We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Brunswick, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved this hostel!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hostel is fantastic, one of the best I've stayed at in New Zealand. It's so homey and comfortable with all kinds of awesome little touches to make the stay enjoyable.

The kitchen area feels like a cozy dining room, and I really liked that they had a whole spice rack full of things to choose from and use. The rooms are basic but nice with comfy beds, and the showers were spacious. The best part of the hostel to me was the living room with a wall of VHS tapes and fireplace in the corner that warmed the whole room up. Unfortunately it was raining while I was there, but I noticed that there were hammocks outdoors and it looked like it would have been nice to hang out outside in nicer weather. Also, there is free wifi which is always a bonus.

I can't say enough good things about this hostel really, I wish more were like it!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    60
    27
    6
    7
See reviews for
11
53
105
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my fiancé one night after a great sunset in the beach with Jed!
The hostel is clean, warm, comfortable, the kitchen is very beautiful (like how we wanna have), free wi fi (something rare in New Zealand) and good localization.
We spend a long time in the reception talking about everything, so friendly and genial!!! Moreover, you can workout in the hostel if you want, is just ask how.
Thank you for everything.
Hug

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thanks for a really lovely time at Basil's! Not often do you get to meet the people running hostels, especially ones that are so friendly and helpful! Lovely clean hostel with super cute cats! Thankyou for a lovely time in Westport.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjeff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karlsruhe
1 review
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Was woofing here, this hostel and everything around is just legendary! If you stay here for a longer time, you definately will have a lot of fun!:) In the kitchen, you got a lot of herbs, for a very spicy and awesome food.Visit this place, and you will see!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crackhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed at Bazils twice now and the second time was even cooler. There was more funky murals on the walls, 2 cool baths out the back and while in the area we went and checked out some more of the mountain bike trails. I highly recommend staying here as it has to be the best place to stay in Westport!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at Bazils many times and there are several reasons why. Very tidy, charming, cosy atmosphere (always happy reggae tunes blasting out of the speakers). A lot of space and great facilities. Super friendly and helpful hosts. If you give some love back, you might be lucky and get the chance to jump on the boat to go catch some fish! The hostel also offers surf lessons. Definitely a must, you get to catch some waves at one of the finest beaches on the West Coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pons891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Overall, the hostel is pretty nice. Kitchen and lounge area is relatively nice... But the bed sheets were disgustingly dirty. Covered in suspicious looking stains and lots of other peoples hair! Not a very nice experience

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bazils, Owner at Bazil's Hostel & Surf School, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Hi, Here at Bazils we make the beds up with clean sheets everyday, all I can say to you is maybe you need glasses. Please feel free to stay elsewhere next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
2.1 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
71 reviews
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Property: Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing