We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinction is the perfect name for this Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
cairns
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Distinction is the perfect name for this Hotel”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We arrived early and were given a free upgrade to a lake view room.
The room was perfect, we didn't have the curtains drawn at all because the view of the lake was too good to miss. We loved having drinks at the bar, with "that" view.
The staff were all so friendly and helpful, especially Dianna, the receptionist.
We stayed for two nights, and were sorry to leave. Beautiful and convenient accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtimesCairns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear goodtimescairns
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our beautiful views from your room and were offered a free upgrade. It is extremely pleasing to hear our staff have made a lasting impression on your stay, especially Diana who is a wonderful and gracious host. Hopefully we will see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    271
    183
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
410
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed with friends each having a suite.It was immaculate with every way and with every facility we could wish for.We used the bar for a drink at night and had a breakfast in the morning.We had lovely friendly staff and standards were high.The room had beautiful views.
We would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Suggest a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annemcmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Anne
We thoroughly enjoyed having you stay with us and we sincerely hope we will see you back again in the not too distant future. Please feel free to call me if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2013

What a great stay we have had . We took a package for two nights which included dinner and a full breakfast. The hotel staff are friendly and efficient ,beautifully furnished rooms overlooking the lake. Dinner at the MacKinnon Restaurant was first class ( I would recommend the Scallop entrée Yum) .The Hotel has a laundry which came in handy as we are on a two week drive vacation. Every thing first class! It must have been our lucky day when we saw Special deal on their web site! Perfect weather and a perfect stay.
Susan & Ken Smith
Saratoga
N.S.W.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Lake view also have afternoon sun, downstairs rooms have a nice outdoor deck for that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thriftysusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Susan and Ken
I am overjoyed to read your review and hear you found the facilities conducive to your stay and food first class. Hopefully we will have another opportunity in inviting you back to stay with us in beautiful Fiordland.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We checked in to our room and found that it had two Queens. Not sure how it was booked, but we called down to the front desk and asked for a King. She told me the King rooms had the Lake View and cost $40/night more. I didn't want to spend that much, so she spoke to her mgr and got the upgrade for $20/night which we did. The room was on the second floor and was very nice with large windows and a great view of the lake. The two-story hotel did not have an elevator (or lift as referred to in NZ) which we came to find out was somewhat common in the low-rise hotels. There was a manual lift for the luggage which worked just fine. The front desk was very helpful getting our luggage to the room.
We didn't use the pool or spa so I can't comment on that. We were pleased to find a laundry room which we found not to be so uncommon in NZ as it is rare to find this amenity in the US where we're from.
Overall a great place. We would stay again and definitely eat more of our meals there!
Room was nice and clean, though I thought a newer bedspread could have really improved the overall look of the room since it was quite nice other than that (just a bit tired looking). Service was great all around. Location was good and easily accessible to everything in town. The front desk recommended the best meat pie shop we found in our 3 week trip - MIles Better Pies which was just down the street from our hotel.
We didn't eat in the restaurant but had cocktails bar/lounge and one evening ended up having a light meal there as well. The lounge has a great view of the lake and was great for relaxing after a long day of exploring. We ordered off of their light meals menu and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. We ordered the Fish Cakes which was excellent - the best we've ever had. It was actually one of the best meals we had in NZ.

Room Tip: If you're going to spend time in your room, consider the lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Susan
Thanks for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your food in the bar and our staff were able to upgrade you at a reasonable price.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed during off season. Hotel is nice for this area. Nice room. Amenities & staff are good. Off season menu is great value. Beautiful lake view and close to shops & restaurants. Only stayed 1 night so we didn't try many services but main restaurant is closed for dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRIPSTER1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear wrok
Thanks for your review and I am happy to hear you found the staff good during your stay. Our Restaurant is open in the off season but on quieter nights we use our area with a fireplace as it is more intimate for our guests. Hopefully we will see you back again in the future. We do still have the same menu and options available for our guests
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

The Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is an A class hotel. The facilities are fantastic and I was even more impressed that there was an on-site spa for massages and beauty treatments. The location is superb and the hotel is situated right on Lake Te Anau so it provides amazing views. It is right in the town centre and is walking distance from everything. The rooms are comfortable with great heating facilities and the bed was super comfy. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and really yummy...not to mention the restaurant. The food we indulged in here was just spectacular!!! I really cannot fault this hotel and would stay here again without a doubt!!! I highly recommend this to anyone visiting Te Anau.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend booking a lake view room. As this is a 2 story walk-up with no lifts I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Michwood

Thanks for your kind words, we are blessed with our location and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the facilities conducive to your needs and food spectacular. We hopefully will see you back again soon.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cromwell, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We booked a conference room for 2 days to sell our clothing range and also stayed in a lake view room and had our meals here as well. WELL we didn't even have to leave the premises, every thing we needed was here. A great well heated room for our clothing and extra friendly staff who would do anything for us. The accomdation was excellent, very comfty beds and clean and warm - Its was a cold & wet couple of days. The meals were also good with the help of staff with good sense of humors that went the extra mile . And thanks for the free drink vouches !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 642254Angie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Angie
Thanks for your review and it was a pleasure hosting you and meeting both of you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. I am delighted to hear your comments about the staff, standards of the rooms and food and you are welcome for the free drink vouchers, I hope you enjoyed them!
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing