We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous garden view”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Ranked #4 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
high wycombe bucks
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous garden view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed two nights in the small Studio and wished we could have been in the Cottage. It was already booked but no matter. The weather was warm and Bruce had invited us to sit on his patio for our meals in spite of the fact that he was out at work.. We will never forget that spot. The deep blue agapanthus plants bordered a path leading to the end of the garden. There on top of the cliff we could look down at the crashing waves. Even from the patio you could enjoy the most wonderful seascape whilst feeding a passing weka.That garden was spectacular. It was just a shame that we didn't meet Pauline to tell her. She'd gone off to trek the Milford Trail.

Steeples is in a great location too. You can take an excellent walk from the property across the cliffs to Cape Foulwind and beyond.

Room Tip: To book the excellent Cottage you'll probably have to book a year in advance but it'll be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJBHighWycombeBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
56
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed with Pauline and Bruce for one night on our trip around New Zealand. The accomodation really is five star. The view from the garden is amazing.
Bruce joined us for a drink in their lovely garden and was so helpful with advice for our onward journey.

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage however we looked in at the studio and this looked equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Suffolk210101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

I can't begin to say enough about Pauline and Bruce Cargill and their place. The setting is amazing, right by the ocean, the grounds like a botanical garden. But most of all, they trusted us enough to leave the cottage open for us even though they weren't there! I wish only we could have stayed longer and hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Go for the cottage rather than the studio, the view is even more spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Verena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

Steeples Cottage is a must! Fab cottage with amazing views. Pauline & Bruce are simply the best. The cottage is spotless & has everything you would need. Thank you for a lovley stay, we'll be back.

Visit the Star Tavern, meals are yummy & very reasonable. You will be made to feel welcome by the staff & the customers.
.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage it has amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

This has to be the best accomdation around.It has everything,spotless,modern accomodation with the most unbelievable views.Everything you could possibly ask for available and breakfast supplies,what a gem.We loved every minute if our stay,wish we could have stayed longer.Pauline and Bruce very friendly hosts.Highly recommended and cannot wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Cottage with everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogandjo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Not only is the location nice, but you can tell the host Pauline loves being the host at this comfortable B&B. Even though we stayed in the room (no views) it didn't matter because we were welcome to enjoy the view any other time we were there. All guests can use the deck and garden and lawn. We were invited to sit down and watch TV to chat. Or visit was during spring weather in November, the grounds having beautiful flowers and sunshine. There are opportunities to walk to the tavern (good food, service and value) for dinner or along the beach (during low tide). We wished we stayed longer, we felt so at home and welcomed. The hosts are kind and warm, and their dog is a very cute Jack Russell. This stay was one of our highlights of our trip across New Zealand. We had a fabulous time, thanks Pauline and Bruce!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is a lovely place run by great people. It has everything you might want. Firstly it has a lovely view and walk down to the sea. The cottage is in great shape with plenty of space and all the stuff you are likely to need for a few days......
The people running it are so helpful and kind- I would go back without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul_montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
7.7 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#1 of 16 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
22.6 mi away
Charming Creek Bed & Breakfast
6.3 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B

Property: Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Address: 48 Lighthouse Road | Cape Foulwind, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a fully self contained cottage with great sea views; behind the cottage is a self contained studio and next door in our home are 2 queen bedrooms with private bathroom. All our accommodation includes continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing