We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accomodation very helpful hosts”
Review of Bella Vista Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bella Vista Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here for business in early Feburary. Great immaculately clean rooms and Sky Guest Select which was a real bonus. I really want to mention Ross who was on the day I checked in, there were a group of travellers from overseas in front of me when I checked in and he was so kind,friendly and more than happy to give them heaps of advice about where to eat, go, what to do etc it was so nice to find a manager who doesn't just throw a map at people across the desk. Apparently the owners were away on holiday, you sure have chosen great people to represent your business in your absence!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your comments. We have forwarded this to Ross who was managing while we were away. We know the business is in good hands when they are here. We appreciate you staying with us.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (96)
There are newer reviews for Bella Vista Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stayed 1 night in this motel.
+
Exceptional service by Bella Vista motels.
We were able to book this motel after asking for help in Bella vista hokitika. Manager there helped us with booking and provided all directions. And manager in Westport helped us via leaving the keys in the room as we were not able to reach the westport in their working hours.
Room clean and big.
-
What I hate most about 80% of NZ hotels is shower. Which is usually fixed at height of 180cm.
C'mon! With my height of 192 washing my head becomes very funny 1st time, but very irritating when seeing this stuff in 5th hotel again...

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreyT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. Pleased we could help in your situation. Point noted about the shower height. Hope you enjoyed the remainder of your time in NZ.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed over again in the Bella Vista for a recent school reunion. Has been consistently good each time we have stayed.
Owners very friendly. Some free wifi was included which is always good.
Unit was clean and well presented.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you had a good experience with us. Maybe we will see you back sometime.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We recently stayed at the Bella Vista in the middle of some terrible weather - even with power cutting in and out of Westport was the owners were really helpful and friendly and room was really nice & clean.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Aimee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2013

We did have a rough time that night, pleased you enjoyed the experience. Hopefully if you visit again sometime the weather will be much nicer. Thanks for your kind words.
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I choose Bella Vista wherever possible because you know what you're getting. Westport's branch is well appointed, very clean and quiet. The owners are very friendly and really helpful. I enjoyed my stay very much and will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for your kind comments Nicky. We are happy your experience with us was a pleasant one and we look forward to your company in the future. Seasons greetings to you and yours.
Marilyn, Trevor and Bella Vista Westport Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

We wanted to have a look at a unit here and possibly stay the night, we went into the reception area and rang a bell, the guy who we had seen outside wandering round shutting doors finally decided to come in and attend to us, then he proceeded to try and put us off even having a look, he did tell us the price but after hearing his bad attitude we decided to say we would think about it and left, never to go back.
Went to look at the place next door but he never had anything suitable and we mentioned this guy and apparently that is quite normal, whereas the guy in the neighboring motel was great and very helpful, will stay there another day.

Room Tip: Dont bother with this place
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank turtle63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Thank you for your comments, we are sorry you had this experience at our place. We have made your comment known to all 'guys' on our staff with not knowing when this was and who it might have been. It is unfortunate this happened, but we can all have off days. If you would like to make contact with us, email or phone we would appreciate hearing from you.
Have a lovely day
Kind regards
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed for a few nights in the Bella Vista, in the main street of Westport, on a business trip.

The street itself was relatively quiet, although some of the guests in neighbouring rooms on a couple of nights on my stay weren't quite so quiet. And unfortunately the wind was blowing just so one night, causing my neighbouring guest's cigarette smoke to blow straight in my room's window. Even after closing the window (and losing the nice breeze), the smoke still found its way under the front door. I think I was just unlucky, really, and it was only a single evening's inconvenience.

The rooms are modern and well maintained, and cleaned well and regularly. They are a little smaller than some of the alternatives in the town, and there's only a limited selection of TV channels compared to some of the competitors, if you're wanting to watch TV. (I wasn't, so it didn't matter too much to me.)

Internet access is great value for a longer stay and I had no issues with it at all. International VPN access to my office over the motel's WiFi network worked without a hitch.

The toiletries are top notch -- manuka honey soap and even a small bottle of moisturiser -- and the tea and coffee selection is better than that provided by some competitors in town. You even receive a couple of daily cookies, which seems to be a bit of a rarity in motels in this part of the world.

The self-catering was relatively basic, with a microwave, mobile hotplates, kettle, toaster, etc, and a bar fridge. Not great if you want to cook in an oven or want icecream to stay frozen, but pretty standard for most self-catering motels in which I've stayed. The guest laundry only has one washer and one dryer, and is typically pricey -- no worse than others, but no better either. It all seemed to work fine, however.

I felt a little crowded in the room, which could have done with a bit more square footage. The bed was comfortable, although I had some trouble sleeping at nights due to the many lights left on outside. I've noticed that this happens in some other motels in Westport, too. I suppose there's a tradeoff to be made between giving enough light for guests to move around outside during the night, but retaining enough darkness to make it easy to sleep inside. I would suggest toning the lights down a little, or fitting larger and thicker window coverings. But again, only a minor complaint.

The owner was friendly and pleasant, and I saw her trying to help some other guests out a couple of times during my stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PacificFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BVWestport, Owner at Bella Vista Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

Thank you for your comments following your stay with us.
We do have larger units with cooking options and even some with ovens.
We too will have 50+ television channels after being rewired next month.
Regarding the lighting it is necessary to leave the lights on for guests safety also for security.
We appreciate the points you have raised - we have to hope other guests are considerate to the person in the next unit.
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you
Marilyn & Trevor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Westport hotels
0.1 mi away
ASURE Chelsea Gateway Motor Lodge
0.1 mi away
The Westport Motor Hotel
The Westport Motor Hotel
#11 of 12 in Westport
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ascot Motor Lodge
Ascot Motor Lodge
#9 of 12 in Westport
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Buller Bridge Motel
Buller Bridge Motel
#2 of 12 in Westport
348 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carters by the Sea Motel
Carters by the Sea Motel
#3 of 12 in Westport
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Westport Spa Motel
Westport Spa Motel
#5 of 12 in Westport
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: 314 Palmerston Street, Westport 7825, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Westport
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Westport
Price Range: £65 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Vista Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bella Vista Motel Westport has 18 units ranging from compact queen studios to one bedroom family units. NZ Qualmark 4**** we provide clean comfortable self contained accommodation for travellers and corporates. Some units have cooking options,there are spa bath studios, a guest laundry, airport transfers by arrangement, breakfasts available and wireless internet. Ample free off street car parking. We are situated close to the town centre, cafes, restaurants and supermarkets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bella Vista Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing