We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem in Wesport”
Review of Archer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Archer House
Ranked #7 of 17 Westport B&B and Inns
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem in Wesport”
Reviewed 8 January 2012

What a great find. After a few nights in motels, our stay at Archer House was just what we needed. Not only is the accommodation first class, Jackie and Charles were great hosts, and made us feel at home straight away. A step back in time, well located and great value. Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, and all are different and equally gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We were fortunately enough to have this heritage listed home to ourselves. It was even more special given that it was my birthday and our wedding anniversary. The rooms have been tastefully renovated in keeping with its character and it was filled with antiques, art and artefacts from all over the world. The gardens were amazing and the house was very peaceful. We found it amazing that our hosts didn't stay the night as well. They disappeared after checking us in and then reappeared in time to prepare breakfast. Definitely a birthday to remember!!

Room Tip: All the rooms were lovely but I suppose if you want a nicer bathroom then go for the red room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MBond55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We used Archer House as a base to travel and carry out hill walks in the area.
It is an old house for New Zealand standards and is well cared for and presented.
The location is ideal but the best part are the hosts who ensure your trip is what you expect and are available for advice at any time.
Westport itself has limited appeal but is a good base to visit the surrounding area which is steeped in history.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigeckscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Undoubtedly our best stay during our trip to NZ.. The house is well made, almost a museum with pieces of art from all over the world.. The garden was excellent and well maintained.. The care taker Charles and his wife were extremely friendly.. Wish we had a couple more days here.. Pity there is not much to do in the town (Westport) per se.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahil152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

Archer House is a really impressive heritage home that has been sympathetically restored, furnished and maintained, while at the same time providing the sort of amenities that make a stay here such a comfortable experience in the winter months. Heated floors and towel rails in the immaculate bathrooms as well as electric blankets on the beds add to the cosiness. Charlie and Jackie provide the warmest of welcomes and are happy to share a wealth of knowledge about the whole of the west coast. Nothing is too much trouble and their enthusiasm for the west coast is infectious. An invitation to join a group of locals on an exploratory visit to the Denniston mine proved to be a highlight of our short stay. We echo the sentiments of previous reviewers that this is a place to return to again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elysian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

What can I say that the other reviewers haven't. THIS IS A FABULOUS PROPERTY.
We stayed 2 nights and fortunately for us we had the whole run of the house to ourselves.
The couple that look after this property (Jackie and Charlie) are absolutely wonderful. Not only do they make you feel welcome and make you a lovely continental breakfast (including freshly baked muffins) they even offered us the use of their own car to sight see in as we had traveled by Intercity coach - AMAZING.
Charlie tried to organize a day trip for us to the new Denniston Experience but unfortunately it is not quite up and running yet so we will have to go back some time to try it as it sounds wonderful.
We stayed in the Blue room which had a reasonably comfortable double bed and some very fine antique furniture. The bathrooms are all new complete with very large showers underfloor heating and heated towel rails so there is no problem of being cold when you get out of the shower.
But it is the rest of this Historic house that is truly incredible. It has been so lovingly restored with original stained glass and some very beautiful furniture.
Being winter and an old house heating was difficult but we never froze and it was a treat to sit in front of a real log fire not a gas imitation. The bed had dual control electric blanket and there was an oil fired heater in our room that we could leave on all night if we so wished.
On our last day we were not leaving until 4pm and went caving in Charleston to see the glow worms (magnificent tour - highly recommend). Jackie let us leave our luggage in the room and said she wouldn't service the bathroom until we returned in case we needed a hot shower and change so we wouldn't be cold and wet on our coach ride to Nelson.
A truly wonderful lady.
We recommend going to Westport (so many people just bypass it) and if you do - don't miss the wonderful exprerience of staying at Archer House.

Room Tip: Email Jackie direct or Wotif website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitkatR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oamaru
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We were welcomed by Jackie and made soooooo comfortable in the lounges and our immaculately presented room.
AND what a great breakfast – didn't need lunch.
Lots of advise freely given on the things to do and see in Westport and surrounds with everything within short drives.
Archer House is just a short walk (4 minutes) from a great restaurant called the Denniston Dog. Some history in that name too.
We won't consider staying anywhere else nest time!1

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
6.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
153 reviews
0.0 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Art Hotel
Art Hotel
#11 of 17 in Westport
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House

Property: Archer House
Address: 75 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer House Offers, 3 large bedrooms, all with en suites.Sunny balconies and relax in a sheltered private conservatory or one of the two guest lounges.Category 1 New Zealand Heritage Home, with outstanding historic significance to the West Coast created by lead lighting masterpieces, fireplaces and antique furniture.Short stroll to all town amenities including restaurants. Or simply relax in a spacious idyllic setting to experience history and charm and be pampered with a sumptuous breakfast and with an afternoon or early evening sherry or wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Archer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing