We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and tidy, although rooms are a little small” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and tidy, although rooms are a little small”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed for a few nights in the Bella Vista, in the main street of Westport, on a business trip.

The street itself was relatively quiet, although some of the guests in neighbouring rooms on a couple of nights on my stay weren't quite so quiet. And unfortunately the wind was blowing just so one night, causing my neighbouring guest's cigarette smoke to blow straight in my room's window. Even after closing the window (and losing the nice breeze), the smoke still found its way under the front door. I think I was just unlucky, really, and it was only a single evening's inconvenience.

The rooms are modern and well maintained, and cleaned well and regularly. They are a little smaller than some of the alternatives in the town, and there's only a limited selection of TV channels compared to some of the competitors, if you're wanting to watch TV. (I wasn't, so it didn't matter too much to me.)

Internet access is great value for a longer stay and I had no issues with it at all. International VPN access to my office over the motel's WiFi network worked without a hitch.

The toiletries are top notch -- manuka honey soap and even a small bottle of moisturiser -- and the tea and coffee selection is better than that provided by some competitors in town. You even receive a couple of daily cookies, which seems to be a bit of a rarity in motels in this part of the world.

The self-catering was relatively basic, with a microwave, mobile hotplates, kettle, toaster, etc, and a bar fridge. Not great if you want to cook in an oven or want icecream to stay frozen, but pretty standard for most self-catering motels in which I've stayed. The guest laundry only has one washer and one dryer, and is typically pricey -- no worse than others, but no better either. It all seemed to work fine, however.

I felt a little crowded in the room, which could have done with a bit more square footage. The bed was comfortable, although I had some trouble sleeping at nights due to the many lights left on outside. I've noticed that this happens in some other motels in Westport, too. I suppose there's a tradeoff to be made between giving enough light for guests to move around outside during the night, but retaining enough darkness to make it easy to sleep inside. I would suggest toning the lights down a little, or fitting larger and thicker window coverings. But again, only a minor complaint.

The owner was friendly and pleasant, and I saw her trying to help some other guests out a couple of times during my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.
We do have larger units with cooking options and even some with ovens.
We too will have 50+ television channels after being rewired next month.
Regarding the lighting it is necessary to leave the lights on for guests safety also for security.
We appreciate the points you have raised - we have to hope other guests are considerate to the person in the next unit.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    43
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
52
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ranfurly, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Our unit was upstairs and although on the main street we had no traffic noise. The power shower really was !! The beds comfortable the kitchen well equipped with a fast toaster!! A first was in the bathroom a black face cloth marked 'make up' so obvious !!
Very clean unit with helpful operators

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Manager at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Hi, We appreciate your comments and pleased you enjoyed your Bella Vista experience. Look forward to having you stay again sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scheemda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
159 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We thougt this accommodation was just rebuilded, everything looked brand new. We gave the owner a compliment for the cleannes and she told us they rebuilded 12 years ago.
Good laundry, good television en perfect beds. Two supermarkets located at about 400 m.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaapScheemda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 9 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope you come and stay with us again.

Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Stayed here 1 night whilst travelling. Very clean, comfortable and compact room. Sufficient for 1 night stay. Good bed/bedding. Quiet location with units away from the road. Bathroom had nice toiletries provided.
Would suggest a larger room type if staying more than a night.
Close to shops, supermarket, fast food outlets.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for your comments.We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travelling.
Kind regards Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oroua Downs, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

Rooms beautifully presented. Outstanding service, ready to accommodate. The superior studio unit is very large and a lovely room.

Room Tip: Superior Studio Unit (rooms #14) - large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMB27958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards Marilyn & Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Only stayed here one night on the way to the North. The room smelt a little damp but heated up well once the heater was on for a while. The spa is just a bath with jets but was still nice. Okay room but nothing special. It located close to a very nice restaurant called The yellow house though.

Room Tip: Select a room upstairs to get more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leelou28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This is the second time we stayed here. Last time we stayed tonights but only could get a very small room but it was great the owners were great with asking if we wanted our motor bikes locked up in shed & they were booked out with a very busy weekend & still very helpful this weekend I turn up at 10.30 in the morning with mountain bikes & I was able to lock them away & then was able to use my king room at 12.00 was very in pressed with service & room is great corner one upstairs total on its owe . Great bed so this is where we stay for our weekend trips

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toniioverend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#9 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#10 of 12 in Westport
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buller Court on Palmerston
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Property: Bella Vista Motel
Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing