We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great Hostel, great people, great town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I intended to stay at Bazil's Hostel just for one night.
In the end, I stayed for almost 4 months there, because Westport and Bazils are great.
My time at Bazils was one of the best time I had during my travels.

The Hostel itself is very clean and looks pretty cool and relaxed.
The cleaners clean the whole hostel every morning, every day. Even if some people leave a mess during the night, it looks very clean the next morning. (Because of the great cleaners :D )
The Hostel is well equipped with a big variety of room types, two large common kitchens a cozy lounge with a TV and fireplace, outside BBQ-Area, little gym and a relaxing garden with some hammocks.
Another cool thing are those awesome paintings which are spread all over the hostel.
Especially the big painting at the entrance is just mind blowing.

You will never get bored, cause there're so many things to do!
I highly recommend surfing at one of the beautiful beaches and SUP-Boarding on the river. Especially the SUP-Boards can be a lot of fun with a big group.
For those who want to do some sport, I recommend Bazils "Bootcamp" or the public gym!
The trampers and mountain bikers should check out the Charming Creek Walkway.
But that's just some examples, there are a lot more to do like kayaking and fishing.

The owners of the Hostel are quite funny and have a good sense of humor. They will do a lot for you to have a great time and as long as you follow the rules you will have lots of fun and a very good time. You won't leave.... ; )

Thank s Bazils for the great time!
I'm looking forward to come back :D

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank Philipp K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 392 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

This hostel is fantastic, one of the best I've stayed at in New Zealand. It's so homey and comfortable with all kinds of awesome little touches to make the stay enjoyable.

The kitchen area feels like a cozy dining room, and I really liked that they had a whole spice rack full of things to choose from and use. The rooms are basic but nice with comfy beds, and the showers were spacious. The best part of the hostel to me was the living room with a wall of VHS tapes and fireplace in the corner that warmed the whole room up. Unfortunately it was raining while I was there, but I noticed that there were hammocks outdoors and it looked like it would have been nice to hang out outside in nicer weather. Also, there is free wifi which is always a bonus.

I can't say enough good things about this hostel really, I wish more were like it!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed with my fiancé one night after a great sunset in the beach with Jed!
The hostel is clean, warm, comfortable, the kitchen is very beautiful (like how we wanna have), free wi fi (something rare in New Zealand) and good localization.
We spend a long time in the reception talking about everything, so friendly and genial!!! Moreover, you can workout in the hostel if you want, is just ask how.
Thank you for everything.
Hug

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Leo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Thanks for a really lovely time at Basil's! Not often do you get to meet the people running hostels, especially ones that are so friendly and helpful! Lovely clean hostel with super cute cats! Thankyou for a lovely time in Westport.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rjeff13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Was woofing here, this hostel and everything around is just legendary! If you stay here for a longer time, you definately will have a lot of fun!:) In the kitchen, you got a lot of herbs, for a very spicy and awesome food.Visit this place, and you will see!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crackhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have stayed at Bazils twice now and the second time was even cooler. There was more funky murals on the walls, 2 cool baths out the back and while in the area we went and checked out some more of the mountain bike trails. I highly recommend staying here as it has to be the best place to stay in Westport!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed at Bazils many times and there are several reasons why. Very tidy, charming, cosy atmosphere (always happy reggae tunes blasting out of the speakers). A lot of space and great facilities. Super friendly and helpful hosts. If you give some love back, you might be lucky and get the chance to jump on the boat to go catch some fish! The hostel also offers surf lessons. Definitely a must, you get to catch some waves at one of the finest beaches on the West Coast.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pons891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
6.0 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
2.3 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
0.6 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bazil's Hostel & Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bazil's Hostel & Surf School

Address: 54 / 56 Russell St, Westport, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: £17 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bazil's Hostel & Surf School 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Bazils on West Coast of the South Island. West Coast NZ - Top 10 Regions in the world to visit for 2014 as rated by Lonely Planet Stay awhile and find out why. We offer a variety of facilities & accommodation to suit everyone. Standard dorm rooms, fully self-contained rooms, twins, doubles & family rooms, powered sites, tent sites. Shared facilities; bathrooms, 2 TV rooms, 2 lounges with lots of Movies, Herb garden, Hammocks, Free sports equipment, bikes, Surfboards for hire, FREE Wifi, Laundry, large outdoor covered BBQ area which is also suitable to store motorbikes and bicycles and lots of quiet garden areas to sit and relax with a nice book. Come take a look - you'll love it. Come try our NEW BUSH BATH, complete with bubbles for winter. :-) STAY, PLAY & SURF WITH US: Stay with us for 5 nights & Receive a FREE SURF LESSON with Board silly at Bazils Hostel Surfing NZ Accredited Surf School, board & wetsuit included. Discounted board & wet suit hire any day you want to practice, Free transport to the beaches. We also have some great Mountain bikes and can arrange drop off & pick up to some great Mountain bike tracks. FREE WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bazil's Hostel & Surf School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing