We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Nearly forgot to review this property, excellent location very close to the township on the lakeside. We booked a garden villa and was very surprised with the size and facilities of the villa. Nice and quiet at the rear of the property. The villa itself was large with excellent facilities and modern furniture it was great to have a lounge room as well as the bedroom to relax at the end of the day. Sitting in the Explorer bar having a quiet drink or coffee overlooking the lake is a very relaxing experience. Very friendly and helpful staff made sure our stay was very enjoyable. Would definitely recommend and will return on our next trip to the south island.

Room Tip: Book a garden villa, excellent value and great facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patnan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Patnan
Thanks for taking the time to write and remembering us during your trip. I am delighted to hear you found the villa facilities conducive to your stay and we are very happy that you could relax and enjoy yourselves while in the South Island. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

514 - 520 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

The staff is really nice, the breakfast is really good and if you have a food intolerance like myself they even cook special plates for you! The room was good and the bathroom ok, with a great view to the lake and confortable beds. The corridors were strangely freezing, but we asked the staff once againg for help and they gave us a small radiator - problem solved! Really nice living room with bar and a separate restaurant at night time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana_RN92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Ana
It is very comforting to hear you found our staff really nice and the breakfast really good. We are blessed with unsurpassed views of Lake Te Anau and it is a definite draw card for our hotel. I apologise the corridors were cold but happy to hear the issue was rectified. I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and had a safe trip back home.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We would like to thank Distinction Hotel & Villa's for the fantastic meal and superb service that was provided on Saturday night. We were there with our staff celebrating a recent award and we were all blown away by the top notch service and friendliness of all the staff. The meal was excellent with perfect timing for all the courses. The way the room was decorated with the congratulations sign, balloons, cocktails and port was totally unexpected and truly appreciated by all. We will definitely be recommending your facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shel87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Shel 87
Congratulations on your recent award. It is a great achievement and it was a pleasure hosting you and your fantastic team. Thank you for your glowing review and appreciate you recommending our facilities to travellers to Te Anau.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Totally loved the view from our room. The room was across the quiet road from the lake and a two minute walk from the town centre. The staff were friendly and helpful and I would have liked to spend more than one night here.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crooksi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Crooksi
I am delighted you enjoyed the beautiful view of Lake Te Anau and agree we are positioned perfectly in Te Anau to enjoy the breath-taking scenery. It is rewarding to hear the staff were friendly and hopefully we will see you back for another trip to Te Anau.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

At the end of a long day's drive, what really counts? .........I think The Distinction met every criteria that counts when it matters most.

Our arrival was met by warm and friendly staff who really cared, and it showed, they could not have been more helpful.

We arrived at 8.15pm, being very tired and having not eaten. Reception immediately advised the chef that we would be dining in the restaurant, and to hold off closing until we had been seated and could place an order. The food when it arrived, was absolutely superb, simply excellent, full marks to the new chef.

Next morning, we experienced a booking mix up with the tour operator of our Milford Sound trip, the manager (Brent Stander) immediately stepped up to help resolve the problem, we could not have asked for more, he was the consummate professional as well as reflecting the same warm and caring attitude that we experienced upon our arrival.

Being a winter visitor, I can recommend this time of year as simply the best, not crowded or frantically busy, just peaceful and relaxing, whilst the landscapes glisten with snow and ice crystals, just add to the enchantment.

All round, this was just the most fabulous experience, well done to all.

Many thanks Steve Jeavons

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Steve
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure to meet you and your son and I really enjoyed our discussions over your 2 day stay. It is pleasurable to hear the staff were friendly and really cared as our aim is to ensure everyone leaves the hotel recommending us. Winter is a beautiful time to explore Te Anau, Milford and surrounds and I am delighted you enjoyed it so much.
Hopefully we will see you back again and please get in touch if you are returning.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Stayed here for one night in June 2013. We were welcomed by the friendly receptionist in the modern reception area. She gave us plenty of information about Te Anau and our planned trip to Milford Sound the next day. A good first contact.

We had booked a villa, away from the main hotel and were struck by the contrast. The villas, although some updates have been made (e.g. Plasma TV and some furniture updates) were looking tired as we're the surrounding outside areas. The bathroom in particular needs a refresh - it looks at least 30 years old. The room was clean however.

We didn't see the main hotel rooms or the restaurant, so our review is based on the villas and common facilities.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear S.M.
I am delighted to hear you received a warm, friendly welcome to the hotel by informative staff. We are in process of refurbishing our villa bathrooms and hope we will have another opportunity to have you back and showcase the improvements first hand to you.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Distinction has recently been totally renovated and has benefitted greatly from the experience. It is extremely well situated on the side of Lake Te Anau and is a very pleasant stop along the way. The room size was excellent and the food also excellent. Surprisingly there is also a spa, sauna and heated swimming pool. Altogether an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Bill T

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time at the hotel and found the facilities conducive to your stay. I agree we are a very pleasant stop on the way to Milford sound and there are many exciting excursions to do in Te Anau, so well worth the stop.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 22 in Te Anau
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#8 of 22 in Te Anau
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range: £101 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing