We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & cheap, very good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed there in December 2012. It's a simple but clean and very nice backpacker hotel in a very nice colonial house. The location is very good in the city center close to restaurants & amenities. Very good value !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2013

I spent few days there, TripInn is a very nice hostels with very nice hosts. The facilities are excellents, very clean. You feel quickly homy, the atmosphere is very friendly. You feel more like you're staying in a hostel rather than being in a backpackers. Was summer, and it's awesome to enjoy a drink on the deck overlooking the great greeny garden. I highly recommand it.

Room Tip: Wathever the room, it seems to be all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I have just spend a few days in TripInn Hostel and I enjoyed it very much.

The Hostel itself looks great: old and charming.

You have there for sure a comfortable bed, a warm shower with good pressure, a proper light by your bed to read, a clean kitchen, a fire place in a big but cozy living room, and really friendly hosts!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Hi there,

I arrived at the hostel with a friend during are travells with the very commercialized KIWI experience and we were both very glad not to have chosen the other hostel were KIWI ex. would have booked us in!
The hostel is a beautiful white villa/house which looked amazing even though it was poring with rain when w arrived. A beatiful garden surrounds the house.
Our hosts were also amazing and really made the place special! It felt like comng home when we entered the hostel and were greated and had a chat. The showers were a nice big size, the rooms were fine our host even put the heater on for us so it was cosy. The living room had a fire going and the tv was on surrounded by couches making it very homy.
We also had free wifi and could ask our hosts for some advice on NZ.
The place is located very central, but still very quite - just rund the corner of the main shopping street.

I certainly recommend to stay there as its just what you need after a lt of travelling!

I would certainly recomm

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanietravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The house is lovely, situated in a quiet residential street but close to the town. It is clean, warm, well maintained and the garden is lovely, someone loves and cherishes this place.

The beds were comfortable but the room was hot and stuffy at night and we couldn't shower when we woke up at 6 because shower use is forbidden until 7, so we left un-showered because the showers were occupied by the time we had breakfast.

I see someone in room tips has said not to have a room by the bathroom so there is clearly a disturbance issue here but there are better (but probably more expensive or maybe creative) ways of fixing it than restrictive laminated notices.

Also the language of the kitchen notice could have the same, possibly much better effect if phrased more humanely. It would probably be less offensive to the majority of people who wouldn't dream of leaving the place in a mess.

I hope this feedback is taken in the constructive way that i intend it.

Jane McLeod

Room Tip: The external units/bunk rooms are probably the best rooms, but we didn't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
journeyman02, Owner at TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2012

Thank you for your nice comments about the character filled warm well kept hostel, it does take a lot of up keep and is nice when some one acknowledges it. As you will have noticed we are in a 150 year old historical building that has been converted to a backpackers which means every room isnt situated perfectly as is the reason why we have one double room backing onto a bathroom, this is the reason for the sign asking people not to use that particular shower before 7 am, every other shower can be used at any time of the day or night, and we dont have a shortage. You have brought to our attention that people reading the sign on this 1 shower may think it applies to all showers so I will change the wording, thank you for that. As with the notice in the kitchen, it is there for one reason only and the reason is that it works. We tried taking it down for a few weeks a year ago and our guests were faced with a kitchen full of dirty dishes every day, so while a 1 or 2 take offense to the sign we think in the long run they would rather have a clean bench to work on with out having to work around other peoples dirty dishes, and as you may have seen if you read others comments, we get many peole thanking us for the sign in the kitchen and saying they wish more hostels would do the same as they very much enjoy having the clean kitchen to work in. I know what I would prefer if I was to stay in a back packers and had to face getting my breakfast around everyones dirty dinner dishes left from the night before or a lovely clean kitchen with a strict notice being the reason it is kept that way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

我很喜歡這裡喔
來westport玩的朋友
這裡是個不錯的選擇
古典挑高的老房子
安靜
乾淨
悠閒的氣氛適合放鬆度假喔
如果是冬天要來這邊工廠工作打工度假的話
還有長期住宿的優待
另外這邊也有提供換宿喔
i spent three month here!
real home!
clean kitchen
large living and dining room
a quiet airy and spacious video room (i do my yoga there)

choice!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dogfacedown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is a very functional hostel. The owner was lovely in giving us a HI discount even though we didn't have our card on us. The living room has a sofa and 4 chairs plus a TV and a very, very warm fire. There are numerous dining tables and 2 computers. The kitchen is well equipped. The threat of video cameras watching your every move and eviction if you don't clean up after yourself means it was pretty tidy! More hostels should do this!!!!

Our room was a double with shared bathroom. The room was an OK size with a small wardrobe. Sadly we could hear the couple next door talking at normal level. We were also next to the bathroom. There were signs up saying no showers after 10pm or before 7am and someone ignored it and got a shower at 6.30am.

We had considered Basil Hostel until we drove past and saw a Kiwi Experience bus outside and decided against it. We met friends who'd looked at it earlier and they said Tripinn was better.

For 1 night it was OK for us.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debstheleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
6.1 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bella Vista Motel
Bella Vista Motel
#6 of 12 in Westport
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Address: 72 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: £17 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing