We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you come to NZ for”
Review of Archer House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Archer House
Ranked #6 of 16 Westport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 28 July 2012

We arrived without booking. They opened up the house lit the fire face us a 2 glasses of wine a. Organized where to walk to dinner .what more do you want. after going out walked home sat in front of the fire made a hot drink this house is dripping with history like being in someone's home lots of photos .etc

Room Tip: They are all decorated slightly different. But no super king. Some have another small single for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapperley2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed at the Archer House B&B as part of a quick trip from Christchurch over to the coast and back. I don’t think I can add too much more to what the other contributors have already said – this is a lovely house in a good location and there are some thoughtful touches, such as the home made muffins and wine. We had no problem locating the building and were given helpful recommendations by Mary, who was watching over the property whilst the hosts were away. We were lucky enough to be the only guests that night so chose to stay in and enjoy having the house to ourselves. Breakfast was plentiful and set us up for the day. Unfortunately we arrived at dusk and left early the following morning, so we didn’t get to lounge around and enjoy the communal areas as we would have liked to. Altogether a very nice stay and I have no hesitation in recommending the B&B to anybody wanting a night or two in Westport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taniwha_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Archer House is a beautiful old villa, kept as though it is a museum piece. The owners and managers don't live on site so in fact you feel like residents in this grand and comfortable home. The decor is gorgeous and its warm and comfortable and great breakfast is served at the time you nominate when the hosts return to meet your "wake up to breakfast" needs. This was Mary for us, as Charles (her brother) and Jackie were away and she looked after us well. This is a perfect place to base yourself while exploring north and south of Westport. we recommend the Denniston mine experience and the walk to Cape Foulwind and seal colony and if you time it right, you will be able to eat a very yummy meal at Bay House cafe with the best view in the world!!

Room Tip: Any of three rooms would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We stumbled upon this gem and could not have been luckier. The house is a perfect combination of antique and modern, comfortable and exotic--absolutely beautiful. Jackie and Charles completely surpassed all our expectations and were perfect hosts. We really enjoyed visiting with them over our breakfast, which included delicious fresh-baked muffins. And to top it off, it was a great value. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theroamingzimmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We spent there one night on our honeymoon...speechless! The house is absolutely fabulous, such as the runners, very welcoming and kind.
I really felt like a princess in my castle!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We chose the Archer House from reading the Trip Advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. This is a real find and staying in a heritage house full of antiques and collectables was memorable. Even though you book a room, you get the run of the whole house which was lovely. The room was spacious, tastefully decorated with a very modern and stylish ensuite bathroom. The managers, Jackie and Charles, were very friendly and helpful during our stay. Freshly baked muffins for breakfast. P.S. Westport itself is a small town but recommend the Portobello bar on the main street for a good quality pizza.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

What a great find. After a few nights in motels, our stay at Archer House was just what we needed. Not only is the accommodation first class, Jackie and Charles were great hosts, and made us feel at home straight away. A step back in time, well located and great value. Heartily recommended.

Room Tip: There are only 3 rooms, and all are different and equally gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
145 reviews
0 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 16 in Westport
106 reviews
6.2 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Birds Ferry Lodge
Birds Ferry Lodge
#2 of 16 in Westport
275 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Archer House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Archer House

Address: 75 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Westport
Price Range: £119 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Archer House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Archer House Offers, 3 large bedrooms, all with en suites.Sunny balconies and relax in a sheltered private conservatory or one of the two guest lounges.Category 1 New Zealand Heritage Home, with outstanding historic significance to the West Coast created by lead lighting masterpieces, fireplaces and antique furniture.Short stroll to all town amenities including restaurants. Or simply relax in a spacious idyllic setting to experience history and charm and be pampered with a sumptuous breakfast and with an afternoon or early evening sherry or wine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Archer House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing