We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Good Value YHA Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed for one night in April in a double room - not ensuite. the room was as you would expect ,basic, but was clean and comfortable. The Lounge area was very comfortable and cozy, with large sofas in front of a wood burning stove - just the job with the weather turning into autumn. The cooking area was clean and well equipped. Car parking was easy and it's a short walk to the cafes and shops.

The hostel is situated in an old colonial style building which is full of atmosphere in the 2 lounge areas - the bedrooms/bathrooms (which were clean) are located in more modern extensions.

Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
There are newer reviews for TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed 2 nights in February 2012 and what a wonderful Hostel. I found the owners very friendly and helpful. The Hostel is very clean and tidy with nice facilities. I found the Kitchen worked well and for eating you had the choice of inside seating or enjoying the outside deck which was great for socialising. It is very central to town but is peaceful and quiet with a pretty garden and a lovely spot to meet fellow travellers. It felt like a home away from home. The Hostel being a 150 year old Colonial home has a lot of character. If you are in Westport come and enjoy it.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank Brendon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hostel is wonderful and charming. The owners are very helpful, the layout of the place works really well, everything was clean and the location is great. They even offer spots out back for camping if you have a tent. I suggest you stay here if you visit Westport! Top notch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We were looking for a nice hostel and got one. A great building, dating back to the 19th century. Very well restored and enhanced. It is in a quiet street, nice garden and its own parking lot. Clean. Good kitchen area. Loved it. Value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan_Lelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed there in December 2012. It's a simple but clean and very nice backpacker hotel in a very nice colonial house. The location is very good in the city center close to restaurants & amenities. Very good value !

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I spent few days there, TripInn is a very nice hostels with very nice hosts. The facilities are excellents, very clean. You feel quickly homy, the atmosphere is very friendly. You feel more like you're staying in a hostel rather than being in a backpackers. Was summer, and it's awesome to enjoy a drink on the deck overlooking the great greeny garden. I highly recommand it.

Room Tip: Wathever the room, it seems to be all good!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

I have just spend a few days in TripInn Hostel and I enjoyed it very much.

The Hostel itself looks great: old and charming.

You have there for sure a comfortable bed, a warm shower with good pressure, a proper light by your bed to read, a clean kitchen, a fire place in a big but cozy living room, and really friendly hosts!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marion L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.3 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
6.1 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
73 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.5 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Address: 72 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: £31 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing