We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms Too Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Riverton NZ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rooms Too Noisy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

We were very disappointed with our accommodation. Two rooms, #101 & 103 were right next to the stairwell and were so noisy we only managed about 4 hrs sleep.We had not been forewarned of the possibility of noise & would have not taken the rooms if we had known. Restaurant staff were polite & helpful, however the manager would not show his face when we were complaining about the rooms during check out. He was in his office listening to our complaints. Location is handy & the view pretty. Never again would we stay there if we had those rooms. The hotel is used by tour operators using large coaches.

Room Tip: When booking ask for the room to be at the end of the hotel away from reception, laundry and above a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethRivertonNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Beth
I really appreciate you taking the time to speak with me on Monday regarding your stay and I am delighted you will be returning to give us another opportunity to host you. I was happy to hear you found the staff friendly and helpful and sorry you felt the Duty Manager was unhelpful. As explained we did have a few groups checking out and he was busy with getting procedures ready for their departure. We have taken your comments on board and are really looking forward to having you back to stay. Thank you for the opportunity for a second chance.
Regards
Brent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    270
    179
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
403
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport Beach, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this place over Xmas with Tauck Tours. While the location is convenient for going to Milford Sound, this hotel is pretty much a dump - at least by Tauck standards. The rooms are out of the early roadside motel era, and no air conditioning! A big problem in summer when the temperature can hit the high 80's. The restaurant service was ridiculous on Xmas night. We had around 30 people, and the restaurant knew well in advance of our dinner plans. The tables were all neatly set and waiting. Unfortunately, the staff consisted of people who apparently never worked in a restaurant. We literally waited hours to be served. It was a disaster! Management is totally to blame for this and the poor condition of the property. It needs major overhaul but Tauck must have some kind of deal with the hotel, because they keep using it as part of the tour. Shame on Tauck!

Room Tip: Try another hotel unless you can stand 80 degree rooms at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntiTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Anti Traveler
I am disappointed to read your comments and apologise you did not enjoy your stay with us. I apologise your food took so long to come out as we did have 125 people in for dinner but should have been able to meet your expecations of serving a 3 course meal within 1 hour. I did personally take the time to speak with you, offer you a fan, free drinks and ice packs for your legs and offered to move you a Deluxe suite located on the opposite side of the sun, which you did decline. I sincerely hope that your stay here did not effect the rest of your time in New Zealand and wish you and your family all the best for 2013.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbounre
Level Contributor
248 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We had two lake view rooms for tow nights. One room was a suite with a separate lounge area. The view was great. We arrived Xmas eve we had driven in from Queenstown and ad the glow worm cave tour booked for 5.30 pm. No one at check in told us that there was no room service after 9 pm. The only option was the buffet for $69 pp since we don't eat meat when we travel and we don't actually celebrate Xmas being of another faith this was not for us. I had insist and plead my case as the restaurant was not copeing with the demands of the big festive dinner. But the girl at the front desk came around and brought us some sandwiches as they were actually the ONLY place open in town and we had to eat. W had a really lovely renovated bathroom with a huge spa bath which we used. Ther was free wi if in the lobby bar area so miss 19 was happy. I was able to sunbathe near the pool in the afternoon ( on a very hard plastic sun lounger) so I would say for a short stay this is a good choice.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MrsWorldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear mrswordly
I am delighted to hear you found the views from the rooms great. I apologise you were not informed about dining arrangements for Xmas eve and hope the sandwiches that were made for you satisfied your appetite. Our guests do appreciate the free wi fi at the hotel and I am happy to hear that miss 19 enjoyed this.
All the best for a prosperous 2013
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012

Location of hotel is decent and rooms with lake view will be nice.
A short walk to the town centre, restaurants and cafe.
I would rate the hotel above average.

The lights in the room wasn't bright enough. It's gloomy and sad when staying in it. Total contrast from the cosy lobby. I would rather sleep there if I could.
And kind of awkward to stand in the bath tub to use the fixed shower and the tub was slightly dirty.
Heater wasn't powerful enough and as there's none in the toilet so its always cold in there with freezing floor.

Checking in went on smoothly. Staffs at front desk, lobby bar and restaurant were friendly and helpful. Had some problem with the in-room heater and help arrived promptly to resolve the issue.

No strong pull factor for me to return should I visit Te Anau again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojolia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear jojolia
Thanks for your comments and I am disappointed to hear you had a few issues in your room. I hope this did not impact on your stay and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Our aim is to ensure all our guests leave the hotel raving fans. I am happy to hear the staff were friendly and helpful and resolved the issues promptly when brought to their attention.

Kind regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gore, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

Have just stayed at the Distinction Hotel & Villas on Lakefront. I was on my own and there for a Christmas function.The room was very comfortable with two double beds. The bathroom was spotless and all was very well furnished. Flat screen TV , hairdryer, tea/coffee facilities etc,
Check in was speedy and the staff friendly. I was asked if I needed password for wi-fi but as I never I can't comment on the connection or speed etc but it was obviously available. Our Christmas drinks and meal were at the hotel. The staff looking after us were very friendly and efficient.They were still smiling after our noisy 'challanges' and secret santa present openings. The meal was absolutely beautiful. All in all a lovely stay and would definitelyrecommend to others. Location was great right on lakeside and close to town.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonarl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Jonarl77
Thank you for your glowing review! Your comments about the staff, food and efficiencies are very pleasing and I will be sure to pass them on to the team here at the hotel. Our refurbished rooms are proving very popular to travellers staying with us and with Lakeview rooms overlooking the awe-inspiring Lake Te Anau, we are truly blessed to have such a wonderful location. I sincerely hope we see you back again soon.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

The room we had was huge and tatefully decorated. The bed was extremely comfortable. Internet was free in the bar area up the corridor. Overall a really good hotel in a great location. The bar area is very cosy and i would imagine a nice place to spend a winters evening.

Room Tip: Lake view rooms were definitely a plus
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Rossco90
We have had several updates and refurbishments to the hotel over the past few years and I am overjoyed you had such a wonderful stay with us. Our bar area is warm and welcoming and a great place in all seasons to enjoy the scenery of southland. The fire place in the bar provides a relaxing place to spend during the winter months and the outside tables for the summer with the best views in town are a treat for travellers making the trip to Te Anau.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012

Hotel perfectly located close to all major restaurants, cafes and convenient shops. The team was very helpful. Ask for a refurbished room with an amazing view on the lake. My only recommendation for the hotel would be to install the WIFI in the entire hotel, the lobby area can be very busy with other users which can reduce the speed of the internet. Overall a good stay in Te Anau.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlivierNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear OlivierNZ
Thanks for yor comments and I am delighted to hear you received an upgrade to a Lakeview room which met your needs for your stay in Te Anau. We do offer free Wi-Fi in the Restaurant, Bar and lobby for all our guests but apprecaite your comments.
Hopefully we will see you back again next year.

All the best
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing