We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Its A Yes From Me"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Cromwell, New Zealand
2 reviews
“"Its A Yes From Me"”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We booked a conference room for 2 days to sell our clothing range and also stayed in a lake view room and had our meals here as well. WELL we didn't even have to leave the premises, every thing we needed was here. A great well heated room for our clothing and extra friendly staff who would do anything for us. The accomdation was excellent, very comfty beds and clean and warm - Its was a cold & wet couple of days. The meals were also good with the help of staff with good sense of humors that went the extra mile . And thanks for the free drink vouches !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642254Angie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Angie
Thanks for your review and it was a pleasure hosting you and meeting both of you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. I am delighted to hear your comments about the staff, standards of the rooms and food and you are welcome for the free drink vouchers, I hope you enjoyed them!
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    274
    185
    35
    22
See reviews for
143
414
25
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We really enjoyed one night's accommodation midweek in the first week of the holidays. Our check-in late afternoon was friendly and welcoming and a voucher for two free glasses of wine was a nice touch - thanks for that! Our room was spacious, beautifully clean with a lovely outlook to Lake Te Anau.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSouthee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear JSouthee
It was lovely to meet you and I am encouraged by your warm comments about the friendly and welcoming nature of the team here at the hotel. Please feel free to contact me should you be returning as we would love to have another opportunityin welcoming your return. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Southland.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Stopped at Distinction Te Anau as the last break before heading on to Milford Sound, we stayed in one of the two bedroom garden villas, they are slightly on the ageing side but very comfortable and plenty of space. It's great for privacy if you want that as you are not surrounded by other rooms and the price is very fair, would recommend for a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Mark T
I am happy to hear you found the prices suitable and fair and room comfortable for your stay in Te Anau. We are in process of refurbishing our garden villas and have completed the main hotel a couple years ago. Hopefully we will have another opportunity in welcoming you back and please feel free to contact us if you are returning.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

It's a big hotel so things can get busy and you can get the bus loads of tourists. The beds are comfortable and if you get the Lakeside view rooms (which you should) you get wonderful views of the lake and gardens. I won't have any qualms recommending this because of it's location to the restaurants, the friendly and accommodating staff and the rooms are comfortable.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Penciltoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Penciltoon
Thank you for your feedback, we are priveleged to have such stunning views and in a great location and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you back in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Great room and view of the lake. The staff, especially Diana, was extremely helpful in arranging for a coat left in Queenstown to be be sent over night to us. My wife and I wished we could have stayed longer here, it was a very restful location. Whether in the bar, the spa or just walking around the property the staff had had smiles and always asked if they could be of assistance.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear OhioJ44
It is very rewarding to hear that Diana made a lasting impression on your stay and we are lucky to have such a positive team here at t he hotel.
Hopefully we will see you back again in the not too distant future and I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time here in New Zealand.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a two bed villa. The other comment on this page, that the villas are in need of TLC, is true. They are a little dated, but they are immaculately clean and a nicely laid out space for a family travelling together, with a small lounge and two sofas, and a compact fridge and microwave area. They are also very quiet and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom, between the two bedrooms, was again a little dated but spotless, and the bath was huge and very comfortable. The bed and bath linens were fine and tolietries nice quality and generous. The best bit of the hotel was the lovely, lovely staff managing the breakfast buffet. The buffet is super generous and very high quality and the ladies seeing you to your seat are delightful. Free wifi in the bar is a nice touch, the bar area is very charming so a nice place to check your email if you really must. The price for the villa was a little expensive considering it's age and size, and next time I would consider two hotel rooms and using the bar area instead of a lounge.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear bjam
I am delighted to hear you found the staff in Restaurant a pleasure to deal with and they impacted positively on your stay. It is pleasing to hear the rooms were immaculately clean and you found the familty space in the rooms useful for your stay. We are in the process of updating our villa rooms and look forward to an improved product here. Please feel free to get in touch should you be returning to Te Anau and we will more than happy to upgrade you to a lakeview room or 2.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights in a Delux suite, had a lovely seperate lounge area from the bedroom and the bathroom was too die for - we could of spent hr's in the spa bath!!
Loved the modern resturant, the breakfast options were some of the best i have seen in a Hotel.
All the staff had smiles on their faces and always said hi when passing in the halls etc, Was a great place to spend the weekend with excellent views of the Lake.
Will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyJ105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 8 April 2013
Dear AmyJ105
Thank you for your glowing review and I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us in Te Anau. I am especially pleased to hear all the staff were smiling as this creates a great ambience around the hotel. We sincerely hope to see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing