We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better ones.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed there for two nights in a two bedroom unit. Perfect in all areas - very clean, comfortable, spacious, kitchen with everything needed - coffee, tea, biscuits, towels, shampoo etc topped up daily. Very friendly and helpful staff. Highly recommend this motel to other travelers.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2013

the service is friendly, the rooms have space comfortable beds, showers a little small, but rooms are warm. Tv 's a little dated but picture is fine.50 plus sky one of the better ones in Westport.
plenty of parking. good enough that i going to continue to stay there

Room Tip: get back rooms away from main road
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comm-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It is always gratifying to know that our guests have found our rooms comfortable. We work very hard at presenting them to the highest possible standard all of the time . We are happy that you will be back and look forward to being able to host you again when you revisit Westport. (Although the TV's are not actually very old, we have been upgrading them as we are able to).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

One of the cleanest motels I have ever stayed in. Decor was good relatively new, with flat screen TV and sky. Amenties for tea and coffee were good included bikkeys as well, and very modern small appliances that you could use for breakfast.
Very friendly staff definitely recommend a great experience

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 255115julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We set high standards for ourselves and our staff. It is nice for us to know that things like cleanliness and attention to detail are noticed and we also like to be able to pass on positive feedback to staff. Hopefully you will revisit Westport sometime and we will have the opportunity to host you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Needed somewhere to stay, pulled in , very friendly welcome, nice clean comfortable room.Laundry facility excellent, WiFi reception good, nice places to eat just down the road. Highly recommend as place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank matron63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChelseaGateway, Owner at ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our facilities to be good. We strive hard to maintain our high standards and pay attention to detail at all times. It was a pleasure to be your hosts and we hope that maybe you will be able to make a return visit some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in February 2012.
Quite a number of motels in Westport. Booked online and received a prompt reply.
A number of units available here perhaps not laid out in the most attractive manner. But everyting externally looked clean, fresh and encouraging. The studio unit booked was placed at first floor level and had a small balcony - great for breakfast or an early evening glass of wine. The unit was large - with a good bed, table and chairs, comfy armchair, and plenty of storage space. The kitchenette was good, well stocked and well lay-out. The bathroom was functional, did everything required, but looked a bit old fashioned. Wifi reception was good, provided at a reasonable price.
The owners were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidofDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Unpleasant welcome and just as bad send off.Mr Grumpy who checked us in lacked people skills.Made no effort to converse other than cursing the computer because it wasn't doing what he wanted it to do.When checking out once again no conversation other than telling me where to sign the payment.The west coast is renowned for it's friendliness,but we certainly didn't find it at this motel.
Other than that we had a great weekend in Westport being involved in the marathon where we met some really nice locals.
Certainly wouldn't recommend this place to our friends or family.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 44NZTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

We agree that the annual Marathon in Westport is a great event. It is our busiest weekend of the year and because of this we don't have as much time to converse with our guests as we normally would. The majority of our Marathon weekend guests are repeat guests who re-book from year to year and enjoy coming back. We regret that this guest felt our service fell short of our usual high standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Due to local flooding we stopped "on spec" and were grateful for a last minute cancellation to find space at Chelsea Gateway. The room was clean and very adequately equipped. The management were helpful and referred us to an excellent restaurant. Location: It is on the main drag so local port traffic and the proximity of the police station meant that sleep was occasionally disrupted.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 July 2012

We are pleased that we were able to provide accommodation for this group, and that they found the unit, our service and the restaurant we recommended to their liking. We would like to correct a couple of points in relation to our location, which the guests appear to have been misinformed about. The port of Westport is not a large operation and generates only a small amount of traffic which uses a back street, not the main route past our property. Also, the police station is not located close to our property. As in any community, emergency services can be called out at any time and sirens may be heard, sometimes at night. Being a small town, this is thankfully not a frequent occurrence here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
130 reviews
0.0 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.1 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge

Address: 330 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £70 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge offers quality accommodation for business and leisure travellers. Whatever the purpose of your visit, we would love to be your hosts and our aim is to make your stay as enjoyable and comfortable as possible. Let us share our local knowledge and help to make your visit to Westport one to remember. ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge is a large and spacious complex of 20 units, with ample off-street parking.We offer a range of units to suit all requirements. Our units are clean, warm, comfortable, well-appointed and tastefully decorated. They range in size from studios (for 1 - 3 guests) to 2 and 3 bedroom apartments with 2 bathrooms (for up to 6 guests). Some units have spa baths for your complete relaxation after a day of travelling, exploring, sight-seeing or work. All units have cooking facilities, hairdryers, electric blankets, an iron and ironing board, and are fully serviced daily.Secure wireless internet is available with an initial access code supplied free of charge. We offer a selection of 50+ Freeview and Sky TV channels. There is a children’s play area with swings for the little ones and a trampoline. Guest laundry facilities are available.The property is located close to the town centre and within easy walking distance of restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea Gateway Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing