We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not a B&B”
Review of Cosy Kiwi B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cosy Kiwi B&B
Ranked #10 of 29 Te Anau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

The hospitality was nice and the breakfast was satisfying. However, the room was very outdated, dark and a little bit dingy - more consistent with a motel room than a B&B. Not a bad stopover for Milford Sound, but not suitable for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We came to Fiordland for 5 weeks of hiking, and we made Cosy Kiwi our base, and stayed here on 3 separate occasions, in between hikes, over a 3 week period, all up about 7 nights. It was a great place to relax in the roof top garden, and the indoor lounge. We didn't have a car so it was great being so close to the restaurants in town. Derek and Eleanor are perfect hosts, there when you need help with great advice, to help us get ourselves organised. The rooms were really comfortable and we felt spoiled staying here, enjoyed the antics of the schnauzers, and would recommend it as a Te Anau base to explore the region.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capetribber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Great place to stay, very quiet, spacious rooms and nice hot bath. The hosts Ellinor and Derek are lovely and always prepared for a nice chat during their excellent breakfast. Ideally located in walking distance to the town centre and lake. The Cosy Kiwi will definitely get a place on my list of preferred B&Bs.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We loved our two-night stay at Cosy Kiwi. The hotel is perfectly located, just steps from the main restaurant strip of Te Anau on the highway that leads to the Milford Sound, in a very quiet setting. From the outside, the property looks a bit like a Swiss chalet which we loved, being from Switzerland. Parking is provided free of charge, as is WiFi.

We were welcomed by friendly and helpful host Eleanor and shown to our rooms number 1 and 2. These are the rooms closest to reception and the breakfast room, but are very quiet. The rooms were pretty much standard motel rooms with a spacious bathroom. Everything was spotless clean.

The highlight of our stay was definitely the breakfast where all the guests meet in the breakfast room between 7.30 and 9.00am. Eleanor and Derek offer a very nice breakfast that includes a sweet or savoury cooked option. It was definitely one of the best B&B breakfasts we had throughout our travels. Eleanor even offered to start breakfast service a bit earlier since we had to get to Milford quite early, which we appreciated.

All-in-all, we would suggest to stay here to everybody visiting Te Anau. It's like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GioVale20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Wow, great place! we were in room 3 with king size bed, refrigerator, T.V. and a lot of space in the room. The hosts are warm and lovely people. We had a bus at 8 am so they woke up early and took us to the bus station. The breakfast was amazing !!! . Great place highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Asaf M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is has the feeling of a motel, rather than a homely b&b, but that does the job. It's a short walk (10 mins) from the centre town and the lake, situated on the road to Milford sound. The rooms are simple but comfortable enough, with kettle, tv and fridge. A bit on the dark side. The bathroom is a wet room with a curtain around the shower so it's messy after showering.
They provide continental breakfast with pancakes made to order.
Laundry facility for 8$ a wash/dry.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Granduelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed in Room 6 with a King bed, fridge, and window that looked out next door. Very comfortable and clean. Laundry is NZD8. Free parking right out front. Free wifi. Eleanor was friendly and helpful and made us sweet and savory pancakes for breakfast, along with cereal, yogurt, and fruit. 7 minute walk into town. We paid NZ$160/night which is quite reasonable. The only reason we stopped in Te Anau was to catch an overnight cruise to Doubtful Sound in Manapouri the next morning - only a 15-20min drive away.

I had the BEST fish n chips I've ever had at Mainly Seafood - the blue cod is to die for! There isn't much to do in the town itself, but I would come back just for fish n chips. We also had a nice pork belly baguette with apple slaw from a little food cart by the water.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hcychan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Te Anau hotels
0.9 mi away
Te Anau Lakeview Holiday Park
0.5 mi away
Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas
0.1 mi away
Avon House Bed & Breakfast
Avon House Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 29 in Te Anau
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radfords on the Lake
Radfords on the Lake
#1 of 22 in Te Anau
627 reviews
0.5 mi away
Te Anau Lodge
Te Anau Lodge
#2 of 29 in Te Anau
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunluce Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cosy Kiwi B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cosy Kiwi B&B

Address: 186 Milford Road, Te Anau, Fiordland National Park 9600, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park > Te Anau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Te Anau
Price Range: £113 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cosy Kiwi B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cosy Kiwi B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing