We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quiet hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed overnight at this place on the way to Franz Joseph. The place was quite old but clean. The owner was friendly. We didn't book but they have plenty space in the hostel. The room that we stayed in has that old musty smell but you get used to it once you inside. Stayed in 6 bed dorm. The kitchen was clean and has enough stove/pans etc. Free carpark beside the hostel. There is new world supermarket nearby. There aren't that many restaurant/takeaway place nearby. The town itself is pretty quiet as well. 1 night stay is enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted_is_Wong_Jowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

Owner is very attentive. He even helped us to bring up our heavy lugages. Traveling with 2 friends and we booked the triple with ensuite bathroom. Reading room is very cozy wood fireplace warming up the area, just nice to welcome us in the cold autumn weather. Kitchen and dining area are huge, all equipment to cook is provided. There's also seating area in the garden, making this accommodation so much of home away from home feeling. All area is clean and well maintained. The grocery store, subway & dining options are only 7 minute walking distance. Really recommend this place for those traveling with budget.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I got a oom to myself with two beds for $60. The room had plenty of drawers and a wardrobe. The whole place has a warm and homey overall feel to it.Good well equipped kitchen and nice dining sitting area which was well warmed up by a coal stove.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank einbks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed in this hostel for a few night and I could really recommend it: Everything is clean, the spaces are really nice, there are free herbs from the garden to add to your cook, a billiard and a tennis table, a lot of DVD choice and even a piano! Moreover, the staff is really welcoming and helpfull.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronikaChironi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I only stayed one night, but the impression I got of the hostel was a thoroughly positive one. The TripInn is actually a huge old and very charming wooden house with high stucco ceilings, a fireplace, a separate lounge and TV area and a good and very well-equipped kitchen. The common areas all have lots of comfortable seats and the big windows and decorated ceilings and chandeliers of the old house give the building character and atmosphere.

The rooms were clean, and the beds were very comfortable with proper thick, soft mattresses and not the thin matrasses found at most other hostels. What struck me the most, however, was the beautiful and well-kept garden both out front and in the back, with lots of outside seating and tables, a few hammocks and lots of free fresh herbs from the garden that could be used for cooking.

The hosts were very friendly and helpful, and the check-in was over in record time. They have a handful of very cute pet dogs and cats that roam the hostel.

The bathroom had a bit of a strange smell, though I can't tell if that was just the way the bathroom smelled or it was because someone who had used it lacked basic personal hygiene.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights. The house and property are really nice and comfortable, but I thought the 6-bed dorms (in a separate building) had too many beds for the size of the room. We only had 5 people in the room and it felt really crowded. I did like that most of the beds weren't bunks, but I think bunks would have been better use of space. I found it was quite cold at night with a window open, which we needed with so many bodies in the room. There was only 1 bathroom for the 5 or 6 dorm rooms, but I never had to wait. Nice kitchen, herb garden, porch, and lounges. Nice owners, but they're not often at the desk (responsive to the bell, though). Limited but decent wifi and you can hang out at the hostel if you have a later bus, which was very kind. OK for a short stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was the place that stuck in my memory after my 2 week trip to NZ. It's a great big rambling old wooden house, with great living areas, a huge lounge with sofas and TV, another big lounge/dining room with a big coal fire and plenty of table & chairs to sit at, and a great big kitchen with lots of cookers and fridge space.

The bedroom itself was a little small and basic, but it was perfectly adequate. The beds were comfy and the linen clean. We only stayed a couple of nights and it was fine for our purposes.

There's also a huge garden, with several decking areas, plenty of washing lines and a BBQ area (the weather wasn't good enough for us to try this out unfortunately).

The owners were extremely friendly, and happy to discuss our vague plans to help us decide where best to go. We went up to Denniston to see the Incline (after reading The Denniston Rose) and it was amazing. Very atmospheric. We also had a few drinks at the Denniston Dog at the suggestion of the owners and found this pub every bit as friendly and welcoming as they had recommended it. The hostel also has the cutest dog in the world! So despite Westport itself not being the most dramatic or picturesque place in the world, this hostel made our trip there very pleasant. If I ever found myself back there I would definitely book again.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Away from the toilets, because the doors keep slamming shut!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Detailer418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.2 mi away
Bazil's Hostel & Surf School
0.4 mi away
Wayne's World Westport
Wayne's World Westport
#5 of 11 in Westport
20 reviews
0.5 mi away
Westport Motels
Westport Motels
#8 of 12 in Westport
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
355 reviews
6.1 mi away
Omau Settlers Lodge
Omau Settlers Lodge
#1 of 12 in Westport
209 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport

Address: 72 Queen Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Westport
Price Range: £33 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Backpackers accommodation, Located in Westport on the wild west coast ,We cater for all travellers. Base yourself in our beautiful 150 year old colonial hostel and explore Karamea and the limestone arches, Heaphy track, or take a ride into history with the Denniston under ground coalmine tour,the old ghost road, or a 4 wheel drive with out west tours to the modern open pit mine on the Stockton Plateau with its stunning views of the northern Buller. To the south, Punakaiki and the pancake rocks or the historical gold fields of Charleston, home of underworld rafting, all a short drive away. Buller adventure tours with jet boating and horse riding, seal colony and surfing at Tauranga bay all a short ride away on our free bicycles. Book your next hostel with our free wifi. Games room and covered BBQ, free movies, tea and coffee, for those that just want to relax in our beautiful garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your TripInn Hostel, YHA Westport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing