We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best motels ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buller Court on Palmerston
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of the best motels ever”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We stayed at Bullter Court Motel after chasing the rain all the way up the West Coast, so decided to find somewhere warm for the night.

The owner gave us a warm welcome, providing different options, and taking us for a look before confiring. From the moment we arrived we loved it. The owner was lovely and took time with us to explain options for trips the next day, restaurants, etc.

The room was a great size, with all the usual facilities - the difference though was that they were of very high standard - not cheap "motel" brands. The owner left the heater on while we finished checking in and the room was cozy in that short time. We had some homemade shortbread with good quality coffee in the room. The toiletries were of better quality than any I've had in 5* hotels around the world.

We went to a little restuarant just next door for dinner, which was also delicious, before coming back to the motel. We were able to "rent" a couple of movies from the owner, with just a request for a gold coin donation to charity.

The beds were very comfy, the room was cozy and the whole set up felt very safe, secure and quiet.

We would not consider staying anywhere else when we next pass through.

Room Tip: We had the small room, but the bigger ones had more outdoor space - if staying a few nights it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canoes_Over_Taxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
69
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolleston, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Make sure you choose one of the refurbished two bedroom units, very nicely appointed, spacious and everything you could need. under cover car parking for the odd occasion that it rains on the coast.... Handy to everything as you'd expect in a small town, but no noise issues.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a great place to stay. We had a 2 bedroomed unit which was near the road but we didn't notice the traffic noise. There were lots of nice little extras like bikkies on arrival, free 100MB internet, and decent tea and coffee not the nasty cheap stuff you often get. Owners were very polite and friendly. I thought the website didn't do the place justice. Its very nice when you see it for real. Our unit had been done up and the bathroom was nice and spacious with a great shower. I would stay again next time I come to Westport.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whymiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

We stayed two nights in a two bedroom unit and were very happy with everything. Friendly service, everything was to a high standard, very clean and some nice touches like supplying nice NZ made bathroom products and good quality coffee, not the budget stuff.. even a plate of home made shortbread. Comfortable beds and quality appliances. Definitly reccommend to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

As 'on the road' motels go, this is a very good one. It is on the southern edge of Westport, so it is conveniently located for travelers such as us, as we were heading from the west coast to the east coast the next day. We would stay here again. So, you might be wondering, why a 3-star rating if you have no real complaints. Simple answer. There was nothing special about this motel, nothing that made it stand out--but it was clean, comfortable, tidy, and the beds were terrific. It filled the basic needs of a good motel admirably.

Room Tip: Go to Bay House on Cape Foul Wind for dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed one night on our way north. Well equipped kitchen. Nice back yard to have dinner at. 50 tv channels. Flat screen. Very nice and friendly owner. Rooms a little on the small side but very practical.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmirTLVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn NI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2013

A spotlessly clean property inside and out with everything you would need supplied.The ladies really enjoyed the toiletries ( more like a 5* hotel ) and the jacuzzi.
Bedrooms, Kitchen and living ares very well laid out.
A great place to stay with private parking,owner very helpful, home made shortbread was a great touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LASTTRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.0 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
347 reviews
6.1 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buller Court on Palmerston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buller Court on Palmerston

Property: Buller Court on Palmerston
Address: 235 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Buller Court on Palmerston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ray and Diana welcome you to Buller Court on Palmerston in Westport, top of the West Coast. With the convenience of main road location, our accommodation of 5 x 2-bedroom apartments and 8 studios is set away from the road, enjoying a sunny, peaceful garden setting, yet within an easy walk of cafes, restaurants, galleries and shops. Cooked/continental breakfast service. Undercover parking at your door. LCD TVs, Sky Guest Select, DVD players in all rooms with a comprehensive selection of DVDs. Wireless broadband in all unit with 500MB free. BBQ available. Guest laundry. Cot, highchair available.. Courtesy car to airport or bus. Relax with us while you enjoy the unique beauty of the wonderful West Coast! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Buller Court on Palmerston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing