We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views of the Tasman Sea!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Westport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B
Ranked #5 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had one of our best stays in New Zealand at this charming and well-appointed B&B. We stayed at the self-contained studio for 1 night and had everything we needed. It was appointed with a fridge, microwave, sink, dishes, cutlery, etc and fixings for continental breakfast. The gardens and sea views were magnificent. We had not pre-booked this stay, so it was an especially nice surprise to call for availability from the road and be rewarded with such lovely accommodations. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and even treated us to white bait fish fritters they had made for some friends that were visiting at the time. They also recommended a nearby restaurant where we had delicious fresh turbot. In the morning we visited the nearby seal colony and continued our trip from there. Our only regret was not being there long enough to enjoy this beautiful and relaxing location!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingofthejungle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights, and would happily go back in the future. Read the other reviews for more info - but here are some tidbits. We stayed in the 'Cottage' - which I would definitely rate as a better option than the 'Studio'.

-There was a box of toys for our young girl to play with, and a friendly little Jack Russell who loved playing fetch.
-The WiFi internet was decent - a pleasant surprise for a relatively remote location.
-There was good phone coverage (Vodafone) there as well.
-The very friendly owners provide milk & juice, as well as breakfast cereals.
-There is a dishwasher.
-The lawn out the front of the cottage is great - a nice place to sit and watch the sunset & enjoy a glass of wine.
-To get down to the beach below the property (it's on a cliff-top) takes about 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the Cottage rather than the Studio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeZandvliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Beautiful cottage and studio. Comfortable beds, nice decoration, amazing garden with FANTASTIC views on the ocean. Table and chairs outside overlooking the sea. Good kitchen with cereals and toasts. Washer and dryer in the cottage. Close to Westport. Very romantic. I would love to stay there again. Dinner available at the Star Tavern which is a 5 minutes walk from the cottage but not so good... Fine for one dinner but not every night. Very nice staff though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goworldmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fabulous cottage in the garden with lovely views of the sea. Nice spacious rooms, well appointed kitchen, games, DVDs,binoculars etc. one bedroom plus sofa bed in lounge and also a camp bed available. Lovely hosts including Dee the Jack Russell who will come and play. Garden very pretty with swing available for you to use. One night not enough! Breakfast of cereals, toast and juice included.
Close to lighthouse and seal colony.
Tasty meals available at the Star tavern.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgbkgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here one night in March 2013, it was wonderful and we wished we had booked to stay longer. One of the best memories of our stay in New Zealand. Fabulous views, garden, accommodation tranquil. Recommend it for a quiet stop on a tour of New Zealand

Room Tip: Comfortable relaxing stop. Take food as isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaTruroCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in the studio for one night but were then able to move into the cottage for our second night. The studio is just a small converted room (next to the garage) and has no view but the self contained cottage is much better. The host were fine and welcoming and the Steeples is well placed for walking along the coast. Good kitchen facilities and a DVD player were useful as was the breakfast items provided: cereal, bread, jams, tea, coffee and juice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxford08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The location of this accommodation is second-to-none. Nice and close to the Cape Foulwind Lighthouse walk to see the seal colony and also close to a unique country pub that offers wonderful, friendly service and a kiwi menu with good home-style cooking. They even let you take a plated meal back to the studio and the hosts return the dishes to the pub the next day! I stayed in the studio and the decor is attractive and functional with cleanliness that could not be faulted. I slept really well - the whole place is serene and welcoming. I was traveling alone on business but next time I want to bring my husband and stay in the cottage.

Room Tip: Why stay in Westport when Cape Foulwind has so much more to offer. Having breakfast included was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artskyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
6.5 mi away
Archer House
Archer House
#6 of 16 in Westport
49 reviews
6.3 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
78 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
208 reviews
4.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
145 reviews
6.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steeples Cottage, Studio and B & B

Address: 48 Lighthouse Road | Cape Foulwind, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £58 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a fully self contained cottage with great sea views; behind the cottage is a self contained studio and next door in our home are 2 queen bedrooms with private bathroom. All our accommodation includes continental breakfast. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing