We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Nearby Hotels
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Motels(Westport)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
71
9
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
71
9
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdown the roadcape foulwindtasman seaseal colonystayed longerwell appointed kitchenlovely accommodationthe pubspent one nightplenty of spacelocal knowledgelovely hostsbrucelighthousegardenwestcoast
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

Stay in the cottage. The studio doesn't have any views. It's cute but it's such a gorgeous area that you are there for the storm watching and views! It's a 10 minute walk to the start of a great walk leading an hour and a halfish to the seal colony. August was very rainy and it's an appropriately named place,Foulwind,with horrizontal rain! Brrr!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foodyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Struggled to find a place to stop over on the west coast but thankfully we found Steeples Cottage and it was perfect. The cottage is lovely with great views of the seas. There is a seal colony just up the road where we managed to see some which was fantastic. The best thing of all was the price, such great value for money, would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmohide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The view from our cottage is from far one of the best we had in New Zealand! View to the see thru a great garden!
The cottage we had was quite big, and we had a very quiet night very. We loved so much the view that we had dinner here, after having bought 2 hamburgers.
Breakfast was fine, and we had everything we needed in the fridge.
Our host was very welcoming.
That’s such a lovely place there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed two nights with Pauline and Bruce Cargill. Very accommodating and genuine hosts. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable. Amazing scenery and Pauline has a green thumb—gardens are beautiful. We stayed in the one-bedroom cottage overlooking the Tasman Sea. It was a private, self contained cottage that had all the amenities. Full kitchen and laundry facilities including the use of the barbecue. Wi-fi. Very spacious. So relaxing we didn’t want to leave! A ten-minute drive into Westport to buy groceries and get gas. Wonderful hike along the ocean beginning at the Lighthouse to the Seal Colony.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank navyman356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Weather was marginal at best, but Steeples Cottage was a winner. Best stop of our month-long NZ/AU trip. Lots of room, lots of views (when the sun came out) and tons of flowers. But the best recommendation of all was to eat at the Star Tavern just down the road. It was like being welcomed to the great Cape Foulwind family in both places. Had a great time, left a hat on the wall at the tavern and felt like we'd visited friends! Seal colony a few miles away was worth the hike as is the hike to and past the lighthouse. Not much else to do out there, but it was an experience nonetheless, one of those unexpected ones that remain with you forever. It was also the best value of our trip.

Room Tip: Take the cottage for the size and the views. The price is so very, very right!
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews