We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice comfortable place to stay”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is the second time we stayed here. Last time we stayed tonights but only could get a very small room but it was great the owners were great with asking if we wanted our motor bikes locked up in shed & they were booked out with a very busy weekend & still very helpful this weekend I turn up at 10.30 in the morning with mountain bikes & I was able to lock them away & then was able to use my king room at 12.00 was very in pressed with service & room is great corner one upstairs total on its owe . Great bed so this is where we stay for our weekend trips

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2011

We stayed at the Bella Vista Motel in Westport early in October 2011 during the World Rugby Cup. We decided to tour the South Island and found ourselves in Westport on the northwest coast. The population is around 4000 and stores on the main street close around 5pm during the week.

The Motel is located on the Palmerston St (the main street) just as you come into the main area of town. You are within walking distance to all restaurants and shops and there is surface parking beside your unit at the motel.

We had a family unit which had a separate bedroom with a single bed and also bunk beds. There was a king size bed in the main area with a kitchen & eating area (chairs).
The bathroom was large and clean and there is a flat screen TV in the main area.

We asked for WIFI and were told it is provided free for 1 hour.
We did use it and were able to send some large PDF files OK.

I did read some other reviews however the unit we had was clean and had no smells.
We had no problem just walking down Palmerston Street to find a place to eat.

All in all, it is not luxury but was comfortable accommodation and reasonable (approx $149 NZ). I have posted some pics since there were not many to view.

CanadianHolidayGuy

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianHolidayGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2011

We appreciate your comments on your stay with us at Bella Vista Westport and hope you enjoyed the remainder of your travels. We thank you for adding extra photos
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

had family unit and it was very dark. the room had twin beds in the lounge/kitchen area and a single and bunk in room. rooms clean but the kitchen had sign to say that you would have to pay if there were any cooking odours (what cooking doesnt leave odours). with the small windows and poor ventilation decided not to take the chance and ate out instead.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fishtank5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Bella Vista Motel. Apologies for the dim light, after you checked out we found some light bulbs had blown. If we had realised they were blown we would have replaced them for you. We are sorry you found our cooking signage offensive. We are happy for people to cook in our units. We appreciate that guests read the signs and think about what they are cooking.
We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your journey around New Zealand. We were hoping your team would win their quarter-finals!
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Bella Vista Westport is a more than adequate little motel. We booked a studio room that morning and upon arrival were greeted by Marilyn very warmly. Trevor then showed us across to the room and recommended a couple of places to eat. They were both friendly and professional.

The motel is located at the end if the 'strip' and so is a bit of a walk to the restaurants. It is no more than ten minutes though and is flat and straight. Parking on site is more than adequate and well lit when we arrived early evening.

Our room was warm and clean. It had all the usual things you'd expect... The bathroom was well presented with an excellent heat lamp system that really warms it up. The extractor fan was reasonably efficient as was the heated towel radiator, all things that helped make a chilly Winter's evening and morning far easier to handle. The only negative element to the whole experience was the hairdryer! My wife said it was a little weak...

I would happily recommend this motel to friends and would consider visiting again if back in Westport, but if cold, might choose one of the motels slightly further up the high street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Briwi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Would never consider staying here again. The room we were in was moldy in the washroom. There was no ventilation in the room or washroom so it got very muggy in the room after showering and the bathroom was dripping dew all over because of no fan. The room had a terrible smell.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

I stayed here recently on business . This is a modern well appointed motel and is very clean . I left a folder at the Motel and the owners kindly sent it through to Auckland for me . I found it easy to book the room I required and the owners were easy to deal with
I would stay here again if in Westport

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifreespirits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Firstly I'd like to say that when you email this particular Bella Vista, you simply don't get a reply. Secondly when you book it, it comes through as a 'request only' and after that you receive no reply from them. Thirdly you pester them and pester them for a confirmation and finally you get one. I don't think I'll bother staying there again, as its a fairly ordinary place and they don't seem to know how to run a hotel. Its just that its the newest hotel in Westport that I stayed there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamandtony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Westport.
We are sorry you feel this way. Our policy is to respond to all emails, enquiries as soon as they appear. We have not had these issues before and would appreciate receiving any information that might help us look into the matter.
We invite you to visit again if ever in Westport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £65 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing