We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's an amazing and lovely Place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, New Zealand
1 review
“It's an amazing and lovely Place to stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The TripInn Hostel is very nice, the kitchen is well appointed, the rooms are spacious and their are many other things like a nice and big garden around the house, a TV- room, a Play- room with pool, dart and table tennis. The service is really friendly and kind.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VerenaRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    42
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
46
35
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hostels I've seen in New Zealand so far. I was working there for accommodation for one week. The owners Jack & Donna are very kind people and I loved to stay there. The house is a really beautiful old villa. I felt at home since the first minute I arrived here. The facilities and rooms are very clean and tidy. The garden is also a good place to relax. I can definitely recommend this hostel!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TobiasL89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

We spent two nights here in October 2013 in a twin room which was warm and clean. Great outdoor area and brilliant movie room. The house has a lot of character and a fireplace which was kept going all day. Walking distance into town and around the corner to the Denniston Dog which I recommend. Great value for money. Kitchen had all it needed and also has an outdoor clothes line and a dryer. Bathrooms were clean and the showers had plenty of hot water. The owners were friendly and so were their cats and Poppy the dog.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LadyBrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

This is based on a one night stay.
The welcome was very hostile and cold. It was a rainy day in early spring. Hostel was full but not a single person seemed to be a backpacker: there was a family of 4 (a younger and an older couple) with a small child, some group of over 50years old. We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom. Bathroom was shared and unisex which I found odd after staying in so many hostels in NZ. The film room was the only thing that can be worth to mention.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meImyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice historical building, and everything is clean. The owner, Jack, was very nice when we checked in, and even upgraded us to a private room as it was all males in the dorms. We don't have a problem sharing with males, but it was a nice gesture!

I’m giving it three stars because the check out time is very strict. Both to be out of the room and out of the premises. We moved our stuff out of the room but thought we could hang around to solidify our travel plans (we were booking plane tickets, and the Jetstar website was giving us problems which was frustrating enough) and make some breakfast. It was bizarre to feel so unwelcome all of the sudden, with Jack telling me I was "pushing my luck" when he saw me in the kitchen. Yikes. I threw away what I was making. Rules are rules, fair enough, I guess. I wouldn't tell people not to stay here, just make sure you hit the road by 10 a.m. on the dot.

What otherwise would've been a lovely stay, and would've led to many positive recommendations, ended in a sour note. What a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms across from the bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciaelenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Victorian mansion more like a B&B than a hostel. The owners live on the second floor and are all hand-on. Spotlessly clean and comfortable rooms and facilities.The town of Westport is a typical western NZ town with a long main street with lots of inexpensive restaurants, cafes and stores serving the local population and not just tourists. This hostel is perfect for couples or older travellers who are not interested in the noise and socializing of the younger hostel crowd. We enjoyed our stay at the facility and in the town tremendously and cannot say more about the hostel except Splendid.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed for one night in April in a double room - not ensuite. the room was as you would expect ,basic, but was clean and comfortable. The Lounge area was very comfortable and cozy, with large sofas in front of a wood burning stove - just the job with the weather turning into autumn. The cooking area was clean and well equipped. Car parking was easy and it's a short walk to the cafes and shops.

The hostel is situated in an old colonial style building which is full of atmosphere in the 2 lounge areas - the bedrooms/bathrooms (which were clean) are located in more modern extensions.

Recommended

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeCBansteadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
0.4 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.4 mi away
Carters Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Property: TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Address: 72 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing