We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed 30 November 2007

We stayed here only a few days ago and would happily visit this clean comfortable motel again. Although there is not alot going on in Westport the motel was a pleasant place to spend a night enroute to Christchurch. The owners were very helpful and obliging offering us a selection of rooms to inspected before making our choice and then suggested a number of restaurents where we might like to eat.

Stayed: November 2007
5  Thank Globetrotter14202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2007

Westport is a small town and most of the motels are based on the one main road which takes you into westport and to be honest there isn't much choice available.
The room was ok - clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sun247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2006

Friendly owners, very spacious clean rooms. We also ate at Currtino's and had an excellent meal, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bermudaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Minneapolis, Minnesota
11
Reviewed 27 December 2005

Immaculately clean, very helpful staff. Definitely would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2005

Very good place to stay. Clean and tidy. Room large and well equipped. It seemed to be equipped as a disabled room although neither my husband or myself are, so it was very large with a large bathroom. Nice touches in the room, table to eat at , radio as well as good television with Sky, good kitchen area with all mod cons, laundry room, balcony which overlooks the side road but well fenced. Good parking facilities. As our car was absolutely filthy dirty after the gravel tracks to Franz Joseph Glacier we borrowed a hose pipe and brush to clean the car off, that was also a nice touch on behalf of the owners.

Westport is a quiet, old fashioned sort of place with not much to choose from for a good evening meal, but the owners suggested a little place just opposite the hotel called Currtino's, a strange looking, bright yellow house. The food was superb however and cooked from fresh with lots of vegan/vegetarian choices, an absolute delight to me after many boring meals. The omni choice was just as good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Labyrinths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2004

Westport is a rather unpretentious beach town and none of its many motels were anything extraordinary. However, one of the better ones is the Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge. It is clean and well-equipped, located on the main highway into town and the price is right ($90 New Zealand dollars). In our case, Westport was just an overnight stop in transit from Abel Tasman National Park to Paparoa National Park. However, while in Westport we did enjoy a visit to nearby Cape Foulwind to view the resident seals.

3  Thank carolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HanspeterCH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.0 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 330 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £76 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation for business and leisure travellers. Whatever the purpose of your visit, we would love to be your hosts and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Let us share our local knowledge and help to make your visit to Westport one to remember. ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge is a large and spacious complex of 20 units, with ample off-street parking.We offer a range of units to suit all requirements. Our units are clean, warm, comfortable, well-appointed and tastefully decorated. They range in size from studios (for 1 - 3 guests) to 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with 2 bathrooms (for up to 6 guests). Some units have spa baths for your complete relaxation after a day of travelling, exploring, sight-seeing or work. All units have cooking facilities, hairdryers, electric blankets, an iron and ironing board, and are fully serviced daily.Secure wireless internet is available with an initial access code supplied free of charge. We offer a selection of 50+ Freeview and Sky TV channels. There is a children’s play area with swings for the little ones and a trampoline. Guest laundry facilities are available.The property is located close to the town centre and within easy walking distance of restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing