, and we are glad that we did meet your expectations in this area. We sincerely hope that we can work on the warmth of our hotel, and that you will consider staying with us again.

Kind regards,

Distinction Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2011

I stayed in a Garden Villa Room for one night to get some personal space away from my group of travellers - and found it lovely and quiet. Decor was good and clean. Bed was comfortable, and it was a treat to lie in bed and watch a movie, so was waking up to peace and quiet. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thetimemachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeAnau1, Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 17 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Trip Advisor- it's always good for us to get feedback and this helps us to continue improving our service. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and that it was nice and peaceful. We hope to have you stay again one day in the future.

Kind regards,

Distinction management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing