We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved this campsite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Loved this campsite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

I was most impressed with how well kept this campground was. The facilities are clean and modern. The staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a grass site next to the kitchen and toilet facilities. Lovely location.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sickmoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    53
    16
    2
    2
See reviews for
36
71
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This park is in a nice oosition virtually right on the beach at Westport and with splendid views back to the mountains. Its a basic park - the kids werent very happy withthe aging playground facilities, and there were no bikes for hire so the park didnt rate very highly with them. That said the rest of the facilities were ok if a little tired. The family bathrooms are a nice touch however as is normally the case in these parks there seems to be alack of bench/hanging space - most of us dont walk to the showers in just iur underwear so need adequate dry space for clothes and toiletries.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilee0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrissy A, Owner at Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks for your review, we have just taken over the park and will be planting more trees around the place. Not long before your visit the older unsafe trees had just been removed. By planting new trees, this will only add to the park like atomsphere. Which compliments our beach front location, were our guests can swim safely in the warm water.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed in six Top 10 Holiday Parks throughout our tour of the south island, and this would be one of the most disappointing we have stayed in thus far. Despite the fact that there were not many people in the Park, we were placed right next to another motorhome, and a decent walk away from the amenities (which were dated). The Park was neat and tidy, but very basic, and lacking in atmosphere, aesthetic appeal and activities; I don't think I would stay here with a family. On the plus side, we were a reasonably short distance from the seal colony and Cape Foulwind, and it was nice and quiet, given that it was located out of town. It was also the cheapest of the Parks in which we have stayed. Overall, though, it was a bit dull; I gave it three stars, but my husband would only give it two.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lukeandlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Brelade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

I've stayed here on three occasions and have always found it to be very good value for money the lovely lady on reception is very friendly and helpful and all the facilites are well maintained and clean.
I think it's an ideal location as you're only a very short drive from Westport and also to Cape Foulwind Walkway and its seal colony, also i do recommend if you have the time to take a trip to Karamea which is a very small town north of Westport you can easily get there and back in a day and it's the most awesome drive, it really is.
Also if there's any keen photographers out there please pay Carters Beach a visit as it's only a 2 minute walk from the holiday park as on several occasions i've been lucky enough to get some amazing pictures including some wonderful sunsets.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nambour
Level Contributor
92 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

Our most recent stay was in a self contained cabin which was quite basic but had all we needed to provide our own meals though there is a shop and pub quite handy. We have previously stayed in a camper and found the facilities excellent. The situation is great, just a road and a strip of parkland between you and the ocean - in the van particularly you could hear that wonderful roar of the ocean. Only a short drive into Westport for shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowDreamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

When we arrived we had an argument about our top10 membership discount that the owner did not want to give to us. Even though we received the discount in all other top10's. We looked it up in the T&C's which were agreeing with us. Finally she gave us the discount with a long face. We received a tent site all the way in the back. Very far from all the amenities. Even though the holiday park was only 25% full. While we were waiting, a Canadian guy was complaining about the 24h internet access that he bought. It was no longer active and the reply that he got was: 'That will be 5$ for a new card.' (good problem solving)
The amenities were clean, but I was only able to find 3 mens toilets for the entire park.
If you have kids don't come here. Compared to other Top10's they will have nothing to do. No pool or bouncing pillow, just a very small playground. ( the excuses was that they had invested in the playground 'just' across the road) We presume it is the playground 600m further up the road.
In conclusion this beach side holiday park, which is in reality not beach side had a bad attitude and is no good for kids so skip it.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Balkestamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

We stayed for three nights in a unit with full kitchen facilities. it was a lovely modern unit, clean, comfortable, the location was tranquil and we could hear the sea at night. The ammendities were of a high standard, plenty of hot water for showers, laundry facilities were good. We enjoyed our stay and found there was lots to do in the way of walks etc. Especially enjoyed the walk to the seal colony. Once again value for money. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
2.8 mi away
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
3.8 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
2.4 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Property: Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Address: 57 Marine Parade | Carters Beach, Westport 7825, New Zealand (Formerly Seal Colony Top 10 Holiday Park)
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park (formally Seal Colony TOP Holiday Park) offers a range of accommodation from Park Motels to Tent Sites. Our Park is located on the beach front at Carters Beach, Westport. This 4 Star plus Qualmark rated Holiday Park offers a high standard of accommodation and communal facilities. Carters Beach TOP 10 Holiday park is the ideal base to explore the West Coast's breathtaking scenery and the famous Fur Seal colony at Cape Foulwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing