We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Westport Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
McManus Hotel(Westport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westport Motels(Westport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buller Bridge Motel(Westport)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
21
22
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
22
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini golfoutdoor eating areacommunal facilitiescamper vanone nightdefinitely stay here againhot waterrecommend staying herekitchen areaself containedroad tripbedroom unitclose to towntwo nightsmargarettentcampervan
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2013

As we arrived on a very cold and rainy winters day in September 2013 the whole park seemed very sleepy and abandoned. Amenities are updated some time ago, but still a bit worn down. Everywhere in the park it was VERY wet, due to heavy rain, so I guess this was inevitable, but I hope they plan to update the draining of the area at some point. The central heating system of the park is apparently run by a coal heated boiler. The stink was awful. TV & Internet room also smelled rather bad, and we did not let our son sit there to watch some tv. Childrens playground was flooded and also worn down. 3 stars for the potential to be a good spot, yet during these wet and cold winter months they should either close down or reduce prices significantly!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Anders J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for your comments.
Yes it sure did rain while you were here and over 3 days we received 220 mils of rain
-so yes there was surface water all over the whole township.
In this situation the storm-water system in Westport does not cope very well and is outside
of our control.
All of our powered sites are level and are hard based surfaces.
Our playground is a large area and has sand under the bark-chip but constant rain makes everything damp.
Since your visit we have made extensive upgrades and changes and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

This park is certainly a bush retreat although you are only 5 blocks from the town. We had a 2 bed motel unit. Lots of space BUT a very small cramped kitchen area. Putting that aside spacious unit and well located in a quiet street. Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you all again. In our office we have plenty of local brochures and knowledge for you to experience our district.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Fit for purpose for one night. We walked to the town which took about 15 minutes. We had a nice site, the site wasn't busy but everyone was very pleasant. We read the negative reviews and were concerned but we had a very good experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenkyLangy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Hi i wish to advise you that if you do not mind sleeping in a double bed with a bunk above it, then you will not mind this accomodation...but remember to take your own water. I would have liked to have been asked on booking "did i mind such sleepoing arrangements".. as i would have booked elsewhere or they could have removed the top bunk. This was not sugested and i did not want to make a fuss... but it was very dissapointing..and you can not sit up in bed and have a cuppa tea...A it is not possible to sit up comfortably with a bunk right in your face. and B the water is shocking. It would have been nice to have been advised to bring some drinking water, or even if they had a 2 litre bottle ot bottled water in the fridge. Otherwise Accommodation was clean and tidy, and owners friendly. I have contacted the owners concerning this. cheers Karen

Room Tip: Ask to see the accomodation before paying/ staying. I normally do this but as i had trusted the internet photos. Photos on the internet are not correct. Double bed in photo for ensuite does not show a bunk above it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Sadly we were advised a number of weeks after these people stayed that they had not enjoyed there room.
Normally we encourage our customers to come and talk to use if they have any concerns or would like any information on the area.
After reading this review, I made immediate direct contact with our customer.
We do hope to see them again and always encourage our customers to look at all of the rooms as we do have a variety of family units and rooms for all ages and yes some family rooms do have bunk beds.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Within walking distance of the town. A messy campsite. Stayed just one night with a campervan on a powered site. No allocated space so drove around the site twice looking for somewhere decent to stop. Mainly residential caravans on the site and most of them were old and an eyesore, being in a dilapidated state. Not good to have to view from your window. Eventually chose a space quite a distance from the facilities and the site was very poorly lit at night necessitating a trek in the pitch dark. Large but old and not very well equipped washrooms and not heated. Quite cold December night, so uncomfortable. Avoided the kitchen as it did not look too appealing. The cabins looked dingy and not very well maintained . Staff not over-friendly. Would not visit again. Recommend to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wanderluster101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret M, Owner at Westport Holiday Park & Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2013

Sorry to see these people didn't enjoy there stay - but were unable to come to the office and discuss this with the owners.
We allow all of our guests to choose their own site when staying with camper-vans or caravans.
In December the one of the last of our semi-permanents with an older vehicle departed.
Having 65 powered sites and New Zealand having a large number of traveling vehicles means there will always be many different types of vehicles staying at any one time.
This holiday park has been in Westport for over 40 years and maintenance is a very high priority.
We always welcome all nationality's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews