We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful escape from the rat race - over too...”
other traveller has booked this property
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
Twin Garden Baths with hot running water your cottage has panoramic views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
Twin Garden Baths with hot running water
your cottage has panoramic views
your cottage has garden bath with hot piped water
Romantic and private Ferry Mans Cottage
arial shot of cottage
Ferry Mans Cottage by a private lake
2 spacious bedrooms
enjoy west coast sunsets
extensive gardens and ponds
enjoy fine food and home grown produce
stunning views for you to enjoy
NEW TWIN Garden Baths!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Westport, West Coast Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydneygal...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful escape from the rat race - over too quickly”
Reviewed 20 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Alison and Andre have created a piece of heaven on the NZ west coast. We felt the stress lift as we approached the Ferry Man's Cottage. The cottage is simply but comfortably furnished - with everything you need. We opted for dinner in the cottage (additional charge), so a chicken casserole, cooked rice, garden-fresh vegetables with dessert and custard were in the fridge when we arrived - we just had to heat it. The view over the escarpment is fantastic. Sadly it rained for most of our all-too-short (less than 24 hour) stay, so we didn't get to explore the property. It is quite expensive to stay there, but with 2 couples to share the cost it didn't seem too bad, and was a wonderful, relaxing experience.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fclarkson
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 14 March 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Alison and Andre where great, friendly, great cooks and they have two fun dogs enjoyed our stay very much but did not stay long enough.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Check-in / front desk
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taranaki
Reviewed 7 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JanetteAu...
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bench mark set high, with New Year celebration at Ferry Mans Cottage.”
Reviewed 6 January 2011 for a stay in January 2011

The 2 nights we stayed at Ferry Mans Cottage where hosts Andre and Alison took "hosting" to a new level, was without doubt, the hightlight of our West Coast Holiday. We felt like we were being cared for by very dear friends and the twin garden baths are a must! As "foodies" our New Year meal catered by Alison from produce gown on their property was mouth watering, especially the whitebait entree.

If you are fortunate to be looking to travel to this region, then treat yourself to a couple of nights at Ferry Mans Cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Reviewed 6 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Canberra
Reviewed 30 December 2010 for a stay in December 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: The outdoor baths!
Liked least: We had forgotten to bring chilled champagne
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
christchurch
Reviewed 2 December 2010 for a stay in November 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: the quality of the surroundings
Liked least: there was nothing
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Dec 2010
WE are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - we look forward to welcoming you both back some day soon! From a hot and sunny Birds Ferry Lodge Alison & Andre.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$450
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing