We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
san diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“great hotel room”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

dont know why some people did not like it
we are a family received a lake view room very clean and nice
the service was excelent
the location perfect
small heated pool
great views of the lake
we satyed 2 nights and loved it , used the green grass in front of the room for small lunch!

Room Tip: lake view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maroma1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Maroma

I am delighted to hear you found the service excellent and location perfect and hopefully we will have another opportunity in welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    270
    179
    35
    22
See reviews for
141
403
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Quite, cozy room, comfortable, stayed on the second floor , room 211. Nice view over the lake. Comfortable bedding. Restaurant on site was okey . Used sauna as a private session. Ask for a key on the front desk. Hotel is located walking distance to shopping. If you go to the left along the lake, it will take you for a wonderful 2 hour comfortable walk with beautiful scenery.

Room Tip: 211, good lake view, quite, cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Olga P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear Olga

I agree the walks in TE Anau are breath-taking and I am happy to hear you enjoyed the magnificent views overlooking picturesque Lake Te Anau. I hope you had a safe trip back home and please keep in touch.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in a Garden View room-not much of a view but that didn't matter. Two queens sized beds suited our sleeping arrangements. Hotel was close to town and opposite the lovely lake. The staff were great-when we left behind some clothes, they arranged to have the items sent by courier to our next hotel straight away with minimal cost. They also were very helpful to assist in a non-hotel matter. We didn't eat at the hotel but the bar staff were efficient & friendly.
This was a very nice place to relax while exploring Milford Sound.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcondon_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
Dear hcondon
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time in Fiordland and our staff made an impression on your stay.

Hopefully we will see you back again

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

On the Plus side: we loved the fact that this is a large hotel which "has it all": nice room, great lounge, some of the best dinner we have had in NZ, very friendly bar staff, great view, and even a small floater-plane waiting for passengers just across the street. Our room was nice and had some of the amenities we lacked in other hotels such as iron and iron board, lots of drawers etc.

On the Minus side: very surprisingly, no wifi in the room. You have to go to the lobby! Also I don't understand why the hotel has not upgraded the shower curtains which will stick to your body as soon as you start the shower. Last thing: very very weird fitted comforter (never seen that before: the comforter is fitted at two corners of the bed) which is so skimpy that it barely covers your chest. So unnerving.

If it weren't for those few things, I would give this place 4 stars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Luc V
I am delighted to hear you found the dinner some of the best you tried while in New Zealand and the staff were friendly and accommodating. I hope the other comments you mentioned did not impact on your stay in New Zealand and you had a safe trip back home.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We had requested a higher floor room and this was allocated to us. Very friendly welcome by reception staff and Brent. All very helpful.
Breakfast very busy one day with tour guests, not relaxing. 2 nd day a lot quieter. We would have had a cooked breakfast but were told that omelettes could only be made by special order and this would be extra over the full cooked breakfast price. Strange as eggs were available, but not as an omelette.
Overall though very good stay and one of the best locations. An alternative is the Lakeside Motel which has good views and a balcony on the upper floors.

Room Tip: Take a lake view room. We were on the first floor, hotel only two floors. Good view of lake, no balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Mike 1946
It was a pleasure meeting you and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in Te Anau and the hotel. I am sorry to hear about omellete requests as this is wrong, we are happy for our guests to have their desired egg choice and I have personally sorted this out with the kitchen.

We hope to see you back soon!
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel was clean, and the rooms were spacious. I really liked having choices of channels when watching television. It's a great place as a jumping off point for Milford Sound. The food in the restaurant was quite delicious, but the service (the time for me to get my food one night) in the restaurant was the slowest I may have ever seen. I was almost convinced that the chefs had gone fishing themselves for my meal.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colorado_Traveler_98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Colorado Traveller
I am happy to hear that you found the room suitable to your needs and you enjoyed your dining experience. I apologise if the food took too long to come out and have followed up with the kitchen to ensure we are meeting our guests delivery needs with food timings. I trust the chef did not go fishing but if he had it would have been a good option to eat off the menu. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in New Zealand and had a safe trip back home.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
421 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Looked to us as the best choice in Te Anau.
Reception and waitstaff attentive with a "service" orientation.
Clean rooms, decent size. We had a view of the gardens and pool in the back.
Other side would have viewed the lake.
No elevators; internet (wireless) only available in the lobby/bar area. No charge for internet.
Due to narrow bandwidth , internet is slow when there are multiple users. We found using the internet early in the morning, before breakfast, worked best.
Dine one evening and elected two of their $15 NZ specials - my wife had the beef burger (what we would call a hamburger in the US) and I had the Classic Caesar Salad. Both were very good. My wife especially enjoyed a burger for the first time during our trip.
Nothing fancy; solid facility, food and service. Breakfast was better than average. Poached eggs were offered as an option to scrambled. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Back is gardens and pool; front is the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Dear Jeffrey S
Great to hear the staff were attentive to your needs and you enjoyed breakfast and dinner.
We hope you enjoyed your stay in New Zealand and had a safe trip back home.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Te Anau
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 23 in Te Anau
482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#7 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing