We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful views and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel (overlooking the lake) we had a ground floor room with a sitting out area. Whilst we too found the rooms a little on the dark side, it didn't cause us any problems and they were clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful and managed to get us two nights in the same room on the front of the hotel, even though the hotel was very busy. We found this hotel to be within easy walking distance (2 minutes) from shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Phillipt
Thank you for your comments and I am delighted to hear that our staff influenced your stay in a postive way. Thanks for your return business and hopefully we will have another chance in the not too distant future of having you back to stay with us. You are correct that we are in a great location with best views in Te Anau and within easy walking distance (couple of minutes) to restaurants and shops.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

549 - 555 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

The hotel and room were unremarkable. There were enough towels and toiletries provided and the beds were comfortable. However, I continue to be disappointed in hotel rooms with double beds and space or rack for only one suitcase. I don't know of two people who travel with one bag for both of them. Don't know why hotels cannot provide for two bags and this hotel was no exception to the rule. Food service provided by the hotel was adequate.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler2Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Traveler2Q
Thanks for your comments and we are in the process of refurbishing our villa rooms and extending the bedroom and bathroom areas to allow more space but our hotel rooms have all got space for 2 bags.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

The setting and location are both fantastic, overlooking the Lake Te Anau and a very short walk to restaurants, tourist information and other amenities.The rooms were fairly clean and comfortable, though not particuarly attractive or modern. We were fairly tired from travelling (also being our honeymoon), so we decided to order some room service. After two unanswered calls, on the third call I was asked to call back in five minutes. I did this only to have another unanswered call. I rang back, then the man I had previously spoken to earlier disccouraged us from ordering room service as they 'had a wedding on and four buses had just turned up'. We decided no to order, as we found this quite rude as paying guests of the hotel. Although this may seem minor, it was frustrating for us. The spa was also out of service during our stay. On the whole I would advise guests to stay somewhere else as we paid less in Queenstown for five star luxury and service.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Carol R
I am disappointed to hear you were asked to call Restaurant back and would not expect any of our staff to suggest this. As a customer I would have expected your order to be taken and the timings explained clearly and efficiently. I apologise this was not handled and you decided not to order. When we have any maintenance issues with our spa we do ensure we fix as the problem arises and I apologise if this impeded on your stay. Our spa is currently in full working order and all issues have been rectified.
If you are planning on returning to Te Anau please feel free to contact me and I will ensure your stay is a pleasant one, sorry we could not get it right for you first time around.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We had 2 couples, the 2 bdrm villa is under maintenance so they upgrade us to the hotel room. We were shocking that only 2 queen beds in the room. If I dont ask they, the wont give me the 2nd room key.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxxangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear foxxangie
Thanks for your comments, we do only give out one key per booking but are happy to provide a second key if need be. I apologise your 2 bed villa was under maintenance and hope this did not impede on your stay. We did provide an upgrade to refurbished rooms at no additional cost due to the inconvenience caused. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Te Anau and all the best for 2013.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

When writing this review I had to check several times to make sure I was looking at the right place - the photos aren't anything like reality.

Our room was not what we had booked - instead of a lake view we had a carpark view on a back alley. I was too exhausted from the drive to realise the mistake until late that night, by which time it wasn't worth changing. Noise levels were surprisingly high, with cars coming through at odd hours. I guess cinderblock doesn't make for such great sound proofing.

The two bedroom villa we were in looked like refugee accommodation from the outside, and while the inside was nicer it was still pretty low-grade. I'd have hated to be here on a hot day though, there was no cooling and the design of the rooms was such that they'd heat up really fast.

The DVD player in the room didn't work, and there wasn't any TV reception so entertainment options were greatly limited.

Room service was poor, expensive and limited in terms of choice. Our meal took 1.5 hours to get to us, and only then after complaining.

The bed was actually two single beds pushed together, which is simply unacceptable in this price range. As a result we had a terrible night's sleep and would not even consider returning. If it wasn't for the proximity to Milford Sound I imagine they'd never see a single return customer.

Room Tip: Check your room against your booking
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MattDugganAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear MattDuggan
Please accept our sincere apologies that you did not receive the room you paid for. After investigating it appears we had 2 Duggan rooms and should have got this right on check in. One booked a 2 bed villa and you booked a lakeview room. I am bitterly disappointed that this impaced on your stay and this error should not have occured. I will contact you personally to apologise and ensure we are more pro active in our approach on the front desk and our operation in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in a Villa, which was lovely. The atmsophere of the room was great. The property is not new, but it has a charm, and warmth. There were areas which were being rennovated, and I am sure the hotel will be the total package before too long. The location is really special, and the outlook fantastic. The best part of the Distinction Te Anau is the staff. They are a great team, and totally friendly and well informed. They went the extra mile. The cuisine was also great, and especially the breakfast buffet, which had a typical New Zealand flavour including Kiwi Fruit Juice. We enjoyed our three day stay immensely.

Room Tip: The Villa's are great, however the Lakeside rooms looked pretty useful too. They have great vie...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolfyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Woolfyone
Thanks for your comments and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and well informed. We are in the process of refurbishing our villa rooms and expect an improved offering to all our guests once completed.
We look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the not too distant future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Do you like a hotel where the decor is bright and cheerful? Where it takes less than an hour for the restaurant to produce your first course? Where the dinner menu is available before tea-time? where the sorbet for dessert is different from the inter-course sorbet? Where they tell you the sauna/spa you booked is not working? Where the terrace leading to the spa/pool/barbecue is nicely maintained? Where there is not a general air of amateurism and decay? If so, this may not be the hotel for you. The staff were pleasant (perhaps verging on the over-familiar for our taste) and tried to be helpful. And the rooms have nice views both front (lake) and back (garden) But this hotel needs investment and a manager who knows how to manage a hotel and train staff. And a lift. And a working spa. And a kitchen capable of producing meals in the same year as you take your table; We played an entire game of I-pad Scrabble while waiting to be served and afetr the first course the staff desperately brought us bread because the main course was nowhere in sight. Not up to the standard expected.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwardreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Edward
I am extremely disappointed to hear your feedback and review and apologise that we could not delight you for your stay in Te Anau. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in New Zealand and apologise if this impacted on your time in Te Anau.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#7 of 23 in Te Anau
500 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau
#20 of 23 in Te Anau
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#5 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £86 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing