We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We just stayed for one night but we felt like home the minute we arrived.
The 2 owners are very nice and easy going people and run a relaxed hostel. The check in was quick and friendly.
Cozy TV room with a fire place and a well equipped kitchen.
We stayed in a 3 bed dorm which was not too big but alright for a night. Everything was clean and
there is free wifi

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaddaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
There are newer reviews for Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed here in May 2014 with 2 friends, we had a room with 2 bunk beds, very clean, 2 duvets in case we got cold!
Our host was very welcoming and even shared with us extra food he had prepared for a big group!
Free wifi, clean kitchen, lots of prep space, powerful hot showers, need I say more?! Would not hesitate to recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsh38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Bazils is a great hostel very homely & welcoming! Clean and cozy! Really liked the interesting decor! Kitchen was of a good size as was the lounge, the lounge was so comfy!!! our 6 bed dorm was a little small & there weren't enough electrical sockets. But beds were extremely comfy! Free WiFi, that actually worked!! And you were allowed to drink in the kitchen! The own was a bit rude & grumpy which wasn't the best welcoming, but I only stayed one night so he might have just been having an off day.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyV92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hostel was the best I visited in NZ. Everything about it felt homely and welcoming and the guys there were brilliant. Had an awesome surfing lesson from Steve on my first day and got addicted to the surf! Ray was brilliant and had loads of helpful info about the local area and NZ as a whole, and the rest of the guys helping were super friendly too. The beds were lovely and comfortable and the kitchens fully equipped. Not to mention the free wifi too! All in all I loved my time at Bazil's and would highly recommend putting it high in your list of places to stay in NZ. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alanmandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Great hostel. Handy location. Stayed 3 nights in double room which was very clean and comfortable. Facilities were more than adequate, although if a tour bus load of travellers was staying it could get a little busy. Place was spotless after cleaning crew did their stuff in the morning, even after a busy night. Ray and the rest of the staff were fantastic. Very helpful and accommodating, with plenty of fun activities (surf school, mountain biking, paddle boarding, etc.) and lots of good advice on things to do around the place. Westport is a little New Zealand gem and a great base to do lots of really cool stuff from. Would highly recommend Bazil's Hostel. Thanks to Ray and the team for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

i stayed in bazil´s hostel when heavy storm and strong wind hit the west coast and there was no power in the city. nevermind this - it was amazing. ray & co. tried to do the best for those staying in (even though some of them we´re complaining about lack of internet... seriously?). in some way i liked it even more without the power - people were actually talking to each other and not just staring at their computers/phones.

clean facilities, free wi-fi, really nice kitchen, comfortable beds...plus many travelling tips and stories and those paintings! i´ve stayed three nights there and i´ve met really nice people there. highly recommended!

ps: for everybody who is about to complain about how he/she couldn´t party in bazil´s - you and your friends are not the only people in the hostel. there are actually others who are tired after travelling/exploring the area whole day and they want to sleep. they don´t give a crap about your partylife or the fact that everybody is apparently expected to get smashed on saturday night. some, even young people are very "boring" and really don´t want to "stay up and socialise", but some of them do - that´s why there are places called pubs and clubs. try to remember that.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beata_hodasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

On the whole, this hostel was ok. Free WiFi, comfy beds, clean bathroom and kitchens etc. Stayed here one night whilst on the kiwi bus and it seemed a pretty cool, chilled out place until one of the guys who ran the hostel was so rude to us and then it just ruined the whole experience. Everyone had to be quiet after 9.30pm which is just ridiculous for Kiwi and Stray buses that pass through as all young people want to stay up and socialise. About 9.40pm he came round to the kitchen and was very rude and abrupt when telling us to turn off the music.
It was such a shame cos the hostel itself was good, just sad that a rude employee had to ruin it.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pete2591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazils, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We are sorry you didnt enjoy your time at Bazils Pete, but if you want to drink there are many pubs to visit ion Westport, We dont mind people drinking with dinner and having a few QUIETS, but there is a reason we shut you up when we do, so other people can enjoy a nice night @ Bazils, that is why we have No drinking games or silly things like that. If we were rude to you it was because you didnt listen after being told 4 times to be quiet. Sorry but we sell beds for people to sleep, not a place for people to party. Enjoy your trip and grow up soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
6.0 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.2 mi away
Havenlee Homestay
Havenlee Homestay
#3 of 17 in Westport
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: £33 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing