We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Te Anau
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just Okay”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I was a little disappointed in this accommodation. It was stated as a Delux Two Bedroom Unit set amongst a rose garden. There were no roses at all and the outside of the buildings were very poorly maintained. The unit was cold when we arrived and bulbs were blown in the second bedroom. The fridge, altho appearing clean had a terrible smell. While kitchen facilities were not stated, we struggled with plugs for the jug, toaster and microwave provided. Having said that the units were clean and nicely renovated.

Room Tip: If you want to a lake view - ensure that you ask for this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Karen H
Please accept my apologies we did not deliver to your expectations. It is our goal to ensure all guests leave recommending us. The rose gardens are seasonal and due to it being autumn all the leaves are falling off the trees. We do clean this up daily. I will speak to our team here regarding the room issues to ensure our attention to detail improves here.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    274
    185
    35
    22
See reviews for
143
414
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had not visited Te Anau before - the highway to Milford Sound which we travelled as tourists some years back skirts the town, but our four day stay there this Easter, coinciding with our wedding anniversary, proved an excellent choice, both for the charming township and this hotel. The staff are efficient and helpful, the ground floor lakeside room was spacious and well appointed, its view enhanced by the individual patio to sit out on and contemplate the lake and mountains in gorgeous weather, whilst much of the country was suffering gales, floods and heavy rain. The copious full breakfast buffet was on offer at the lower set cooked breakfast price - we didn't ask whether this was a matter of staff availability or an occasional promotion. We dined once in the roomy restaurant, in company with a coach party - obviously the bread and butter business here. We have stayed in many hotels where such mass comings, dinings and goings are an irritant to individuals, but not here. Slick staff procedures avoided any such inconveniences and the presence of a number of tourists served to creat a comfortable ' lived in' atmosphere. The dinner menu was standard and the food decently cooked and well presented , but unlikely we thought to attract locals in view of the competition from several excellent restaurants in the nearby main street.

Our room was cleaned spotlessly every day - to such a high standard that the impact was evident immediately on opening the door. The room was air conditioned and perfectly soundproofed. No traffic noise - the lakesjde road is some fifty metres away across the lawn and the traffic is sparse at night. During our stay the local high school held their 'Prom',dinner and dance at the hotel. Certainly a boisterous occasion but we heard nothing. For the bathroom, the highlight was the user friendly bathtub!

We are normally motel people for short breaks but on this occasion wanted to relax completely without need to shop and prepare meals. The Distinction proved an excellent choice.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Lakeside, preferably lower numbers, unless you want the exercise - the corridor is exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotter93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear trotter 93
Thanks for your detailed review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found the staff and service slick, efficient and helpful. I will be sure to pass comments on to our team here at the hotel and hope you had a safe trip back home.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
273 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

OK so here is the bottom line. Great location across road from lake and short walk to Main Street. Comfortable rooms but small bath. Restaurant offered nice selection and the food was quite good. Hotel staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. Good place for a quick over night or as a base from which to go sightseeing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rvstraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Rvstraz
I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we are blessed with a great location and lovely staff.
We hope to have another opportunity in welcome you back again.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here over New Year. Weather was poor but can't blame the hotel for that! Room a little on the small side and hotel could do with a bit of TLC. But restaurant was good and breakfasts plentiful. Really could do with Wi-Fi throughout the hotel to avoid everyone crowding into the bar area.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randrnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear randrnz
Thanks for your comments and I am happy to hear you found the restaurant good and breakfast plentiful. We are currently looking into wi fi throughout the hotel but do offer free unlimited wi fi in the restaurant bar and lobby.

Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel is situated in a great position near the centre of the town and opposite the lake. We enjoyed an exceptionally good tasting menu on our first night and an equally good meal on the second night.

We stayed in one of the lodges, very spacious. Our only minor criticism is that it was rather dark and the lighting within the villa subdued.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Frank B
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the meals at the hotel on both nights. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland and New Zealand and had a safe trip home.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
262 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good spacious car park and friendly staff. Efficient check in too and a good size clean room. We were on the ground floor and had a door to the front garden as well as a door into the hotel. We were in a rush to drop our bags and go for a meal as we had an evening trip to the glow worm caves planned. My husband went to check the outside door and found it was unlocked. I thought it was probably just able to be opened from the inside but after my husband went outside we discovered that it could be opened from the outside too. Bit of a security issue there and I'm pleased he had the forethought to check before we went out.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Northerntraveller59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Northerntraveler59
I am delighted to hear you found our team friendly and efficient. I am equally disappointed to read your door was not locked and will personally follow this up to ensure this is not repeated. Please accept my sincere apologies that this happened.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel because it was clean and our room opened on to the lawn with a great view of the lake. The front desk was very accommodating and friendly. The bar was great but that's where you had to be to use the internet. GRRRR......I hate that! Why on earth there isn't in-room internet in this day and age is beyond me. It's good for all businesses. This place gets used heavily by tour buses and the carpet in the halls shows it. Yet the public restrooms were spotless. All that said you cannot beat this place for price and location.

Room Tip: choose a room on ground floor lakeside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padredecasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brent S, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear padredecasa

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the hotel and found the front desk staff accommodating and friendly. We are in process of discussing internet plans for our rooms but do offer free internet and unlimited which is appreciated by the majority of our guests. I appreciate your comments on this though.
I sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of you time in Fiordland and have a safe travel home.
Regards
Brent Stander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.2 mi away
Distinction Luxmore Hotel Lake Te Anau
0.1 mi away
Lakefront Lodge
Lakefront Lodge
#3 of 23 in Te Anau
367 reviews
0.6 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#5 of 23 in Te Anau
492 reviews
0.1 mi away
Explorer Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 23 in Te Anau
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas

Property: Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
Address: 64 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9681, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Te Anau
#6 Luxury Hotel in Te Anau
#13 Romantic Hotel in Te Anau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Te Anau Lake Front, a short stroll from the Te Anau Town Centre, Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas is perfectly situated for you to make the most of this beautiful area. Surrounded by extensive, colourful gardens and overlooking spectacular Lake Te Anau and the Fiordland ranges, this Hotel and Villa accommodation sets the tone for your stay in one of the world’s most breathtaking regions. Designed for your comfort, we offer 115 luxurious rooms, including Hotel rooms with Garden and breathtaking Lake Views, and a range of spacious One and Two Bedroom Garden View Villas. On-site is the renowned MacKinnon Room Restaurant offering the very best of South Island cuisine, and the Explorer Bar and Lakefront Terrace where you can relax and enjoy the uninterrupted views of Lake Te Anau. The hotel offers the largest hotel based conference centre in the area, and its very own lakefront wedding chapel, plus extensive recreational facilities, including a spa, sauna, heated outdoor swimming pool and massage services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Te Anau Hotel
Distinction Hotel Te Anau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing