We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired, dated and dusty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spent two nights here on a room only basis travelling between Milford & Dunedin. Assigned room 103, lake view. The view is nice, although there is the main road inbetween.

On first glance the room seemed ok, but look closer and you'll find it dated. The bathroom in particular was poor. The basin is too small and if you fill it with water then it splashes everywhere. The bathroom door didn't close properly so there was always a draught, which meant that the shower curtain flapped about and stuck to you when showering, not nice. The shower head was covered in limescale.

In the wardrobe I found a few poor plastic hangers which were very cheap and nasty. The room was not cleaned properly, there was dust around the desk and the stool underneath it was covered in a thick layer. The room was one of the coldest we stayed in, but the blankets provided in the wardrobe were full of hair.

Our tour operator had told us to ask to hotel to drop us of at the bus station in their courtesy shuttle when we left. I spoke to reception the night before, was assured this was ok & was told what time to be ready. The next morning it was a very different story: there was no driver available as he was attending to large Chinese tour group. The suggestion? We take our luggage to the bus stop on a trolley. I was not happy with this and in the end we walked. Thankfully it was not too far, but it's no fun with 2 large suitcases.

The hotel left a note in to room saying to rate them on Trip Advisor and there was a similar poster at reception. However, it may pay to get things right before inviting guests to do so.

The best bit about the hotel? The Chai latte in the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hanval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at Distinction Hotel Te Anau, while visiting the Southland region and also for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Regular guest feedback whether positive or negative, allows us to continue to evaluate and modify where necessary the service levels and product we offer to our guests.
I would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered. We work very hard to ensure every aspect of our hotel is superior and so to have these incidents arise during your stay, is particularly disappointing. We have since acted to ensure the issues are not encountered by guests in the future.
I certainly appreciate your honesty and agree with your comments that the details you have mentioned do in fact make or break the overall experience of the stay. I have followed up your comments with our staff in order to upgrade and overhaul this service, so your experience is not repeated again.
Thank you again for your feedback, and I trust that we may welcome you back to the Distinction Hotel Te Anau in the future. Please contact me if you would like to return and I will make sure your stay is nothing less than perfect.

Jacob John
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 606 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here on the way to Milford Sounds and just had to come back and stay another night. We had a perfect clear Autumn day, and the hotel mucked in with what we were up to perfectly.
The staff were so helpful when we were planning our Milford Sounds trip, giving expert local knowledge, advising us on any aspect we were interested in. We had a fantastic dinner in the restaurant, some great wine, and the lake itself we gave 5 stars. We had a great time here. Would recommend to others for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 11 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that your recent experience of our hotel and services met your expectations and that our staffs were able to offer their expert advice about the local knowledge to ensure that the needs of your family were met. We appreciate your time and value your feedback which will go a long way in helping us to continually review and improve the way we do things. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Jacob John
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here one night on the way to Milford Sound from Dunedin... and what a pretty place this is!!! lakefront, beautiful sunshine and close to the shops. we got a 2 bedroom villa which is not on the lake but is very nice indeed. has a microwave and free movies and a very nice appeal to it.
the only flaw is the bathrooms could be updated especially the vanity taps, it is freezing and there are no mixers! you have to turn cold and hot taps on themselves. Parking is right next to the villa which was handy. Breakfast was adequete although not 4 star, they only make fried or boiled eggs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneyKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

the quality of hotels and restaurants in te anau are generally very VERY average if not below. for that prices are extremely high. once i entered this villa park it felt like a deserted movie set from the 70s. the villas are very out of date, very close together and the windows face in all direction with only blinds to get privacy. i "upgraded" to the hotel rooms which were surprisingly clean and new. according to the front desk renovated 3 years ago. bathroom was new. a relief.
but since one is in the middle of nowwhere everything costs. no wifi in the room but at least in the lounge area for free. dining is a ripoff. at least 30 bucks for very very average main courses. the soup of the day cost 12 and was also the same soup being served the next morning at their breakfast buffet. fortunately i had a very friendly staff. although one should not expect a delighted answer if one requests to "extend" for another night - rather "but i cannot give you your initial rate". in general people in the south seem quite harsh and cold compared to the north i noticed. so i tried to get used to it.
the sauna and pool area is so early 80s that it is cool again. one truely feels like in another decade. this actually could be really charming if it was well maintained and sanitaries were new.
the place is huge and meant for large loads of tourists who just stay there to see milford sound and the boring glow worm caves. thats why the whole place and hotel feel like a motorway restaurant. you quickly pass through. dont really bother to complain much because the other guests incl yourself probably wont return soon anyway.

Room Tip: dont take the villas. the hotel rooms are renovated. the villas are not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hedonisticjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here two nights as a base for Milford Sound and Queenstown holiday. We were impressed by the lake views and size of room but we were very angry with frontline service from one staff member in particular. Maybe some training in how to speak to customers when checking in might help. Bad attitude was given when a question was misunderstood is not the way to speak to customers staying at your hotel. Because of this we will not be staying here again when coming back to Te Anau.This is a real shame as it was coming to end of our holiday and we had received excellent service from all other accommodation in New Zealand. Also reflects badly on the rest of the hotel in frontline staff and management.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicalbliss12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Everything you could hope for in accommodation except atmosphere. Cannot fault this place. It is just not our demographic. Agree with other reviewers comments on the retirement village feel. Also agree on the grotty spa The rooms are big, beds are really comfy and the gardens are lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Having read the reviews good and bad for this complex we were pleasantly surprised and also bemused at the negative feedback.

We had an upstairs room overlooking the lake with a kingsize bed that must have been XXL!

Staff were friendly and helpful, wi fi in the bar was great, room was fresh and clean

One surprise was the lack of Sky TV, so had to go next door to the Moose to watch the rugby.

Location is great, is one of the nearest to the visitor centres, shops and cafes.

Room Tip: Some upstairs rooms have decks, all the downstairs rooms have decks and chairs, you couldn't bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mahuia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2014

Thanks for your review and time taken to write it. We appreciate your comments

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £101 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing