We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Everything and more”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Ranked #4 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Like most of the reviews before, we found this property to be a litlle piece of West Coast magic. Having tried unsuccessfully to book the cottage we reserved the studio, and would more than happily stay there again. Spacious, clean, comfortable, everything we needed was there and it was a delight to have good sized wine glasses! A variety of cereals, toast and spreads and juice for breakfast, and all of this came at a very reasonable price, with very welcoming hosts.
We will certainly be recommending the Steeples to any family and friends who are travelling through that area and hopefully we will get back there as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillj153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

My partner and I were pleasantly suprised after arriving at Steeples. Pauline greeted us with a smile in her over the top garden. The view from the garden was spectacular. We were lucky to be blessed with great weather and took a stroll down the beach with the most epic views in New Zealand. The room was stylishly decorated and immaculate with everything at our fingertips. We enjoyed dinner and drinks at the Star Tavern located at the end of the street where we were treated like family. Highly recommend this gem of New Zealand!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaod725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Wow! We stayed for one night at The Steeples... As many have already said. If only we knew how beautiful it is, we would surely have stayed for longer! The cottage is the place to book and stay in. Lovely seafront views, a large garden in front of the deck and a really picturesque view of the Cape Foulweather coastline, lighthouse and the rock formation called... You guessed it, the Steeples!!

The cottage comes with every amenity you can think of from washer/dryer, full cooking facilities, hair dryer, to full cooking facilities and a massive cable TV channel selection. The only downside being that we were unable to connect to the free WiFi from the cottage itself. If one goes closer to the main house you might get a signal but we were too captivated with the view to bother!

We had a really comfortable stay at The Steeples. One of the best during our stay in NZ. Didn't get the opportunity to meet Bruce, but we did get to meet Pauline who was a moat welcoming hostess and made us feel most at home. Do beware that the area does live up to its reputation of having some real 'Foulweather'. But the beauty of the landscape far outweighs the dampness!

Not to be missed if you're passing trough Westport! It'd be a great base if one is planning to do walks and hikes in the area...

Room Tip: The cottage is the place to be
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Having received warm hospitality from B&Bs on the earlier portion of our trip, we were disappointed by our welcome at Steeples. Although we'd booked a B&B room, we were informed that instead we were being put in the Studio- a pleasant upgrade for many, I am sure, but if we'd wanted that room we would have booked it. We far prefer the more personal touch normally provided in a B&B/homestay setting. When we enquired over a price difference between the rooms there was a pause before we were told we only had to pay the B&B price, since that's what we'd booked. It was uncomfortable and we felt like intruders instead of welcomed guests.

The studio itself was very pleasant and modern and we enjoyed a good nights sleep. Bread was provided for us to toast ourselves for breakfast in the morning in the studio kitchenette.

All in all, I imagine our disappointment was largely due to comparing this B&B to others on our travels and for many travelers the studio and cottage available here would be a perfect place to stay. Not for us, and sadly we are unlikely to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

My husband & I really enjoyed our stay in the cottage. Shame it was for only one night. The weather was terrible but that did not spoil our stay as the cottage is very comfortable . It is very roomy with very nice decor & has everything that opens & shuts. The bed was very comfy too. The views from the cottage are stunning & can be seen from all the main rooms. The garden is very nice too. Pauline met us on arrival & was very welcoming.

Room Tip: The Cottage has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrisbaneSuzyQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

On arriving at Steeples we were greeted by friendly hosts Pauline and Bruce. Their hospitality was superb and nothing was too much trouble for them. The cottage exceeded our expectations with everthing that opened and shut, a great deck, beautiful gardens and a kitchen to cook a first class meal. Attention to detail and quality furnishings were noted.
The view was simly stunning and most of all laying in bed at night listening to the waves against the rocks and the view of the lighthouse was truly amazing.
I recommend Steeples Cottage to anyone wanting quality accomodation at a great price (less then 100 AUD per night.) comfort, privacy and stunning views of the coastline. We will definetly return and stay longer then two days. Steeples - truly a great experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2011

We have returned to Steeples again from some rest and recuperation from Christchurch.
A blissful weekend-views, hospitality and spotless accommodation and this time we savoured the West Coast delicacy of white bait caught fresh that morning and prepared especially for us that evening . Always a great place whatever the weather. Booked again for another weekend!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliestewart01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.7 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 16 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
22.6 mi away
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B

Property: Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Address: 48 Lighthouse Road | Cape Foulwind, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a fully self contained cottage with great sea views; behind the cottage is a self contained studio and next door in our home are 2 queen bedrooms with private bathroom. All our accommodation includes continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing